We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Happy Apple Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
Nautilus Lodge Motel(Motueka)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hat Trick Lodge(Motueka)(Great Value!)
US$42
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Equestrian Lodge Motel(Motueka)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$80
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laughing Kiwi Backpackers(Motueka)(Great Value!)
US$41
US$33
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motueka Garden Motel(Motueka)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park(Motueka)(Great Value!)
US$47
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avalon Manor Motel(Motueka)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Eden's Edge Lodge(Motueka)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$61
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Elephant Backpacker(Motueka)(Great Value!)
US$42
US$41
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waters(Motueka)
US$177
US$172
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
24
23
14
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
23
14
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool tablecommon areastwin roomminute showerfree bikesvolleyball courtlarge kitchennational parkvideo gamesnew zealandbig gardenhot tubnice place to stayfriendly atmospheregreat facilitiesthank you so muchcomfortable beds
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2017

We stayed in the double room. The facilities were nice, my husband only did not feel comfortable that the showers were in the same room as the toilets, and that they were unisex. The kitchen was well-supplied, and common areas were very cozy. My only complaint was that there wasn't a screen on the window to keep the bugs out of our room after we had already been eaten alive by sand flies and were looking for a little reprieve.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Justine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We had a nice stay while exploring Abel Tasman National Park. But it's a bit far away from the town centre if you don't have a car. The room (twin) was spacious and close to many showers and toilets but not noisy at all. The kitchen was large, but would need some more sharp knives. The big garden was nice to sit around or playing any ball games. We also liked to use the free hot tubes.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Catalina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Glad you enjoyed your stay, Catalina and thank you for your comments. Re sharp knives: Bill is a butcher, in the 40+ years we have been married I have never had the luxury of a sharp knife and its always been a mystery to me why the "professional" is unable to transfer his skills from work to home. Your comments just may strengthen the case after all these years. Thank you :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Might be being a little harsh, but not a whole lot special about this place. Manager has a short temper and doesn't know much about hospitality - makes strangest remarks. Wifi is turned off from 930am - 11am for whatever reason. Kitchen is closed at 10pm. Big grass yard in the back. Volleyball court. Pool table. Spa. Tv. Bathrooms a little far away depending on where you stay. Decent wifi signal. Basic kitchen not the cleanest. Overall average compared to the last 7 or 8 places I've stayed. Has potential.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Skcivkwkacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Yes we are lucky to have a very good wifi provider, its free and unlimited throughout the building, and garden with the exception of the two cheapest dorm rooms at the very edge of the signal, its a good strong signal 23 hours a day, 7 days a week.
WIFI goes off at 9:30am each morning for an hour, there is a clear message at reception warning guests that it is not available during this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

The best thing about this hostel are the few rooms at the front of the building, other than that, nothing to really say. Oh and they let you make local calls for free which is a great thing :) however.... The staff member on duty (manager?) had a serious attitude problem and was always rude and or shouting at us and other guests during our stay. A very intimidating character. Not great customer service and made for an extremely uncomfortable stay. God forbid you dare to use the bathroom opposite reception.. the guy barged in almost immediately and laughed at me before I was told 'this is very much a private bathroom which you are not allowed to use, your bathrooms are way back there' ushering me to the back of the building. It has a large communal space at the back and an average kitchen. Would try to avoid if you can.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

This is not a forum in which to punish someone for telling you something you didn't want to hear.
I think our Manager handled a vexing situation with a huge heart.
No sooner had he completed cleaning the private bathroom ready for the next guests, there you were, in there like a robbers dog shaving your legs!!
Its normal for people to check-in before using the bathrooms.
You did a foolish thing and people will always laugh at fools.
Once he had ushered you politely to the guests public bathrooms (BEFORE you checked-in) our manager returned and cleaned up after you. I think he handled the situation well.
I would not have laughed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, because of proximity to Abel Tasman. There's very little positive to say about this place; the kitchen & bathrooms were all filthy, the beds were incredibly uncomfortable & the rooms poorly ventilated. We hardly slept the whole time we were there. The staff were incredibly rude; we were scolded for cooking breakfast at 10am. Apparently there were signs up saying this but we didn't see them & in any case it's a ridiculous request. It felt like a prison & apparently was so in a previous life. We could not wait to get out of this place.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

There is a poorly concealed hidden agenda here.
Bathrooms are not filthy, neither is the kitchen. Sometimes, at peak times they do get messy, but we keep everything clean, have good systems in place and we receive many verbal affirmations from guests who appreciate the care we take.
All windows open in all bedrooms, there are no ventilation issues,.... just a personal issue.
Reviewers should behave with integrity, reviews should be factual. You doTrip Advisor a disservice by mis-representing the facts.
Our policy is for peaceful enjoyment of the premises for all guests, because you are a paying guest it does not give you the mandate to upset other guests. Big people are able to accept their mistakes and apologise, not seek to denigrate the very people who work hard to provide you with pleasant, safe and affordable accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews