We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three super holidays at Saintfridays”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Messenia Region
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
SaintFriday's Holiday Villas
Ranked #54 of 78 Hotels in Messenia Region
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Saint Friday's, nestling at the foot of the Peloponnese is a cluster of 4 small bungalows, and two apartments, with mostly 1 bedroom, living-dining with a sofabed, kitchen and bathroom, which are very modern and clean. They are close to the coast and and look over to the lights of the town of Kalamata in the distance. A ten-minute walk leads to the beach and walking along to adjoining beaches is a delight. It is approx. 4 hours drive from Athens Airport
(mostly motorway). A hire car is of great benefit but there is a bus from Athens. I have visited 3 times. Sylvia and Andrew who were looking after the small group of villas are very familiar with the area and Andrew speaks Greek and was able to help me out when I wanted to find out about routes to Olympia and Ancient Messini.They were excellent hosts. The nearest small village is about 5 minutes drive and Koroni a much bigger village on the coast is about 10 minutes drive. Kalamata - the nearest city is about 1 hours drive around the coast road which is a pretty drive through small villages, olive groves and citrus and watermelon farms, the fruit market on on Wednesday in Kalamata should not be missed . The Peloponnese is full of historical landmarks and dotted around with beautiful little monasteries.The information on the website of Saintfridays was very useful for finding out about the area before I set off and was helpful for finding out about ways for getting there. I hope to return soon. Well worth a visit!

Room Tip: I thought it would be great to come with my children and their grandchildren - me in one villa and t...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phyllis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
There are newer reviews for SaintFriday's Holiday Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

On arrival the owner Paul was not expecting us although we had received email confirmation.

We were 'upgraded' to Villa Methoni which was very dirty - the previous occupier had left behind an awful lot of grey pubic hair and thier athletes foot cream, which was still on the dirty bathroom shelf - nice!
Kitchen cupboards were filthy (cobwebs) as were all the utensils. on our arrival Paul stated 'You must understand this is a rural area and this is basic living but very authentic' - our house in the UK is very rural but we manage to keep it clean!

The bushes to the side of villa Methoni are very big, therefore no late afternoon/evening sunshine on the veranda. The hedge to the front was overgrown when we were there so this blocked the view to the sea when sitting on the veranda. Due to all the shrubbery around the villa the mosquitos came down about 5pm, well before sunset, which spoilt sitting outside in the early evening to eat.

The location is fabulous, a walk down through the garden to the beach takes about 15 minutes. The beach is lovely and hardly used, sometimes we were the only ones on it (late June). Koroni is beautiful as is Methoni and Pilos and all are fairly close by car. Finikounda is more touristy but again very nice with some excellent places to eat. We have spent a few holidays in this area, we normally don't book anywhere and find some amazing places to stay, Saintfridays looked so good on the web we were lured in and booked. With a bit of TLC and a lot of cleaning this would also be an amazing place to stay - shame.

Room Tip: Methoni is a villa the rest appear to apartments.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ollie354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saintfridays, Owner at SaintFriday's Holiday Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

There was a mix up with their booking (guilty as charged!) and to make it up to them we offered to give them a bigger villa for free ($200 Euro difference they have originally chosen our smallest cheapest apartment). The previous guests had just left it in a pretty bad state so it wasn't ready. We did a quick turnaround as they seemed anxious and tired. They took photos before we cleaned, is that fair game ? Lesson learnt, we should have sent them away for longer to give the villa the usual top to bottom clean down. Sad that they left it a year to complain - its so much better when people tell you about faults straight away when they can be corrected. We have hundreds of happy reviews in our old style handwritten guestbook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Staying at Saintfridays

I actually e mailed another site for information but their facility was closed and they recommended Saint Fridays. Why ??? My wife and I wanted to stay a minimum of 3 months commencing October. The original site does not operate in the Greek 'winter'.
So from the moment of e mailing Hilary and Paul and later phone calls I had no reservations in paying up and catching the last UK charter Flight they recommended . It was the last for Kalamata ...after that flight one had to fly to Athena.
(I explain we were long term house sitting in France and later UK and promised ourselves a long break in a special (for us) area.)
As arranged Paul was there to greet us (at an agreed price) and off we went at 10pm to St Fridays... about an xxxx hr trip.

Look at the site and all you see is true. there is no 'photoshop' used or smoke and mirrors information.
What you see is what you will experience. If you want the RITZ ... go somewhere else.

Now the area, Yes , it is alone hidden in the Olive Groves with a view out over the Sea and further . With the exception of one power line in the distance it was the same views as the ancients would have had. My wife an Archaeologist was over the moon.
St Fridays is a 30 minute lovely undulating walk to the shops which is a traditional Village. If you expect Marks and Sparks (UK)or Macy's (USA) forget it...Try more like small individual dimly lit friendly individaully owned shops (but not between 2 and 4pm...which might sound strange but you will enjoy the later night shopping as the result.)
We purchased what we wanted .So in answer to . ...Can I buy all groceries clothing Medical goods and eat at restaurants ???YES you can.
Languages ??? We overheard a few languages between traders and customers and we had no problems.
We got what we wanted at various old shops and we made wonderful assoccations with local business people.
Is there an ATM or Bank there..??? NO
Is there a coach service passing through that can get you to a Bank and ATM E Mail bigger coffee shops etc etc...Yes. The town on the coast is KORONI and is 15 minutes away by bus.
You see ; we use Public transport in all countries . So change down a gear and do what locals do in very up market aircon coach which is regular if you note scheduled timings.. But if you are not used to buses there are Taxi's at each town.
Our suggestion is you need to adapt to what is available e.g. get a bus time table and have the right fare. Dont tender a huge note.

We mainly stayed local for a few months and later hired a car for further expeditions ( for my wife Archaeology sites , for me Cafes).
We used local school and regular buses to search other Regional areas and enjoyed everything.

The Beaches from St Fridays are down thru the Olive groves and down a made road for a 15 minutes walk to the beach (which extends for miles/ks).

We were lucky as the owners were insitu for a time and I guess we were spoilt BUt after they left the local friendships (Greek and others )we made continued to make us welcome.
In summary in todays world when first choosing to arrange things (by E Mail ) it can be a fraudulent risk .I can state that the Family Greek Cypriot/Scottish owners (both professionally employed also in UK) are above reproach. My advice to help you find good places to stay like Saintfridays, when you are booking anywhere, don't hesitate to arrange things direct with the owners by e mail and follow up with phone calls to avoid the fraud risk.
We are going back there.

Room Tip: Email and tell the owners what you would like. they will listen and find out what's best for you...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnHC H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This is a wonderful location with all you would expect. Views of the sea and mountains, olive trees, mountain roads and dirt tracks to drive along.
The apartments are simple, and for us that was their charm. No TV's etc to distract from the view and the silence (except the cicadas of course) but they had everything we needed.
There really is a beach about a 10 minute walk away, which is small, is great for swimming but not busy and is used by locals. The bigger beach is the other side of Koroni, about a 10 minute drive away.
Paul and two of his daughters were there during our stay, and they could not have been more helpful. They were very relaxed and easy going, giving our children the freedom to explore. Paul is very knowledgable about the local area, and can suggest local places to eat and places to see and when the markets are on. But, they were not overly attentive and were not disturbing us every day which was great.
Unfortunately we had a bit of a medical emergency with one of our children whilst there (nut allergy related), and Paul and his eldest daughter really helped us out with their knowledge of the area. Invaluable.
If you want simple (not basic) accommodation in beautiful surroundings and are looking for a classic 'get away from it' holiday, with local villages where Greek is still the main language spoken plus Koroni which is more of a tourest trap (Castle, English spoken well by all) then this is the place for you.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
6  Thank TLERM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This is a unique experience. It is not a five-star resort, rather a collection of villas set in an exqusite olive grove with views down to the sea and across to the Taygetos Mountains. There is an uncrowded beach about ten minutes down the road. The accommodation is simple but comfortable, with an enormous verandahs - a wonderful place to sit and read and look at the view. The atmosphere is friendly and informal. Up the road at Charakopio, an unspoilt Greek village, are two really good tavernas Yianni's (Fouli cooks old-style Greek food) and Niko's, which does good bbq . The more touristy, postcard-pretty Koroni is only minutes away. It's a short drive to Methoni and Pylos and Kalamata is an hour away; the museum is a must. We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AlanK35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Messenia Region hotels
0.0 km away
Villa Teo
Villa Teo
#1 of 1 in Mikri Mantineia
11 reviews
0.0 km away
Beautiful Mani
Beautiful Mani
#26 of 40 in Stoupa
4 reviews
0.0 km away
Niki Apartments
Niki Apartments
#13 of 13 in Chrani
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Abeliona Retreat
Abeliona Retreat
#1 of 1 in Ampeliona
28 reviews
0.0 km away
Studios Koukis
Studios Koukis
#1 of 1 in Kitries
27 reviews
0.0 km away
The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SaintFriday's Holiday Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SaintFriday's Holiday Villas

Address: | Gargarou Beach, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 78 Hotels in Messenia Region
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing