We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the last word”
Review of Ballyfin Demesne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballyfin Demesne
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyfin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2017

If you want to tune out of the world, to get to a peaceful place where there is unobtrusive excellence in service and dining refinement: book a few nights' stay here. The price is at the higher level - the all-inclusive package covers all but alcoholic beverages. Ballyfin is a wonderful 600 acre escape where the staff are informal and extremely well-qualified for the work and welcome.
From arrival to departure, my partner and I felt we were the only people at the hotel - a warm welcome, superb surroundings, every detail attended to. We loved this place - it leaves other 5* establishments (that I have been to in Ireland or US) in the shade.
There are ample spaces for a quiet read by the fire, a quiet pint or take a bike and blow the cobwebs with a cycle around the lake. Then a delicious meal and lovely glass of wine at dinner.
This is not a child-friendly place (I think they welcome >12 years?), but there are places which are more suited to younger visitors elsewhere in the market. Ballyfin is perfectly pitched to the person/couple who want to escape the cares of the world and be pampered for a few days. The shout-out goes to the entire team and their manager - a pleasant and informal presence on the premises . We'll be back.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank ernestBT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

We have now visited Ballyfin twice and I would rate this as one of the best, if not the best, hotels we have stayed in. The house itself is beautiful and staying here feels like stepping back in time. This experience is made better due to the relatively small number of rooms; at times it feels like you have the place to yourself! On top of this the service is impeccable, the staff couldn’t have done more for us. The grounds are also lovey to spend some time exploring. I would highly recommend the massages and clay shooting. We will definitely return!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank bfhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

we stayed here as a gift from our children for our 50th anniversary it was stunning, every room was more beautifull then the last, they would take your breath away, the food was something very special it was like art on a plate at every meal ,the staff could not do enough for you they just wanted every thing to be special for you and they certainly created that, i was stunned with the art on the walls i could have stayed there forever just viewing the art, as for the pool and the sauna and the fires burning on a winters night what more can i say but thank you for making our 50th everything it should be.

Room Tip: all the room have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. It is the best hotel we have ever visited and we feel very lucky to have had the experience. The things that made Ballyfin Demesne so memorable were the friendly and generous staff who went out of their way to give us a beautiful honeymoon experience, the food (which was abundant and so delicious) and the vast, stunning grounds of the hotel, with lots of little surprises everywhere (the walled gardens were our favourite for a bicycle ride). Once you are here, there is no need to leave, with so many little nooks to explore, books to read and beautiful things to admire.

We stayed mid week in November and were blessed with beautiful weather. It is a slightly quieter time of the year which some may prefer.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jules T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

Anyone would rave about Ballyfin no matter where it was. It just happens to be in the center of the island. The amazing manor house has been totally renovated, but kept the original beauty from its early 1800's reconstruction. There are many areas to sit and relax in comfort that would be expected for a prince, king, or president! The amazing thing is that there are only 20 rooms here, so it will not be busy. Also, the atmosphere is very professional, but laid back. No pretension here, or anywhere in Ireland for that matter. The high ceilings in the public rooms will awe you with the complexity of their patterns. It feels a bit like a lovely museum, but once you sit down you understand that you are living as a close friend or family member would have if they visited a hundred years ago. The rooms, the grounds, the quietness, and the high quality of everything you see is a delight. Order a whiskey tasting, clay pigeon shooting, a carriage ride, a hawk walk, or just relax at the spa or pool. I don't think there could possibly be a more relaxing weekend. I would also recommend a few days on a honeymoon, or an anniversary. The only places for me that come up in the same breath are Ebony Lodge in SA, Burg al Arab, Ashford Castle, A "Wow" place.

Room Tip: The "Little Library room" if you are a book lover. You might never leave!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike741776 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyfin
7.1 km away
Roundwood House
Roundwood House
#1 of 1 in Mountrath
234 reviews
20.6 km away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,942 reviews
9 km away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 km away
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinnitty
820 reviews
10.8 km away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
722 reviews
9.3 km away
O'Loughlin's Hotel
O'Loughlin's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyfin Demesne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyfin Demesne

Address: Ballyfin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Ballyfin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyfin
Price Range: RM3,027 - RM4,410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ballyfin Demesne 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set at the foot of the Slieve Bloom Mountains in the centre of Ireland, Ballyfin is a place of history and romance, of tranquility and great natural beauty. At Ballyfin formality is blended with ease and enjoyment. The house has long been admired as the most lavish Regency mansion in Ireland, and after eight years of restoration, Ballyfin re-opened in May 2011 as a small 5 star country house hotel like no other. It offers the very best of Irish hospitality in the most beautiful surroundings imaginable. Enjoy the splendid interiors decorated with Irish Art and antiques from around the world. With only twenty rooms for the 614 acre estate, it is the perfect place for a break from the stresses of the modern world and provides discretion and privacy like few other destinations. Conceived on a generous scale for receiving guests, Ballyfin combines magnificence and intimacy in its State rooms. From the grandeur of the Saloon at the heart of the house, the eighty-foot library, the sun filled Conservatory which is reached through a secret door hidden in a bookshelf in the library. At Ballyfin, stone walls enclose 614 acres of parkland, a lake and ancient woods, delightful garden buildings, follies and grottoes. Whether you feel like swimming some laps, enjoying some water exercises or simply relaxing, our indoor pool, overlooking the courtyard garden, will be a beautiful space for invigoration and wellbeing. Come and enjoy life!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ballyfin Demesne Hotel County Laois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing