We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven in the Northland”
Review of McKenzies

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Omapere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
McKenzies
Ranked #2 of 2 Omapere B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We stayed here on our third night in NZ, as part of our 37 day 4WD tour. I had been very ill the day before, with a bug caught from a Virgin Australia in flight curry. The night we stayed here I was feeling somewhat delicate, and tired after the full day drive up from Auckland, in a strange car. Our hosts, Mr & Mrs McKenzie were delightful and very helpful. They took one look at us both and could see how worn out we were, what with the Australian cough caught in Sydney and my digestive upset. We were given a lovely room with a side view over the water and an adjacent bathroom. With car parked we set off for a light supper, at an hotel recommended by the McKenzie’s within walking distance from their B&B. We slept like troopers in a well-appointed room and was greeted next day with a wonderful and varied breakfast. It was certainly a stopover we’ll remember well and would firmly recommend it to other touring travellers like us.

Room Tip: Ask Douglas McKenzie about the accomodation he offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BerkshireTravelHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2016

I had a room inside the house which was in fact a part of the house. There was a seperate toilet and bathroom. The host and hostess are very friendly and gave me all the touristic info I needed. The parking is large. It's a pity they are intended to stop the B&B and just to continue with the 2 independant cottages.
Very good breakfast as well.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank patricktkindt2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016

Small B&B set on the shore with a great view, the accommodation was in a self contained part of the main property. Very clean and comfortable room. Excellent breakfast. Hosts were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016

As others have said, Omapere is a very small place. This lovely B&B is quite a find with such limited choice. It's right on the beautiful beach and you have a verandah to sit on and enjoy the view.
We stayed in the guest room which has its own entrance and is separated from the rest of the house. The bedroom is a good size with 2 beds (1 double, 1 single) and separate bathroom and toilet across the hallway. Tea, coffee and chocolate biscuits are provided in the room with breakfast in the main kitchen. The latter was plentiful and tasty, our hostess sitting with us for conversation and offering advice about our journey.The room does have a tv (limited channel choice), hairdryer, etc. Parking is good.
There is limited choice regarding meals in the area, our hosts recommending the chain hotel a 5 minute walk away. We walked along the beach and had a very enjoyable dinner in the hotel restaurant (good staff, food and wine).

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillarAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Omapere is a very small place. This is a good option to stay. Well priced, simple but comfortable. Pretty much right on the beach - about 15 metres away. You can walk along the beach to the swish resort for dinner. Hosts very pleasant and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndriusNav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to McKenzies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKenzies

Address: 4 Pioneers Walk, Omapere, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Omapere
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Omapere
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront section on Hokianga Harbour, great views, peaceful location. Two bedroom self contained cottage or large B&B room with private bathroom. Friendly hosts can provide local information. Close to restaurant. 20 minutes drive to Waipoua Kauri Forest. Free Wi-fi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing