We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fraser Highlands Retreat
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Jim and Sue are truly passionate hosts in this 'taste of Scotland' accommodation ideally located for enjoying Abel Tasman and Golden Bay. We were so well looked after and brilliantly guided to make the most of our few days stay, to ensure we did the things we wanted to do. Our room and breakfast (with great home baking) was great and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the meandering driveway to the house - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We all want to come away from our vacations refreshed and with good memories. The hosts at Fraser Highlands were such special people. Their welcoming home, filling breakfast and good conversation made this a wonderful experience. We were in the queen bedroom on the second floor of the house. The views from our room of Tasman Bay were spectacular. Our breakfast was an assortment of cereals, yogurt, toast or muffins, juice, and a fruit salad. From the Fraser's garden we also had cooked rhubarb and fresh plums. Sue graciously let us do a load of laundry. We felt very fortunate to have stayed two nights.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank H2OAlgae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

This cottage is situated a few minutes' drive outside of Motueka. It has fantastic views over the valley and the sea. It is well equipped for a self-catering stay. The owners were very welcoming and friendly and provided useful advice on activities in the area. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank gerald2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Sue and Jim, the owners, are lovely and made us feel very welcome. Their rustic cottage is on top of a hill in the grounds of their house, with fabulous views. Access is via a good quality unsealed road. Inside the 1-bedroom cottage there were many thoughtful touches, eg fruit, chocolates, good range of coffees/teas, condiments, cooking oil, magazines, books, DVDs, etc. The first day was wet and quite cool, the radiator kept the cottage warm and cosy (we could also have lit the log-burner). We really enjoyed our 3-night stay - despite the earthquake on our last night....

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosepink22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

What we liked:
The nice location with great views, the hospitality of our hosts, the nice and clean room (the room was in the house on ground floor), the breakfast, Jim and Sue's sightseeing tips, their support when we had to change our travel plans, ..., everything!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank manfredh229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abel Tasman National Park
22.2 km away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
359 reviews
6.6 km away
Abel Tasman Lodge
Abel Tasman Lodge
#1 of 2 in Marahau
252 reviews
26 km away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.8 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
688 reviews
3 km away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 2 in Kaiteriteri
425 reviews
25.2 km away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Highlands Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Highlands Retreat

Address: 177 Riwaka-Sandy Bay Road, Abel Tasman National Park 7197, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Abel Tasman National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Abel Tasman National Park
Price Range: RM490 - RM498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fraser Highlands offers unrivaled views in the Abel Tasman and Nelson area (just read our reviews!). Our accommodation options include two fabulous b&b suites; downstairs has private external access, upstairs an additional 'family room' offering with the adjacent leisure room. Both have fantastic views of the surrounding area.If you'd like a little more privacy we have a gorgeous one bedroom cottage. The cottage is completely self-contained and includes full kitchen, laundry, bathroom, optional lounge sofa bed and free WiFi. Relax with a book on the balcony and views... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Fraser Highlands Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing