We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fraser Highlands Retreat
Reviewed 3 April 2016

We stayed with Sue & Jim in October 2015 and somehow it slipped and we never wrote any reviews (for our entire trip) but this is a place one will not forget. Sue & Jim are such wonderful hosts, that was the nicest thing about staying in this lovely B&B.

The room we had upstairs was nice and clean. The breakfast that Sue prepared for us was top notch, very yummy muffins! The place itself is up the hill and you have to take a small unpaved road so it is a real get-away. From up there you have great view over the bay! The Abel Tasman National Park is a short drive away and Sue & Jim are really helpful with recommendations for activities in the park.

Thank you Sue & Jim!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank marieke115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2016

What a wonderful place. This is a little bit of Scotland well worth a visit. We stayed a couple of nights, on the second night we were entertained to a bag pipe rendition by the owner Jim. He is of course an accomplished player and truly amazing to boot.
The B and B is very well appointed with stunning views of the Bryant Mountain range and the Tasman Bay with fruit orchards close by. The breakfasts were excellent thanks to Sue. All in all a truly memorable place to stay. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hallroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

This review is well overdue but not somewhere we could forget.
We stayed for 3 nights in January and could not have wished for a nicer play to stay, Jim & Sue were wonderful hosts who could not do enough for us and were really helpful with information on the best places to see and go to. We stayed in the downstairs bedroom which was of a really generous size and had every we needed and more. The bedroom has a door which leads straight out into the garden area which is really lovely, the views are gorgeous. We made the most of them one night by enjoying wine, cheese etc in the garden. Jim & Sue very kindly supplied all the plates etc for us. The guest fridge in the lounge was very handy for storing such food and drink items during our stay. Sue's breakfast's were gorgeous! So much is home made and so delicious!
This really is a wonderful place to stay and if we are lucky enough to return to this beautiful region we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kirsty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016

A wonderful place to stay. Sue and Jim were wonderful hosts, the breakfasts delicious with homemade bread, yogurts and fruit from the garden. The accommodation was homely and welcoming, vthe views wonderful and the garden delightful.. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 500vivian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Jim and Sue are so welcoming and their house is beautiful and unique, with great vistas all over the bay and set in a perfect location near the entrance of Abel Tasman NP. Thank you for sharing it with us for a few nights :). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank El86Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abel Tasman National Park
22.2 km away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
360 reviews
6.6 km away
Abel Tasman Lodge
Abel Tasman Lodge
#1 of 2 in Marahau
254 reviews
26 km away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.8 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
691 reviews
3 km away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 2 in Kaiteriteri
426 reviews
25.2 km away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Highlands Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Highlands Retreat

Address: 177 Riwaka-Sandy Bay Road, Abel Tasman National Park 7197, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Abel Tasman National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Abel Tasman National Park
Price Range: RM490 - RM498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fraser Highlands offers unrivaled views in the Abel Tasman and Nelson area (just read our reviews!). Our accommodation options include two fabulous b&b suites; downstairs has private external access, upstairs an additional 'family room' offering with the adjacent leisure room. Both have fantastic views of the surrounding area.If you'd like a little more privacy we have a gorgeous one bedroom cottage. The cottage is completely self-contained and includes full kitchen, laundry, bathroom, optional lounge sofa bed and free WiFi. Relax with a book on the balcony and views... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Fraser Highlands Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing