We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected heaven, after a nightmare start !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TUI SENSIMAR Kalamota Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kolocep Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2015

We were a party of 7 couples , arriving on 1st May 2015 , originally supposed to be going to Adriatic Beach Makarska , we were told 6 weeks before that the Hotel would not be completed and they offered to move us to Sensimar Makarska which was undergoing complete refurbishment, on arrival at Split we were informed the Hotel was having technical problems and would not be open for us , after been transported to a Hotel in Split , that was , we believe to be a stop gap until our destination was decided - But thank goodness Thomson's moved us to Kalamota Island Resort , on arrival we did have trepidation as they were not actually open for the season ( no water in the pool, last minute alterations been done etc.) But our concerns were very short lived, as we could not have been treat better, the staff were absolutely fantastic ( Young new starter Mario , bless him what a quick learner he was ! - he turned from a nervous wreck to a speedy Gonzales of a waiter in a matter of a day's, ) - Doris in Al a Carte was so attentive as we're all the staff , we would all like to congratulate the Management on the organisation of the staff , they were all so friendly and smiling constantly. The food was amazing , in the main restaurant and also both Al la Carte restaurants , cannot fault anything with the hotel . The Thomson's Rep's were amazing , after our nightmare start of a 10 hour tour around the Dalmatian coast, we actually appreciated the effort and empathy they stowed upon us - thanking you all . Fantastic place to have a chill out Holiday and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Unless you are picking a suite which looked to be excellent, the sea front rooms had fantastic views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank 260377liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMSKarisma, General Manager at TUI SENSIMAR Kalamota Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Dear 260377liz,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to write lovely review about your experiences. We are very glad that you recognized Kalamota Islad Resort as the ideal place to relax and enjoy.

I am truly very sorry that you have experienced small inconveniences when you arrived. We took actions about that because we always improve our services. We take pride in offering the highest level of service and we always want our guests to feel welcome.

Your positive impressions motivate us to become even better. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful resort.

Best regards,

Maro Kulaš
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

660 - 664 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2015

What a fantastic holiday we experienced at the Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma, courtesy of the stay part of a Thomson Cruise and Stay package. The hotel is set on the bay front at Donje Celo on the island of Kolocep with rooms set in the hillside behind in the form of Villa blocks. This obviously means that there are slopes and steps to ascend to your room and this is documented in the literature, however we found that it wasn't as daunting as had been reported in other reviews. The rooms had excellent air conditioning, a large bed, free replenished minibar and had plenty of storage and also a large shower rooms There was no evidence of any reported 'smell' from the septic tank as this has obviously now been resolved and I don't recall it's whereabouts. Views from hotel across the bay are excellent (although some rooms look out onto the back of the hotel and can be overlooked. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, Doris in the dining room is a shining example of this. The food is very good and with a range of choices to suite the pallet of most holidaymakers. There is a good selection of drinks from the bar including some familiar names e.g. Gordons Gin. The bookable 'Al Fresco' restaurant provides al-a-carte dining with some very good food and service overlooking the bay, as does the 'Resaurant on the Bay' but we weren't happy with the fact that there were several cats roaming the outside seating areas when we were there and we didn't feal that the food was as good (Italian Night). There were pleanty of sun beds, several on the sandy beach (for hotel users only), on large patio areas adjacent to the pool and around the pool itself - the pool bar did some excellent cocktails. There were some very pleasant walks around the island, some not for the faint hearted - hill climbing and cliff top walking/scrambling - but very rewarding. There is a wide variety of fauna and flora to see and some spectacular scenery. There are regular ferry crossings to neighbouring islands and to Dubrovnic. The crossing can be a little choppy so tablets are recommended, however booked excursions are cancelled if the sea is rough. Transfers are a different matter, when I asked I was told that "only a hurricane would stop transfers to and from the hotel taking place". Not sure if this was just tongue in cheek though. It all adds to the excitement. I would advise anyone with severe walking difficulties or wheelchair reliant that this is not a destination suitable for you. Would we go again - YES - it is a perfect holiday for couples (adult couples only hotel) and great if you go with friends too, as we did.

Room Tip: Request a room with sea view and if you're fealing fit ask for a Villa above 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Les L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMSKarisma, General Manager at TUI SENSIMAR Kalamota Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Dear Les L,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to write your in-depth and fantastic review and share your experience at TripAdvisor. There is no doubt that it will be very useful for our future guests.

Your positive impressions motivate us to become even better. Also, rest assured that we will try to correct all minor imperfections.

We are glad that you had a great stay with us, and we hope to get a chance to welcome you again at Kalamota Island Resort.

Best regards,

Maro Kulaš
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2015 via mobile

We had a blast of a week at Kalamota Island Resort!
It has been a lovely week at Kalamota Resort, enjoying all the pleasures that the island and the hotel have to offer!
Really good conditions and everything very well organized!
The staff is friendly, always ready to help when necessary and they go for special details!

It's my wife's birthday and we she woke up she had a birthday card in the door! Thanks Diana and Tanija!

Also special thanks to Dadoo, Edina and Anamarija (Entertainment Team) for all the lovely moments and your kindness and availability!


Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
4  Thank Hugo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMSKarisma, General Manager at TUI SENSIMAR Kalamota Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Dear Hugo S,

First of all I would like to thank you for your recent stay at Kalamota Island Resort and sharing your experiences at TripAdvisor.

Our mission is to make every stay as close to perfection as possible ensuring our guests with the most relaxing experience. We are very glad that you are satisfied with our service and that you and that your wife spent a pleasant birthday with us.

On behalf of the whole team, we wish you a lovely summer ahead and hope to get a chance to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Maro Kulaš
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2015

I would like to say that this resort is really amazing and me and my husband we are very happy to pass our honeymoon in this place. I would like to say also that the staff is really great persons always ready to help. I would like to say a word to the staff that I contact more wish were Dado, Edina and Anamarija they are very friendly, very kind, always with a smile and they are great entertainers. I would like to say thank you also to Mario from the dinning room he is also a great guy. Thank you all for everything. See you

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cidalian2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMSKarisma, General Manager at TUI SENSIMAR Kalamota Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Dear Cidalian2015,

Thank you for the fantastic comments you have written and sharing your experience with our future guests. Also, thank you for choosing Croatia and Kalamota Island Resort for your honeymoon destination. Your positive impressions motivate us to become even better.

I'm sure that we will get a chance to welcome you in the future, maybe for one of the anniversaries!

My Very Best Regards,

Maro Kulaš
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015

To get to Kalmota you have a 30 min bus journey from Dubrovnik airport then a 45 min boat journey to the island. The boat was waiting for us and this all went smoothly.

Initial impressions of the hotel were a little disappointing. There is no wow factor but you realise through time that this is intentional and the style of the hotel is to fit in with the rest of the houses on the island. The welcome was excellent with wet face towels and drinks provided prior to a quick check in. The luggage is then brought to your room, they use a ticket system but in reality just read the name from your case (on the Thomson flight label) so be careful if you leave cabin luggage which doesn't have your name on it. This can be reclaimed with the tickets but probably best to be kept with you.

The rooms were ideal. Big enough, without being overly spacious. It had air conditioning, a fridge which is restocked daily with juice, water and beer, a TV with around 20 channels, black out curtains and a free safe.

The restaurant provided a good variety of food each day. There was a large choice albeit some of the choices were not what you would maybe expect, things like shark and octopus. Being an all inclusive you can sample these things. There is also two a la carte restaurants which can be booked as often as you like. One is an Italian, the other international. Both were exceptional and can be booked at reception from 8am (there is usually a queue).

The pool is basic but very clean and adequate. There is a small jacuzzi but it never seemed to operate.

The entertainment varied in quality. Always live music and generally stuff from the 60s/70s. There are two free pool tables, electronic darts, cards tables, table tennis and tennis courts.

There is a public ferry which runs to Dubrovnik 4 times a day. Tickets are around £2 one way and £4 return. The hotel offers a boat for £5 per person each way (capacity of 12). It is a more powerful boat and is not the one you originally arrive on.

There are plenty of excursions, we did the Konalve Wine Tour, Montenegro and Mostar. All three were enjoyable although its quite a long day when you need to get the boat at 6.45 or 7am. It is also worth taking a walk round the island, this can take anything up to 3 or 4 hours and is well worth it.

Finally a word for the staff who were exceptional. I don't think i've ever stayed somewhere where the staff were so engaged and willing to help. They are a massive plus.

Room Tip: It can be reasonably hilly so if you have walking difficulties ask for villa 1 ground floor.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
11  Thank tommy7uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMSKarisma, General Manager at TUI SENSIMAR Kalamota Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Dear Tommy7uk,

Thank you for the fantastic comments you have written and sharing your experience with our future guests. Also, thank you for choosing Croatia and Kalamota Island Resort for your holiday destination. Your positive impressions motivate us to become even better!

We are very glad that you are satisfied with our costumer service, facilities and that you like this magical place and this beautiful country. Our staff will be glad to know that they did the difference and make your stay enjoyable.

I'm sure that we will get a chance to welcome you in the future!

My Very Best Regards,

Maro Kulaš
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolocep Island
5.4 km away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,118 reviews
5.7 km away
Lafodia Hotel & Resort
5.5 km away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 km away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,852 reviews
4.8 km away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
5.9 km away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Kalamota Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Kalamota Island Resort

Address: Donje Chelo 45, Kolocep Island 20221, Croatia (Formerly Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma)
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Kolocep Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kolocep Island
Price Range: RM647 - RM847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI SENSIMAR Kalamota Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TUI SENSIMAR Kalamota Island had an overall and complete renovation in 2013/2014 into an all-inclusive couples and adults (over 18) only resort, and further renovations for season 2015. TUI SENSIMAR Kalamota Island is the only hotel on the island with a dense countryside of palms, orange and olive trees. Kolocep is a traffic-free island across the amazing city of Dubrovnik. The island has only 160 friendly inhabitants and 250 sunny days a year that give you a sensation of living on your own private island, only 30 minutes by boat from Dubrovnik. At TUI SENSIMAR Kalamota Island guests are courted with nature, assisted by surroundings that provide a full experience of a well-deserved holiday. The property and staff are intertwined to stimulate all senses, pastimes and leisure pursuits. The resort is located on a beach that extends to the little village and port, offering seclusion and ample space to the guests that wish to retain their peace. TUI SENSIMAR Kalamota Island is perfect for adults who choose to be pampered in nature. Active relaxation in intimate surroundings is what awaits the guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kolocep Hotel Dubrovnik
Villas Kolocep

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing