We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage, perfect location, nothing too...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Beech Cottage

Beech Cottage and Birch Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beech Cottage and Birch Cottage
Beech Cottage and Birch Cottage Beech Cottage kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Beech Cottage and Birch Cottage
Beech Cottage and Birch Cottage
Beech Cottage kitchen
Beech Cottage kitchen
Beech Cottage kitchen
Beech Cottage lounge
Beech Cottage lounge
Beech Cottage lounge
Beech Cottage lounge
Beech Cottage open fire in lounge
Beech Cottage bathroom
Beech Cottage king size bedroom
Beech Cottage king size bedroom
Beech Cottage single bedroom
Beech Cottage family bedroom
Beech Cottage family bedroom
Beech Cottage outside
Beech Cottage outside
Beech Cottage garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SiNatsH
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage, perfect location, nothing too much trouble......”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and 6 close family recently stayed at Beech Cottage and without exception we thought it was wonderful.

The owners, Lesley & David, were extremely welcoming, friendly and have literally thought of everything when it comes to kitting out the property.

Hartington itself is a delightfully picturesque, quite village which you can use as a base for walking or venturing to nearby towns. We particularly enjoyed Bakewell.

As for local eateries, we tried The Devonshire Arms and the Manifold Inn and would recommend both. If you wish to have a Sunday Roast at the Devonshire Arms however be sure to get there early as they had sold out long before we arrived for our pre-booked table at 6pm - would have been nice to have known this would be likely at the time we made the booking.

A definite recommendation for Beech or Birch Cottage though, we certainly intend to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
Simon, thank you for your kind review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Hartington and that you found our cottage to be comfortable and well equipped, and ideal for your family.
We hope to see you again sometime in the future.
Fred and Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin M
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage, well kitted out and a beautiful village”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Good communication with the owners via email before arrival, all details were accurate, cottage was lovely and beds comfy, kitchen well stocked with all the things you would find at home, open fire was excellent. The village is great but briung cash as there is no cash machine. Bathroom was nice and the shower was up to the job.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the cottage comfortable and well equipped. Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful welcome and scenery”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Place was amazing, we relaxed and enjoyed traveling out. Th e Cotton Hotel food was to die for. The proprieters of the cottage were really welcoming.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and visiting the area. Best wishes, Lesley & Fred
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill H
Colchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy Cottage in the Beautiful Peak District Village of Hartington”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in Beech Cottage for a week from 16 March, 2014 with my Husband and two grown up Sons. The cottage had a lovely warmth about it as soon as we walked in and was absolutely immaculate and very well equipped. Lesley had even laid out a welcome tray for us when we arrived and put some milk in the fridge which was a nice surprise and very much appreciated. The rooms were all a good size and the beds very comfortable. It was cosy in the evenings as were able to light the log fire in the lounge and all the coal/tinder was all provided and stored next door. We all had a very relaxing week, it is a lovely cottage to chill out in. The village is very attractive and there are a couple of good, local shops and a wonderful cheese shop just a few minutes walk away. The local pub, The Devonshire Arms was excellent - very friendly staff and really good food. Hartington is a great location for exploring the Peak District with some beautiful walks from the village. We enjoyed our walk in Dovedale and another one up to Thor's Cave which isn't far away. We also visited Chatsworth, Bakewell, Matlock Bath, Ashbourne, Buxton and Castleton which was very pretty (we can recommend The Bull for a lovely meal!). It was our first visit to the Peak District and it is a beautiful part of England and we hope to go back again as there are so many more places we would like to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was comfy, clean and well equipped.
Liked least: Parking was OK for us but if you had a large vehicle it could be a bit tricky.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the warm log fire. Best wishes Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Feb 2014
Thank you for your review, so pleased you enjoyed the cottage and the surrounding area. Lesley & Fred
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing