We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Nature at its best

We have been to Dunn’s river, YS, blue hole, and now mayfield... the water was a little low but it... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
116matthiass
,
Winnipeg, Canada
via mobile
Great experience

Excellent! Would definitely recommend and come back to this place. Everyone we met there was very... read more

Reviewed 12 November 2018
Skippy_DRB
,
Lucea, Jamaica
via mobile
Read all 31 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Savanna La Mar
from US$72.86
More Info
from US$112.49
More Info
from US$79.92
More Info
from US$140.00
More Info
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
25
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tour guide river climb beauty ride negril
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2017

I have been to Dunn's River Falls twice and was going to return with my husband and kids for a third time until someone recommended Mayfield Falls. While it isn't the same as Dunn's River Falls, if you are looking for some beauty along a mountain river, this is the ideal place. It is complete with 4 places to do some pretty fantastic cannonballs, at least 2 places to duck in under some smaller falls to hide from those around you, 2 tunnels to swim through and more! It is also the perfect place if you need a little time out of the sun with a beautiful canopy of trees above you. I would recommend going as a smaller group so that you can actually experience all there is to do. Our guide was Dave and I can't say enough good things about him! There was a large group of people behind us, maybe from a cruise ship, and they were experiencing none of the things we were doing. As a plus, there are various plants and trees around the property that your guide can point out to you. And lunch is available too. Last comment - we were joined by a photographer. My husband is the first person to complain about something like that and never buys the photos. However, this time she blended in, took amazing shots and we bought the full set on CD. So if they offer to bring along a photographer, you may want to consider it. It was a no pressure sale.

Date of experience: April 2017
2  Thank Juliana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Today we spent the day on a long drive from the Grand Palladium resort in montego bay, the bus ride was fine just long due to going through Negril. Anyway our tour at the Mayfeild falls was amazing, the water was a little cool at first because it's mineral water! Not cold though "because the only thing cold in Jamaica is the red stipes" said our tour guide! I would say if you dont like seimming and adventure this may not br for you, and the hike down to the meeting place is is very steep. Make sure you have water shoes, if you didn't pack them they have them to rent for just 6 dollars! And bug spray... Then on top of all this they feed us the best jerk chicken for lunch! They also had fish, others in our group said it was good but spicy. Our tour guide was so awesome and I can't remember his name, but he has been doing this for 16 years!!... his personality was amazing and he really connected with everyone!

Date of experience: February 2017
2  Thank Rachelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Our guest always have an awesome time at the Falls. Never any complaints and the soap bush is a remarkable surprise

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Angelo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Our family with 4 adults and children ages 6 -13 recently visited Mayfield Falls and we really enjoyed our experience here.
The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. We had 2 guides to help our group of 8 navigate our walk up the river and small cascades. The guides were great with the kids, fun and helpful and always very safety conscious and made sure we were comfortable. When my young nephew got cold, they carried him through part, so he could warm up a little.
We enjoyed jumping in the deep pools and sitting up against some of the cascades to get a little shoulder massage.
Groups were well spaced out, so we felt like we had the river to ourselves, unlike Dunn's River.
Our walk up the river took about an hour and then we had a really delicious lunch of rice, coleslaw and fried chicken or fish. The grounds were beautiful and peaceful. Washrooms were clean and there were facilities to change into dry clothes and lockers to store our belongings.
We would definitely return to do this again if we return to Jamaica and recommend it to others who want to experience something a little "off the beaten path".

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank gotta-c-sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016

This was such an amazing experience! We did not expect how beautiful it would be or fun! One thing is that I would not recommend it for young children, seniors, or people who cannot swim. The currents are pretty strong and one note of advice - do not wear a bikini - or wear one that can withstand currents. (we did also go at the beginning of the rainy season so the currents may have been a little stronger. )

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews