We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waggon & Horses
Ranked #5 of 12 Congleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Stayed here for one night when out working. Was greeted at the bar by Carol who showed me to my room. She advised me of the times food was served in the restaurant and asked what time I would like breakfast. The accommodation was ground floor and had a good sized hallway, leading into the bedroom. It comprised of a Double bed, wardrobe, 2 bedside cabinets and a dressing table and stool, full length mirror and a wall mounted TV. The ensuite was designed to accomadate the disabled (which I didn't find a problem), shower enclosure, WC and washand basin with a bathroom mirror above. Toiletries and Towels were plentiful as were Tea, Coffee and various Milk cartons and an electric kettle and mugs. I had an early night and enjoyed a decent nights sleep in a comfortable bed and wasn't disturbed by traffic on the A34, as another Reviewer indicated (even though my room faced directly on to the road). The breakfast comprised Cereal, Fruit Juice, Coffee, Toast and the Full English. I was driving a large van and parking wasn't a problem. Would happily return stay again if I have reason to return to the area. Thank You!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartRoyall, Owner at The Waggon & Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

thank you for taking the time to write your very detailed review
Its always nice to hear that we are doing it right for our guets

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for The Waggon & Horses
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

We were attending a wedding over the road at Sandhole so this was the perfect location to walk back as it's only over the road. They've made a path too off the busy road too which is helpful. The B&B itself was great, friendly and helpful staff. Room itself was clean and modern. In the morning we had a really nice full English breakfast, specials board looked good too for people who were using the restaurant normally in the day. Recommend for anyone who needs accommodation for Sandhole Farm events.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TomMagness1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

We were attending a wedding at the nearby Sandhole Oak Barn so this was an ideal alternative easily accessible via a path adjascent to a farmer's field.

The staff and management at The Waggon & Horses were very accommodating and couldn't do enough for you. The accommodation was adequate and the food was delicious if not a little pricey.

A+

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank scotty t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night in a twin room. Very clean and comfy beds. Warm and cosy. Ate in the pub at night great home cooked food with a log fire, very friendly and welcoming ambience. The next morning had a good breakfast sausages were homemade and very yummy! We were about to leave but found the car wouldn't start we called for breakdown. In the process my partner cut his head on car door, blood everywhere!! It was freezing outside, the staff were great let us stay in the pub sat by the fire gave us hot drinks and first aid was well looked after for three hours couldn't recommend them highly enough!! Thank you so much x By the way Mike had his head glued when we got home after a visit to the clinic x

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kazzalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Called in for lunch and pleasantly surprised. Home cooked food was good and inexpensive coupled with well kept Robinson's beers.
Landlady was welcoming and we ate in the bar as we had a small dog. Will visit again. Place was clean with decent toilets, place could do with a bit of a spruce up but that sometimes ruins the character

Room Tip: No opinion as we only called in for lunch
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dominic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Congleton
2.7 km away
The Alexandra Court Hotel
The Alexandra Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Congleton
327 reviews
9.0 km away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
684 reviews
11.3 km away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
1.1 km away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 12 in Congleton
263 reviews
2.5 km away
The Lion & Swan Hotel
The Lion & Swan Hotel
#9 of 12 in Congleton
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waggon & Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waggon & Horses

Address: (A34) Manchester Road, Congleton CW12 2JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Congleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Congleton
Price Range: RM339 - RM419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waggon & Horses 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in the beautiful Cheshire countryside at our welcoming inn. Look no further than the Waggon & Horses for a delightful pub and bed and breakfast in Cheshire. In the tiny village of Eaton lies the picture-postcard Waggon and Horses public house, ready to refresh the weary traveler with good food and ale. Be amazed at what our fine English pub has to offer. From fine cask ales, to locally sourced produce we have just what you need. We take great pride in our delicious food and at least 90% of what we serve in our restaurant is entirely home-made. It's tempting to get stuck at our warm and cosy bar with a real log fire on cold days complemented by the warm welcome of a family-run pub, but if you look that little bit further you'll see our beautiful caravan park situated at the heart of the idyllic Cheshire countryside. Not only that, we also offer clay pigeon shooting. Ideal for any day out, it is a great way to spend the day. For the summer there is a large garden overlooking open countryside, with a children's play area to allow parents to enjoy the good weather in peace! There is also ample car parking, and the front entrance is equipped with a ramp to allow wheelchair access. The restaurant serves all homemade freshly prepared food from an extensive menu, and on Sundays and Bank hoildays traditional roasts. The excellent food is accompanied by a wine list featuring both European and New World wines. We also have our own Clay Pigeon Shooting ground ,the only pub in Cheshire to do so You always get a warm welcome at the Waggon & Horses. Come and visit us and discover a home away from home. Contact us today to find out more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Waggon & Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing