We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, helpful owners.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Meysydd derw

cover (enjoy the sunset on the decking)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
cover (enjoy the sunset on the decking)
The cabin The cabin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
cover (enjoy the sunset on the decking)
The cabin
The cabin
Night time at the cabin
A winter view towards snowdonia
beautiful landscaped garden
Walk in shower
Walk in shower
Bedroom 1
The island looking across the land
The island looking south
The cabin from the mowed lawn
the nearby Gwyrch castle
The flower bed island
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Abergele, Conwy County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
scophill
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Has potential to be amazing but at present falls short...”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Let's start with the positives.
The location is fantastic - excellent for exploring the beautiful north of Wales.
The grounds are fantastic - huge and landscaped in a lovely countryside fitting style! I can imagine in the summer it's even more glorious.
Everything in the cabin does indeed work - the Wifi and Roku TV is excellent although you do pay a small additional fee for this. We paid £5 for the 2 days...
The cabin itself looks great and the idea of it is great, however.....
The negatives;
The floors do squeak extremely loudly and actually move, in some rooms, when you walk on them. I know it's a country cabin but come on!!!
The furniture and fixtures and fittings are lovely and obviously of a high standard but the the whole cabin is massively let down by the extremely poorly fitted and finished wall tiles, kitchen cupboard doors and actual doors - the door to the double bedroom has a 1 inch gap when it's actually closed.
The main parts of the cabin were clean when we arrived but the insides of the cupboards and some of the cups and plates were actually dirty.
My message to the owners is basically speculate to accumulate. Spend some money having the cabin finished to a higher standard. I would gladly pay more to stay here if it was given that T.L.C. it needs.
PS. We heard a bird (or birds) within the roof above the double bedroom - probably best to check the eaves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: See above
Liked least: See above
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2015
Many thanks for your review and highlighting the "fantastic" location and grounds, indeed we do believe Meysydd Derw is a unique place in that having 1.2 acres of land with your own pond island to dine on is something that probably cant be found anywhere else, the 4/5 rating we currently hold is testament to that.

However your points about the floors, kitchen and doors do need answering, the cabin is timber based with 300 mm thick walls with the highest grade insulation available so a cosy feel is created. However timber is a natural product and some noise from walking on the floors does occur in the kitchen / living area, we have considered carpeting the area and that may need some more thought. The doorways to the bedroom and bathroom have experienced some slight movement and shrinkage, again due to the timber nature of the building. We have ordered new doors which will be fitted in two weeks time.

Overall however we believe Meysydd Derw offers a wonderful, private escape to the country and the perfect location for all types of tourist from families to singles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheeseSli...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful owners.”
Reviewed 28 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This property is a little cabin, akin to a large static caravan but more substantial. Don't expect a house. It comes with a really great amount of land to enjoy, as well as a quite large trampoline that our kids absolutely loved. The decking and seating in the middle of the pond is rather charming and being just south of Abergele (as opposed to in it) you get some great dark skies at night. Bring your binoculars and enjoy the stars and wildlife.

Our first night at the property was not good on account of the double mattress was dreadfully uncomfortable and too small for the bed. Also the doors (and pretty much all the joinery in the cabin) didn't close properly. However the owners were wonderful and brought a new and better mattress the very same day I reported it which was amazing service. The new mattress meant restful sleep for the remainder of our stay. Also we were glad the owners allowed us to bring our very well behaved house cat too after we gave appropriate reassurances.

The cabin has gas central heating and a wood burner which kept us toasty on a chilly February long weekend. The TV and internet worked well and I recommend paying the extra bit of money for the WiFi. The kitchen was fine but could do with some better utensils and pots, as well as being rather wonky. Towels are not supplied but bed linen is. Be sure to bring your slippers too unless you don't mind wooden floor boards underfoot.

It's worth noting that the cabin is very nicely decorated and has a welcoming feel, it's good value for money, has great outdoor space and genuinely helpful and friendly owners. Recommended for weekends and short breaks, a week would be too long for us though unless the weather was good to enjoy more of the outdoor space.

Final tip is avoid the George and Dragon pub in Abergele, friendly staff but rubbish food. Don't be taken in by the reviews, they've done well in getting locals to give undeserved good reviews.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great service from owners that care that you have an enjoyable stay.
Liked least: Internal doors that won't close properly.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to escape to!”
Reviewed 28 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it! When we arrived the house was clean and tidy, and looks homely inside. The bed was really comfy and all of the amenities worked perfectly, it didn't take long for the house to warm up and the Wi Fi works really well despite the house's location. The garden is big and has a trampoline if you are taking your kids and the decking around the house is nice and the perfect place to relax. Abergele is a couple of minutes away so everything you need is not far making this the perfect place to retreat to if you want somewhere peaceful without being too remote. Also attractions like Welsh Mountain Zoo etc are literally minutes away and there is plenty of things to do in the surrounding area.

Overall I would highly recommend this to couples or families and we are definitely thinking of coming back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it. The cabin is cozy and warm and nicely decorated, although there are quite a few places where the fit could be improved (one example: none of the interior or wardrobe doors hang or close properly). The outside space is fabulous and the property itself was clean when we arrived. The owner was easy to contact, provided excellent directions and we had no problems accessing the property.
One point, which I don't any other reviewers have mentioned, is that the gate seems to be somewhat broken and difficult to handle. It gave me a nasty injury on my finger.

Overall though, an excellent little place to stay, thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodavebak...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peace and Tranquilaty.”
Reviewed 14 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Me and My Partner found it to be a really peaceful and calming place to stay, lots of private space outside and cosy inside perfect size for just the two of us, would highly recommened this holiday home especially for couples and small familys.
There is some minor isues with the overall finish of the cabin such as wobbly floor etc but in our view gave it charecter would definitly return, also its location is perfect close to town , beach and castle great for family days out.We found it to be hassle free and feel we made a gd choice in choosing this place for our getaway would highly recommened.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$140
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing