We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sol Cayo Largo(Cayo Largo)
US$227
US$166
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Pelicano(Cayo Largo)(Great Value!)
US$197
US$98
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gran Caribe Club Coral(Cayo Largo)(Great Value!)
US$84
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Iguana(Cayo Largo)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Guanaba's nest(Playa Giron)
Book now, pay at stay
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Book now, pay at stay
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,087)
Filter reviews
2,087 results
Traveller rating
425
816
468
234
144
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
425
816
468
234
144
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaya blancadaiquiri barchickenfishmain buildingpizzabungalow roombeach bara la carterepeat guestsocean viewhot dogssandwichesking size bedtowel arthotel beachhouse band
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 2,087 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

My boyfriend and i chose this resort to relax and spend time together, and thats what we got. This resort is on a very small island with town consisting of aprox 5 things i.e.:medicentre, store, bank, turtle hatchery, town hall with 3 souvenir stands. There was no beach while we were there, you have to be transported by a neat train to town and then a boat brings you to a beautiful beach that you rent chairs/umbrella 2cuc/person, the transportation leaves 3x/day and returns 3x/day.Our room was simple but very clean, although our fridge, air conditioner and tv didn't work-we asked 5x for the Tv to be fixed as a soccer game was on during the week-but, never got someone to fix tv. The pool is clean and chairs/umbrellas are ample.I have to talk about the food...Cuba is known for bland food, so bring hot sauce, or a sauce of your choice!!! The food was bad, overcooked, bland chicken and rice got tired fast and deserts are from the night before(i understand not wasting but dry at dinner and the next day)Omelettes are the best choice. There is 2 ala carts/week and the snack bar was a good dinner, but Rancheros was a poor experience-We came on time and waited for a while to get seated, then 10mins for water and the menu choices, the food was bad(Cheese cake is not cheesecake, no recognizable cheese is used to make it)The restaurant had 8tables being used but staff spent 45mins setting up a table for 20 so the guests during that time slot were not served. There is huge lobsters for 25cuc at Serenis beach-amazing!!! Entertainment is really wonderful and enjoyed it each night, the dancers have skills. The bartenders were also great, i liked the bar beside the stage cause they put chocolate on the bottom of the glasses and the server Orismel was such a great guy, polite and friendly (we had him at the snack bar for dinner and each night for entertainment)

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa1980_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada B, Director General at IBEROSTAR Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

On behalf of all the staff of Iberostar Playa Blanca, we want you to know that we are grateful for your comments, especially those that contribute to improving our services. Once again, we want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

This resort showed definite damage from a storm, as close to half of the resort still was boarded or windows taped up when we visited this resort in January 2018. BIGGEST complaint is there was a fresh water and toilet flushing problem the entire week we were there. They had a serious water issue getting to the resort 10 days before we arrived, and because I booked our trip 2 days before arriving there, they should not have accepted our reservation. The trip was not enjoyable, as public toilets were overflowing, and not in working order. My thought goes to the kitchen staff...going to the bathroom at lunch time, not being able to flush toilet OR wash hands before coming back to continue preparing lunch or dinner. Our trip was through Air Transat and between Air Transat and Iberostar Head office, no one wants to take responsibility for this poor trip my husband and I went on. I was looking for a refund as it took us three years to save up for this trip, only to have a terrible time at a hotel that should not have been open for business! I did get a voucher from Air Transat in the amount of $150.00 X 2 (for each passenger) but really, I pay 2,000 to go and I get 300.00 back! And it's not even cash, I have to use Air Transat again! which not sure I trust them any longer.... It's very disheartening as I loved the Iberostar resorts in the past, but they have caused me to look at the company differently when you cannot deal with something you clearly should have been aware of (water issues and units needing much repair from the damage of the storm) If I knew that this vacation was going to turn out so badly I would have taken photos of the resort to prove, be aware of this resort, it needs to be fixed up and in working order before it can be full again. #Iberostarfails #airtransatnothelpful #nowaterIberostar

Room Tip: it's on a gorgeous area, total island, not much of a beach but you can get to a beautiful beach near by for free
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank TravelSunshine09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityMCuba, Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for sending us your feedback and for making our hotel Iberostar Playa Blanca the hotel of your choice for your recent holiday.

We truly regret to read that we have not been able to meet your expectations regarding cleanliness due to the water problem we had in the area, which has affected the entire island, and it surprises us, as we follow a strict cleaning protocol and we are characterized for our immaculate and pristine hotels, we totally agree that correct hygiene is essential to offer a comfortable stay for our guests, and we assure you that this is our goal. We have passed on your comments to the correct department and we are sorry that this made your holiday seem less than perfect.
We apologize for haven't made the stay as pleasant as you expected. We have strict sanitary procedures supervised for an external corporation that certifies the quality in services, especially the food. We are very meticulous in the way we handle the food and how we prepare them.
Regarding the situation mentioned about your tour, we regret the inconveniences caused. It is as an external company and independent of Iberostar and therefore they have their own policies, however it is our concern to ensure that quality services are delivered to our mutual customers, to achieve their complete satisfaction. We will look into it.

Anyway, the hotel management team had read your review and will work hard to avoid fail again on meeting the expectations of other guests.

Our door is wide open in case you want to give us the chance to host you under better circumstances.

Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We went for our second time to this resort march 19th 2018 till march 26th and as always great staff and great entertainment always something to eat.Rooms were always clean and great beach and bar staff in lobby was great and will definetly will be back next year this place is paradise pools were great jacuzzi always clean jeff dejong lori baxter

Room Tip: Had a room in the main building and one by the ocean both great
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wild0ne1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada B, Director General at IBEROSTAR Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Lori and Jeff,
On behalf of all the staff of your Iberostar Playa Blanca, we thank you infinitely your comments and loyalty for this your home away from home. We all await for you with open arms for the enjoyment of your well-deserved vacation.

Saludos,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

My family and I were there week of March 3 to 11th.
We had a great time and staff was friendly and went out of there way to please you.
We stayed in the Bungalows and had a great room. Was big and spacious. The bathroom was a typical Cuban hotel bathroom with fixtures that had a little rust.( who cares) we had hot water every day.
To the Managers of playa Blanca
You tell people the get a fridge restocked everyday but that is not the case.Had to ask on more than one occasion for water.also no beer in fridge all week.
No bedbugs or people complaining about bedbugs or any marks on anyone that I spoke to.
The food was ok with a good variety.
We are at buffet and a la carte. No complaints as I have no expectations when I go to Cuba.
There was always room at snack-bar at lunch.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityMCuba, Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Mike,

First and foremost we want you to know that the way you have described your stay with us at Iberostar Playa Blanca is really helpful and we thank you for providing your opinion.
Despite the majority of your comments showing that in most areas we are performing well with our daily efforts and attention to detail, we have taken your feedback regarding the areas you raise on board as we know that we can only improve by working together with our guests.
Once more we want to thank you for sharing this review of our hotel and will be happy to welcome you back to one of our hotels in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

An a amazing trip in cuba at the playa Blanca hotel in Cayo largo...our bungalow room was comfortable ,clean,with a first class king size bed..our chambermaid Luismida kept the place tidy and clean..thx luismida!The staff at PB are fantastic and welcoming...a special thank to Danielys in public relations who got out of her way in satisfying our demands and needs ..you are a jewel of a person..as for Millie..Juan...Daima..the young man (with a smile)doing the omelettes..and those whose names I can’t remember...a heartfelt thx..Rudolpho the beach caretaker you’re the best!I feel that the hotel has gone far and beyond treating us like family!Yes there are issues that happen on a vacation like everywhere else..a rusty spot in the bathroom tub,a geico in the room..food that’s cold or not to your liking..we are simple people that appreciate what life has to on the moment..take it in ,and take out the positive that’s there staring at us..meeting beautiful people in an amazing setting...all you négative critics ?!we don’t live in perfect world ..but that being said..there is always something nice around the corner!Playa Blanca hotel and staff,we send you all our gratitude...Our home ...away from home!Said &Michael

Stayed: March 2018
4  Thank Michel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada B, Director General at IBEROSTAR Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Said & Michael, on behalf of all the staff of your Iberostar Playa Blanca, the greatest ¨THANKS¨ , every day we strive to give the best of our service and to reach the full satisfaction of our customers is our most important goal. You can assure that Luismida, Millie, Juan, Daima and all those who in one way or another put all their effort to receive these excellent comments, really appreciate it. Hope to see you soon in your HOME AWAY FROM HOME....Best Regards....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews