We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best View I've Ever Seen From a Holiday Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Cockleshell
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Cockleshell
Views from the private patio overlooking the bay St. Michaels Mount
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Welcome to Cockleshell
Views from the private patio overlooking the bay
St. Michaels Mount
Spacious open-plan Kitchen / Living area
St. Michael's Mount
Even more views!
Causeway at Night
Plenty of natural light
Patio View
Spacious bedroom with 4-poster bed
Bedroom
Bedroom
En-suite bathroom
St. Michael's Mount, seen from the patio
St. Michael's Mount at sunset
The View from Cockleshell
The View from Cockleshell
The View from Cockleshell
The View from Cockleshell
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Marazion, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Mark S
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best View I've Ever Seen From a Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This is a very well equipped holiday cottage in the lovely small town of Marazion. Check the website to see the list of all the amenities available because it has a lot! You are also given a warm welcome with flowers, some groceries and a meal (that just needs to be heated up) when you arrive. These are all lovely touches on top of the real selling point... the most breathtaking view you could hope for on a UK holiday. From the large window in the upstairs living area or from the downstairs outside patio, you will be mesmerised by the totally private, unobstructed view of St Michael's Mount. Only you have this angle of this fantastic view as the cottage is effectively the last house that you can only access by walking along a cul-de-sac of 5 houses close to the sea wall. From a distance, you can watch the comings and goings of people walking along the causeway in low tide or watch the boats ferrying tourists to and from the island during high tide. We spent a week here and, even though we visited some other lovely places nearby, nothing could beat the view from Cockleshell Cottage. It might not be the cheapest rental in Marazion but it really is an amazing cottage and well worth paying that little bit extra for. You also are provided with a car parking pass for some of the car parks in Marazion. All in all, a superb cottage and we would be tempted to return in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2014
What a lovely surprise today...Thank you so much for reviewing Cockleshell so quickly, it is really appreciated, and I am sorry I didn't get to meet you this morning, before you left. Your views are very important to us, and we are pleased you had a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe F
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage & Stunning Views”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned after a week’s break at Cockleshell Cottage. Even before arriving at the cottage I received a text from Sue wishing us a safe journey and a text will be sent when the property is ready.

Upon arrival we were welcomed with a card wishing us a nice vacation and advising that a dinner had been prepared. Very nice!!!

Views from the cottage overlooking St Michaels Mount were amazing; the weather was excellent and couldn’t have wished for anything better. The cottage was equipped with all mod cons and felt like you were ‘home from home’.

The neighbours were lovely and always went out of their way to chat every day.

I would certainly recommend this cottage…………..5*

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Cottage & stunning views
Liked least: Parking but not the end of the world!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2015
Many Thanks for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your comments and are really glad you enjoyed your stay at Cockleshell.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twigs_11
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cockleshell Rocks!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We returned for our 2nd visit to this truly wonderful cottage and it was just as lovely as we had remembered it.
We were lucky with the weather and enjoyed going onto the beach the water was warm and calm and we spotted a seal in the distance. Marazion is a nice town with everything you could need for a great holiday we even jumped onto the open top bus for a trip to
St Ives which is great for gifts and browsing but very busy.
Most of the time was spent at the cottage on the patio sunbathing and enjoying the view this is the place for a relaxing break. Sue & Simon have thought of everything for your pleasure the welcoming meal with wine and the treats as well as all the facilities you could possibly need.The neighbours are all friendly especially Alan & Mair.We have enjoyed our week here and hope to return next year I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Marazion!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: nothing everything was great.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2014
Hello Ladies. Thank you for a 2nd glowing review - we really appreciate it and makes all our hard work worth while. Look forward to welcoming all 3 of you back next year for your 3rd visit :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grace_808
Weil am Rhein, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Two weeks in heaven!!! :-)”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Everybody who wrote a review here, is absoultely right!!
I can only repeat it and recommend everybody to stay there a lot of time.

At last I have to mention these plenty of "little things“ to make the stay in Cockleshell so comfortable as possible and unforgettable:

• A huge range of books for Him & Her!
• Sky TV to watch the new season of „24“!
• The wine rack!
• A good smell in every room!
• Floor heating in the bath room!
• The huge shower!
• Enough coat hangers!
• Free WLAN!
• A good spyglass to enjoy the rise of the moon!
• The delicious welcome meal with a nice note and the best cheesecake brownie
• A surprising GoodBye-Cream Tea with our fave Strawberry Marmelade!
• The VIEW!!!!!!!!
• Nice little pubs and delis around the corner!
• To watch the tourist walking down St. Michaels Mount and back!
• And at last … to be in Cornwall!!! :-)

If you like such things, you are very very home there!

Thank youuuuuu!
Ulli & Bea from Germany

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2014
Good Evening Germany...Cornwall calling :)
Thank you very much for your descriptive, informative and positive review, it is ideal for potential new guests to read factual reviews like yours. We are proud and pleased that you had a lovely memorable holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra T
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Heaven" by the sea”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a fabulous fortnight at Cockleshell.It was everything e had hoped for and more.We were in need of a complete chill and there is no better place than here to do just that.The accommodation is first class,very tasteful, catering for your every need.The owners Sue and Simon go that extra mile and supply extra treats and surprises which make you feel spoilt and very special which is what everyone wants whilst on holiday.We were blessed with amazing weather throughout our stay and spent many hours on the patio with wonderful uninterrupted views out to sea and St Michaels Mount.The views from the upstairs lounge are awesome and we enjoyed sitting at the dining table,munching fish and chips,just gazing out.We were lucky enough to see a seal in the bay one evening and dolphins leaping one morning whilst having breakfast on the patio which was fantastic.
A truly blissful place to stay,very convenient for wandering into the town and strolling on the beach.One of our favourite things was to sit on the patio in the earl evening with our feet on the wall sipping wine before strolling into town for a meal!
We also loved meeting the very friendly and welcoming neighbours who had lots of stories to share with us about life living in Marazion with those amazing views.
We were very sad to leave so I think we may just have to go back!

Sandra & Mike Turner
West Midlands

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the peace
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review for Cockleshell. We are really pleased that you managed to enjoy the relaxation and chill out that you were looking for and needed, from your holiday. We hope we can continue with this ethos and look forward to welcoming you back again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing