We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation to explore Abel Tasman coast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fraser Highlands Retreat
Reviewed 30 March 2017

We stayed in the small cottage 50m from the main B&B property - with a definite Scottish Highland air about it. Jim & Sue are very welcoming and the views from the cottage are truly spectacular. It makes a great base to explore this part of the Abel Tasman coast & the cottage is well equipped for a couple to look after themselves for several days. No problems at all and worked very well fully self-catered.

Room Tip: This is a quiet, private & secluded spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

What a sweet cottage!
What a view!
What congenial hosts!

Three nights in the super nice cottage went by much too quickly. Great bed, full kitchen (particularly liked the large cereal bowls), fast wifi, plenty of water pressure in the shower and a washer and clothesline. Would be more than comfortable to stay for a couple weeks. One more reason that we SHALL return to New Zealand. We can only hope that we can book the cottage once again.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank StartSlowAndEaseOff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We booked here at the last minute based on the recommendation from fellow travelers, and we were so glad we did! Jim and Sue were absolutely delightful and passionate about their wonderful place in the world. Our room was quite comfortable, clean and spacious. The grounds have been lovingly tended over the years and feature many varieties of fruits, vegetables, and ornamentals. The views are stunning! This is a must-stay spot!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brad028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Jim and Sue are truly passionate hosts in this 'taste of Scotland' accommodation ideally located for enjoying Abel Tasman and Golden Bay. We were so well looked after and brilliantly guided to make the most of our few days stay, to ensure we did the things we wanted to do. Our room and breakfast (with great home baking) was great and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the meandering driveway to the house - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We all want to come away from our vacations refreshed and with good memories. The hosts at Fraser Highlands were such special people. Their welcoming home, filling breakfast and good conversation made this a wonderful experience. We were in the queen bedroom on the second floor of the house. The views from our room of Tasman Bay were spectacular. Our breakfast was an assortment of cereals, yogurt, toast or muffins, juice, and a fruit salad. From the Fraser's garden we also had cooked rhubarb and fresh plums. Sue graciously let us do a load of laundry. We felt very fortunate to have stayed two nights.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank H2OAlgae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abel Tasman National Park
22.2 km away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
366 reviews
5.8 km away
Split Apple Retreat
Split Apple Retreat
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
131 reviews
6.6 km away
Abel Tasman Lodge
Abel Tasman Lodge
#1 of 2 in Marahau
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
The Barn
The Barn
#2 of 5 in Marahau
73 reviews
3 km away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 2 in Kaiteriteri
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Highlands Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Highlands Retreat

Address: 177 Riwaka-Sandy Bay Road, Abel Tasman National Park 7197, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Abel Tasman National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Abel Tasman National Park
Price Range: RM487 - RM511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fraser Highlands offers unrivaled views in the Abel Tasman and Nelson area (just read our reviews!). Our accommodation options include two fabulous b&b suites; downstairs has private external access, upstairs an additional 'family room' offering with the adjacent leisure room. Both have fantastic views of the surrounding area.If you'd like a little more privacy we have a gorgeous one bedroom cottage. The cottage is completely self-contained and includes full kitchen, laundry, bathroom, optional lounge sofa bed and free WiFi. Relax with a book on the balcony and views... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Fraser Highlands Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing