We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams
US$310
View deal
Booking.comUS$310
PricelineUS$310
Agoda.comUS$310
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveller rating
442
30
2
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
442
30
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean view suite home away from home beach beds south coast amazing hotel general manager indian ocean beach front rooms are spacious relaxing stay out of this world perfect holiday small hotel swimming pool is private beach seafood evelyn
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2021 via mobile

The Maji ..indeed it fulfilled all our expectations for the perfect holiday on the kenyan South Coast..supa rapport.. tantalising cuisine ..homely feel..par excellence service and above all on the Beach..we highly recommend This Gem of a place to all who want to wind down and enjoy being pampered..Thanks for the memories Evelyn and Team..THAKAR FAMILY

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rajesht173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel, General Manager at The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful words and amazing review following your time here at The Maji with the family. It was a pleasure to host you all! Karibuni tena!
Kind Regards Lara and The Maji Family in a hot and sunny Diani Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2021 via mobile

A+ property-what a boutique hotel should be. They try very hard on the service side but don’t always hit the Mark (English on the fair side). Food is good but not great. The beach is fair-not really swimmable but walkable. There is better beach a couple of miles to the south. The hotel is an oasis. Not much to do in way of dining or other activities and the area does have some abandoned properties but this is the place if you want to go to the beach in Kenya after the beach on a Safari.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 327petterw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel, General Manager at The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and give your feedback. Guest feedback is an essential ingredient in striving for better and we welcome your comments which have all been noted, thank you. All in all we thank you for your kind words on our A+ property and very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back some day.
Kind Regards from Lara and The Maji Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2021

I normally loathe restrictions especially this time when we have the COVID-19 pandemic. The Maji was more like I was in my house where I did whatever I would do at home without being subjected to timings for meals. The only good thing is that it felt like I was at my house but situated in the paradise of the Diani beach. I came here to sleep and wake up late. This wasn’t a break for me to move around because I was already an exhausted person that had no interest in excursions or tours.

Thus, I got exactly what I wanted and felt better when I departed. I am grateful to the staff for their hospitality and kindness for allowing me to be myself without felling like I was an inconvenience. Zippy and Naomi was the most outstanding staff members that I felt with most of the time. Of course the birthday surprise was splendid........enjoying my birthday close toi the beach was memorable.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mtume Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel, General Manager at The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful words. The Maji team is always here to make you feel at home, of course with all the comforts of a boutique hotel, and we are happy that you enjoyed your time here in our little piece of paradise.
We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Warm Regards from a hot and sunny Diani Beach,
Lara and The Maji Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2021

This January 2021 marks my second time I stayed at The Maji. The environment, hospitality and attention we found in this boutique hotel have no equal comparison so far along the Kenya coast. The staff, just to mention few: Zipporah, Eveline, Zippy, carol, Rafiki and John, have made our staying a dream during which we had forgot all the stress and daily troubles. the food is amazing and the chef is always ready to tailor any request you may have. try Linguine with crab sauce or the fresh seafood soup served in a coconut bowl! for not mentioning the fall in love cake!!!! definitely not a place where you count calories!!!! I advise anyone that wishes to stay in a very unique place to try The Maji....ahhhhh something more! no rules around breakfast or meals timing.... you can sleep as long as you wish with no hurry or stress feeling that you might skip breakfast because too late! at The Maji you have breakfast at any time of the day you like or any other meal! in addition the swimming pool is open 24/7! so get ready for a midnight swimming if you like!

Room tip: the ground floor rooms are perfect for family. You can access the swimming from your verandah as the pool surrounds the house
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 579ombrettam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel, General Manager at The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2021

Dear Ombretta,
It was a pleasure to host you for the second time at The Maji! Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation of our concept, food and above all our staff. We have always strived to ensure that it is our guests that set the rules, not us! From midnight swims to "Eat what you want, when you want, where you want!" We are happy that you made use of this and enjoyed your stay.
Stay safe and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future to pamper you some more!
Warmest Regards from us all,
Lara and The Maji Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2020

Amazing place ... just what we needed for our break away from everything. Very relaxing and being vegetarian the food was just amazing. The service was great as well they got us whatever we needed. The rooms are spacious, clean and very well decorated. The beach beds / day beds by the beach were the best you could just lie there all day...overall had a great holiday and would not hesitate to go back.

Date of stay: October 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bhavinke2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel, General Manager at The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2020

We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your little getaway that is The Maji, the food, the flexibility, the service, the beach.... Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your thoughts with other like-minded holiday makers. The greatest compliment of all is to know that you will be back! Karibuni Sana, welcome back!
Wishing you all a Happy Holidays,
Best Regards from Lara and The Maji Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews