We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“More Happy Times at Chy Lowenna”
other travellers have booked this property
Chy Lowenna arrowed - just 2 minutes from the causeway to St Michael's Mount
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chy Lowenna arrowed - just 2 minutes from the causeway to St Michael's Mount
Chy Lowenna is on the high street of Marazion village Sitting room, from the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Chy Lowenna arrowed - just 2 minutes from the causeway to St Michael's Mount
Chy Lowenna is on the high street of Marazion village
Sitting room, from the kitchen
Sitting room - from the front door, has two sofas
Main bedroom, with kingsize bed, is on the second floor with sea glimpses
Main bedroom with kingsize bed
The kitchen - small but perfectly formed!
Twin bedroom
Modern bathroom
Beaches are VERY close!
Marazion is close to Penzance in West Cornwall
The small 'crows nest' patio is up some steep steps to the rear of the cottage
'Dora' lurks in the stairwell :-)
The causeway to St Michael's Mount
The Mount
Ancient causeway to St Michael's mount is just 150m from Chy Lowenna
St Ives is just 9 miles from Marazion
Dogs are welcome at Chy Lowenna - there is a £20 charge to allow for extra cleaning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Marazion, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
jim s
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More Happy Times at Chy Lowenna”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Chy Lowenna and once again it made the perfect home for a very happy holiday. Everything was fresh and clean when we arrived and we had an extra welcome of flowers, scones, jam and cream as well as a welcome note. All was where it should be and as it should be - excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house and the location.
Liked least: weather variable at times.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tjerkje S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This was our first stay in Chy Lowenna as soon as you enter this lovely house you can see and feel that the owners have taken great care to make it home from home. This includes a cream tea and flowers. It has everything you need to have a relaxing holiday, the information pack that is left for you to find places to eat or visit is excellent. It was lovely and warm, and could not fault cleanliness at all. On the saterdaymorning that we were leaving we met the lady that cleans the house for the owners and she is lovely lady and help us out so that we could enjoy our breakfast in the deli across road with familymembers who were staying in Jowders. We most definitely will be back to this Joyful house. We also enjoyed meeting the neighbours.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Susan O
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
7
people found this review helpful

Went with really high expectations of this cottage after having such good communications with the owner during the booking process and lead up to the holiday. You have to park a little further up the road on arrival to drop of luggage etc. This is no problem but on approaching the cottage on foot, I noticed the lounge window and window frame outside were absolutely filthy. Not the best first impression. I appreciate that traffic does pass the window very, very, close by, which incidentally we never found to be a problem but I'm sure some people would. I think it would only take the housekeeper five minutes to wash the window and frame down weekly and would give a much better look to the cottage.
On entering there was a very musty smell and I know it is a very old cottage but it just didn't smell clean. The pictures on the website, I think, must have been taken some time ago because the lounge is a bit shabby, not really like the pictures. Stains on the sofa and the other sofa my husband mainly sat on, he felt there was a strong smell of "dog" on it. We knew this was a dog friendly cottage and after this experience we will probably not stay in one again. I must admit I could never smell it though.
The kitchen has everything you need but cleanliness needs to be addressed. The window frame where the sink is was dirty with food splashes and tea stains on it which my husband cleaned. Not enough plug sockets either.
Stairs are quite steep although no problem to us. The carpet is quite dirty and badly stained. Decor on stairs is really quite bad. The whole cottage desperately needs re-decoration especially strairs and bathroom.
Bathroom was quite grubby. Not particularly clean round sink taps and bath taps and the shower head was absolutely disgusting. Don't think that had been cleaned for some time. Dust on shelving round sink and toilet. Another cleaning job for my husband! Quite a few long hairs around also, not ours.
Second bedroom, which we did not use only the wardrobe, had some kind of dog scratch marks on the back of the door as though a pet had been locked in there and had been trying to get out. Again desperate for decoration.
Master bedroom light and airy with a very clean bed and good wardrobe space. Only problem here was no socket for hair dryer near the mirror so had to dry my hair, with great difficulty, in my make up mirror.
Outside area not brilliant, along an alley way then up steep steps up to a small area where there is a table and chairs. Didn't use at all only to hang out a bit of washing. A bit uncared for really. The outlook from the kitchen window is on to this alley way and directly in front of the window are some scruffy storage boxes. On top of this an old paint pot with a brush in it!
To sum up this cottage could be so, so much better if a bit of TLC was spent on the cottage. As mentioned before, it desperately needs decorating throughout and a thorough clean. I appreciate the housekeeper has only a set time to get this cottage ready each swap over day but when you are paying your hard earned money I think it is only fair to expect a certain standard in return. Having said that the cottage has a lot going for it. It is in a great position for everything that Marazion has to offer which is quite a lot. Marazion is a brilliant place and we will definitely return but unfortunately not to this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I'm sorry you found the cottage to be a little tired.
It's true, at the end of the season it does need some TLC, indeed we're due to spend a week redecorating before the end of October, refurbishing the patio furniture, washing the covers and arranging to replace the stair carpet (and fridge).
We don't have the chance to check the cleanliness every week when the cleaner is done and must apologise if you found it not up to an acceptable standard. The window cleaner visits every two months and I suspect you probably visited just before he was due- perhaps this is too long between visits, particularly for the front of the cottage. We'll rectify this!
Thank you again for your feedback and I hope your stay wasn't spoiled by your disappointment with the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocoLoco2...
Cambs, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great cottage in fabulous location”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely cosy cottage. There were four of us - all adults - staying in Chy Lowenna, together with our springer spaniel, and whilst the cottage was small downstairs it was very comfortable and we never felt cramped.

The kitchen was fully equipped and everything seemed to have been thought of to make our stay comfortable. The breakfast bar seated the four of us quite comfortably for dinner on the couple of occasions we dined in and the lounge area has two 2 seater sofas.

The 1st floor bedroom has a zip and link bed which when joined doesnt leave a lot of room to spare but is adequate and the top floor bedroom is huge with a king size bed and a view of the sea.

All in all, we would definitely recommend this cosy cottage to small families or 2 couples and Marazion is delightful with a 1 minute walk to the beach from the cottage.

The new owner Peter was extremely helpful both with facilities in the cottage and information on Marazion and his recommendations of the Kings Arms and Bens Cornish Kitchen for dinner were excellent. A must visit is the deli opposite the cottage which offers wonderful food and friendly service.

As dog owners, we were very pleased that the pubs and the deli are dog fiendly.

One note of caution to tall people - beware the low ceilings in the cottage as they caught my hubby out quite a few times - ouch!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The top floor bedroom
Liked least: My hubby would say low ceilings!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing