We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Happy Apple Backpackers
Reviewed 19 March 2017

The happy apple was recommended to us by the Sea Kayak Company as we were going on an expedition with them. My son and I stayed in a twin room and it was a great place to stay and we were glad of the recommendation. The room was clean, tidy and comfortable, shared bathroom facilities were good. I have seen complaints from people about the 5 minute shower limit (with a 2 minute reset time) but to be honest The Happy Apple make this clear in their write up and as an ex submariner friend of mine would say "if you want a Hollywood shower, stay in a 5 star hotel". Backpacker hostels are a way of life in New Zealand and I think this is one of the best examples.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huw P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2017

We stayed in the double room. The facilities were nice, my husband only did not feel comfortable that the showers were in the same room as the toilets, and that they were unisex. The kitchen was well-supplied, and common areas were very cozy. My only complaint was that there wasn't a screen on the window to keep the bugs out of our room after we had already been eaten alive by sand flies and were looking for a little reprieve.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Justine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We had a nice stay while exploring Abel Tasman National Park. But it's a bit far away from the town centre if you don't have a car. The room (twin) was spacious and close to many showers and toilets but not noisy at all. The kitchen was large, but would need some more sharp knives. The big garden was nice to sit around or playing any ball games. We also liked to use the free hot tubes.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Catalina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Glad you enjoyed your stay, Catalina and thank you for your comments. Re sharp knives: Bill is a butcher, in the 40+ years we have been married I have never had the luxury of a sharp knife and its always been a mystery to me why the "professional" is unable to transfer his skills from work to home. Your comments just may strengthen the case after all these years. Thank you :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Might be being a little harsh, but not a whole lot special about this place. Manager has a short temper and doesn't know much about hospitality - makes strangest remarks. Wifi is turned off from 930am - 11am for whatever reason. Kitchen is closed at 10pm. Big grass yard in the back. Volleyball court. Pool table. Spa. Tv. Bathrooms a little far away depending on where you stay. Decent wifi signal. Basic kitchen not the cleanest. Overall average compared to the last 7 or 8 places I've stayed. Has potential.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Skcivkwkacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Yes we are lucky to have a very good wifi provider, its free and unlimited throughout the building, and garden with the exception of the two cheapest dorm rooms at the very edge of the signal, its a good strong signal 23 hours a day, 7 days a week.
WIFI goes off at 9:30am each morning for an hour, there is a clear message at reception warning guests that it is not available during this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

The best thing about this hostel are the few rooms at the front of the building, other than that, nothing to really say. Oh and they let you make local calls for free which is a great thing :) however.... The staff member on duty (manager?) had a serious attitude problem and was always rude and or shouting at us and other guests during our stay. A very intimidating character. Not great customer service and made for an extremely uncomfortable stay. God forbid you dare to use the bathroom opposite reception.. the guy barged in almost immediately and laughed at me before I was told 'this is very much a private bathroom which you are not allowed to use, your bathrooms are way back there' ushering me to the back of the building. It has a large communal space at the back and an average kitchen. Would try to avoid if you can.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

This is not a forum in which to punish someone for telling you something you didn't want to hear.
I think our Manager handled a vexing situation with a huge heart.
No sooner had he completed cleaning the private bathroom ready for the next guests, there you were, in there like a robbers dog shaving your legs!!
Its normal for people to check-in before using the bathrooms.
You did a foolish thing and people will always laugh at fools.
Once he had ushered you politely to the guests public bathrooms (BEFORE you checked-in) our manager returned and cleaned up after you. I think he handled the situation well.
I would not have laughed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
3.2 km away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
2.0 km away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
512 reviews
1.9 km away
White Elephant Backpacker
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
176 reviews
1.7 km away
Laughing Kiwi Backpackers
5.6 km away
Windhover Suites
Windhover Suites
#2 of 7 in Tasman
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Apple Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Apple Backpackers

Address: 500 High Street, Motueka 7120, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Motueka
Price Range: RM76 - RM224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy Apple Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Happy Apple Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Apple Backpackers Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing