We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Ride along the fi er”
Review of Seaton Tramway

Seaton Tramway
Ranked #3 of 27 things to do in Seaton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Seaton Tramway operates narrow gauge heritage trams between Seaton, Colyford and Colyton in East Devon's glorious Axe Valley, travelling alongside the River Axe estuary through two nature reserves and giving an unrivalled view of the abundant wading bird life.The coastal resort of Seaton is now a gateway town to the Jurassic Coast, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, whilst the historic town of Colyton is described as "Devon's Most Rebellious Town" for its part in the Monmouth Rebellion of 1685.The company originated at the Lancaster Electrical Company of Barnet, which manufactured battery electric vehicles. In 1949 its owner, Claude Lane, indulged his hobby by building a miniature 15” gauge tram, which he ran at garden fetes. This portable system enjoyed temporary homes at St Leonard’s and Rhyl before evolving onto the 2’ gauge Eastbourne Tramway.Many of the present trams were built at Eastbourne, but by the mid 1960’s the tramway’s success was outgrowing the mile line. Claude therefore began to look for alternative locations. In late 1969, Claude purchased the Seaton to Colyton section after the branchline had been closed by Dr Beeching in 1966 and, after a mammoth relocation from Eastbourne, the first section was opened in 1980. Since then the tramway has developed into one of Devon’s best loved attractions.New trams have been added to the fleet and the buildings have been much improved in order to meet the needs of the thousands of enthusiastic people who visit each year.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We took the tram from Colyford to Seaton on Easter Sunday. There was a tram waiting in the station when we arrived. We were going to board but the attendant assumed that my son-in-law, who uses a wheelchair, wouldn’t be able to board the tram and asked us to wait for the next one. My daughter explained the we would be perfectly capable of boarding but the assistant would not listen. He ignored my son-in-law and continued to speak to my daughter. We pointed out that it would be more polite to speak to my son-in-law directly than to assume that he couldn’t board the tram. However, we waited for the next tram and enjoyed our ride to Seaton, watching the wildlife on the way. We returned to Colyford after lunch and enjoyed the return trip. I would ask that all staff are aware that people who are not able bodied are treated with more respect because they can speak for themselves even if they cannot walk for long distances.

Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton T, Di Moore, Office Assistant at Seaton Tramway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am happy that overall you had a pleasant visit to Seaton Tramway and we thank you for awarding us a 'very good' review, despite the issue you mentioned in your feedback, which is currently being investigated. Listening and learning from our visitors is at the core of our uncompromising customer service policy and our constant pursuit to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"top deck"
in 114 reviews
"colyton station"
in 88 reviews
"day ticket"
in 31 reviews
"bird life"
in 41 reviews
"wading birds"
in 17 reviews
"return journey"
in 50 reviews
"axe valley"
in 49 reviews
"lovely journey"
in 15 reviews
"nature reserve"
in 46 reviews
"tram driver"
in 30 reviews
"level crossing"
in 14 reviews
"great ride"
in 18 reviews
"bird watching"
in 26 reviews
"alongside the river"
in 17 reviews
"great fun"
in 65 reviews
"enjoyable trip"
in 18 reviews
"cream tea"
in 48 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Owing to the renovation of the tram terminal you have to catch a coach from just across the road that takes you to the riverside terminal. It's only a journey of a few minutes at most.
Once there we were met by a guide who showed us where to purchase tickets. We got roaming tickets that allow you to use the trams all day.
Our guide then took us through into the tram shed and workshops and gave us some history of the place and the trams in situ.
We then boarded the tram and went on a lovely journey of about 20 minutes through the wetlands and bird sanctuary which was a bit sparse thus time of year but still worth a look.
The tram terminates at Colyford where there is a small cafe and shop at the station. It is only a 10-15 minute walk into the quaint little village with a few shops, church and pub.
The trams run every half hour and the free coach is always there to meet it at the Seaton end. This place is extremely well run and everyone was informative and polite. Definitely worth a visit.

Thank roycooper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton T, Di Moore, Office Assistant at Seaton Tramway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First time in over a year we’ve used the tram, but glad to say it’s as good as ever. Obviously, the riverside scenery changes with the tides & seasons, but always beautiful and just so many birds whatever time of day / year.

Amongst the trams running today was a saloon tram, which we haven’t been on before. Obviously, the views are more restricted than from the top deck of an open car, but the restored interior was lovely and it’s warm! However, as the sun was shining, we selected an open top tram for our return journey.

Friendly, knowledgeable staff and an opportunity to tour the maintenance depot whilst the new tram station is being completed was interesting.

Tasty, good value food available from the Colyton station cafe and there’s also a nice gift shop. The cream teas and cakes went down a storm as did the hot pork, stuffing and apple sauce rolls.

Well worth a walk around Colyton too and indeed this end of the tramline also has a free, small car park.

All in all, a different and lovely day out.

Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton T, Di Moore, Office Assistant at Seaton Tramway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We rode on the tram in glorious weather in February and were fortunate enough to go back on the open top double decker! The views were amazing and the drivers were full of enthusiasm and local knowledge. It was a lovely way to spend a couple of hours. The town of Colyton is very quaint as is the seaside town of Seaton which has beautiful views and coastal walks. We thought it was a bit expensive at £11 each as it didn’t go very far but we enjoyed the tram experience.

Thank JuliePapworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton T, Di Moore, Office Assistant at Seaton Tramway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit, your Gift Aid donation makes a huge difference to us, we are very grateful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Light hearted fun for a couple of hours that was worth the time and effort
well run and equipment in good order

Thank cassiedromana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton T, Di Moore, Office Assistant at Seaton Tramway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seaton Tramway also viewed

 

Been to Seaton Tramway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing