We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classic 'get away from it' holiday”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Messenia Region
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
SaintFriday's Holiday Villas
Ranked #54 of 78 Hotels in Messenia Region
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This is a wonderful location with all you would expect. Views of the sea and mountains, olive trees, mountain roads and dirt tracks to drive along.
The apartments are simple, and for us that was their charm. No TV's etc to distract from the view and the silence (except the cicadas of course) but they had everything we needed.
There really is a beach about a 10 minute walk away, which is small, is great for swimming but not busy and is used by locals. The bigger beach is the other side of Koroni, about a 10 minute drive away.
Paul and two of his daughters were there during our stay, and they could not have been more helpful. They were very relaxed and easy going, giving our children the freedom to explore. Paul is very knowledgable about the local area, and can suggest local places to eat and places to see and when the markets are on. But, they were not overly attentive and were not disturbing us every day which was great.
Unfortunately we had a bit of a medical emergency with one of our children whilst there (nut allergy related), and Paul and his eldest daughter really helped us out with their knowledge of the area. Invaluable.
If you want simple (not basic) accommodation in beautiful surroundings and are looking for a classic 'get away from it' holiday, with local villages where Greek is still the main language spoken plus Koroni which is more of a tourest trap (Castle, English spoken well by all) then this is the place for you.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
6  Thank TLERM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
There are newer reviews for SaintFriday's Holiday Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2011

This is a unique experience. It is not a five-star resort, rather a collection of villas set in an exqusite olive grove with views down to the sea and across to the Taygetos Mountains. There is an uncrowded beach about ten minutes down the road. The accommodation is simple but comfortable, with an enormous verandahs - a wonderful place to sit and read and look at the view. The atmosphere is friendly and informal. Up the road at Charakopio, an unspoilt Greek village, are two really good tavernas Yianni's (Fouli cooks old-style Greek food) and Niko's, which does good bbq . The more touristy, postcard-pretty Koroni is only minutes away. It's a short drive to Methoni and Pylos and Kalamata is an hour away; the museum is a must. We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AlanK35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

When you find a Gem like this you are torn between telling everybody with great enthusiasm or keeping it to yourself in the hope that it doesn't get changed too much.
We have stayed at Saint Fridays three times with the next trip already booked. I think that says it all.
If you go to saint Fridays and you expect it to be like a 5 star hotel, you will be bitterly disappointed. But if you go for a peaceful holiday in beautiful part of unspoilt Greece you will have to look at lot harder to find a better location.
The accommodation maybe a little basic, but clean and comfortable with everything you will need. I agree with one of the other reviewers that the description on the website does give the impression that they are all detached bungalows but this is a technicality.
And why have a pool? You have the biggest pool in the world 500yards away.
The villas are all very quiet, private and have superb verandas with spectacular views over the Messinian Bay, making the most of the beautiful sunrises, if you can get up that early in the morning.
On our first visit Hilary and Paul were very welcoming and friendly. We are veterans to the area, so we know our way around quite well.
On the second and third visit, we were looked after by Andreas and Sylvia who were just lovely.
The nearest town with its tavernas is a 2Km uphill walk, older people than me do it everyday and it does make coming home easier after your night out on Greek food and local wine at Nico's taverna! Bring a torch.
Koroni with it's many and varied restaurants and tavernas is only a few minutes drive away and is great for watching the Greeks on holiday. Get your Greek phrase book out if you plan to venture to some of the smaller villages during the day, a lot of people don't speak any English, but why should they?
The local beach is one of the best in the Peloponese, and made us very lazy about going elsewhere to find another. You can reach this by taking a stroll downhill through the olive groves which takes me with my dodgy knee about 10- 15 mins.
If you want lots of activity, nightlife and amusement arcades for the kids outside your door, this is not the place.
If want to sit on the veranda and take in the tranquil views and NOT hear people coming home drunk singing kareoke songs, yelling and banging doors all night, come here.
There is only one bad thing I can say about saint Fridays: it makes me very very sad to leave and go home.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank citori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2008

My family and I had a wonderful time at Saintfridays .
The villa was beautifully clean, the directions were very clear and the views were amazing. This isn't a package holiday, it's unique and the drive from Athens is part of the adventure. We stopped in the mountains for breakfast and stopped at Kalamaki for a swim. On the way back we went to Ancient Corinth and the canal and spent a night in Athens which was great fun.

Paul and Hilary the owners gave us a great welcome and bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable and had every thing we needed. The children have begged us to return this year and it's a promise we will keep.

The beach at Gargarou is lovely and the sea is crystal clear. We ate in the village at Nikos - do order the roast pork for Sunday lunch by Saturday night at the latest. Koroni is great for evening strolls and so safe for the children. We also took the opportunity to visit a few sites - Olympia , Ancient Messini, Mystras and Voidakilia Beach near Nestors palace.

Memories of sitting out on the balcony at night seeing the twinkling lights over on the Mani and Koroni to the sound of crickets and cicadas kept me going all winter knowing that I had secured my little patch of heaven again for summer 2008.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susanpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2007

We stayed in Villa Koroni for 5 nights. Very modest and certainly inexpensive choice. Absolutely loved the view and the peaceful surroundings. Car is essential for getting there & around (allthough driving from Athens to SaintFridays takes some 4,5 hours plus breaks!).

The apartment was ok, even though we found no instructions of how things like the A/C and hot water works (had to figure that out at 6:30 am), slight problems with the bed (put together another one with the owner) and the kitchenware was not exactly clean (the previous guests were probably not too keen on doing the dishes).

Unfortunately we got very dissapointed by the misleading information on the SaintFriday's website. They say there are 6 villas, but in the real life the only true villa (e.g. a building with only one apartment) is Villa Methoni. The others are just 1st or ground floor apartments in three different buildings, one ot them being the home of the owners.

Overall ok experience, but we did not appreciate being fooled like that...

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Martsavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Messenia Region hotels
0.0 km away
Villa Teo
Villa Teo
#1 of 1 in Mikri Mantineia
11 reviews
0.0 km away
Beautiful Mani
Beautiful Mani
#26 of 40 in Stoupa
4 reviews
0.0 km away
Niki Apartments
Niki Apartments
#13 of 13 in Chrani
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Abeliona Retreat
Abeliona Retreat
#1 of 1 in Ampeliona
28 reviews
0.0 km away
Studios Koukis
Studios Koukis
#1 of 1 in Kitries
27 reviews
0.0 km away
The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SaintFriday's Holiday Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SaintFriday's Holiday Villas

Address: | Gargarou Beach, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 78 Hotels in Messenia Region
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing