We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront(Daytona Beach Shores)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
US$113
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Aku Tiki Inn(Daytona Beach Shores)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$140
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront(Daytona Beach Shores)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront(Daytona Beach Shores)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$141
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn by Wyndham Daytona Oceanfront(Daytona Beach Shores)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Daytona Beach Oceanfront(Daytona Beach Shores)
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delta Hotels by Marriott Daytona Beach Oceanfront(Daytona Beach Shores)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bahama House(Daytona Beach Shores)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dream Inn(Daytona Beach Shores)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (840)
Filter reviews
840 results
Traveller rating
542
191
58
32
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
542
191
58
32
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolwater slidesactivity directorstory buildinghot tubkids lovefull kitchendaily activitiescorn holegreat place for familiesbasketball courtentire familybit datedfamily vacationyear after yearlove this placestaff was very friendly
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 840 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

This was our second year staying here as a family and loved it again! The slide and the pool were again a huge hit with our kids and the easy access to the beach was my favorite! The staff were all very friendly and the room was clean and well equipped for our needs. Our A/C went out a couple of days before we left and they had someone come up immediately and look at it. We ended up getting it replaced shortly thereafter. From the time we reported it until they were done replacing it was no more than a half an hour! Great service!

Thank you again Sun Viking Lodge for halping make our family vacation a great time!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank BeachSunSand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to send in your kind review and for you and your family being a Sun Viking Lodge returning family. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your recent stay and that feel that you had, in your words, “another great vacation!” – thank you!

It is nice to see that you found your room was “clean” and that you feel that our oceanfront location provides you with “easy access to the beach” – our beautiful coastline is always enjoyable and it’s always amazing to see the tropical blue waters, white sandy beach and soaring seabirds – all our guests love it too!

We are glad to see that you feel we have “great service” – we have great employees who love our guests just as much as we do! Thank you for the nice compliment on their service.

Again, we sincerely appreciate your kind words and we all look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next visit to our beautiful beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Great place for a family. Playground, kiddie pool, indoor pool and outdoor pool with slide. They also have a game room, basketball, corn hole volleyball & hot tube. They also have grills and refreshment stand with breakfast and lunch items. Great location, rooms with kitchens, everything you need for a family vacation. Can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to send in your recent review and for rating the Sun Viking Lodge so high in the categories of Value, Sleep Quality and Service.

We are happy to read that you feel that our beachfront hotel offers, in your words, a “great family location” and is a “great place for a family” – we sincerely appreciate you kind words.

We are glad that you and your family enjoyed all our free amenities including our daily activity program designed for “kids of all ages” (kids and adults), playground, kiddie pool, indoor pool and outdoor heated pools, 60-ft. waterslide, game rooms with Wii & Xbox games, basketball goal, corn hole, volleyball, fitness room, sauna & hot tub.

Many of our guests would agree with you, they too enjoy outdoor cooking on our outdoor grills which are free to use. The also enjoy a casual poolside breakfast or lunch at our Viking Kafe which offers walk-up service and is open from mid-February through Labor Day each year.

It is nice to read that you enjoyed having one of our rooms with a fully equipped kitchen; all who have kids would agree . . . sure makes life a lot easier!

Thank you again for your review . . . we consider you our friends and friends are always welcome at the Sun Viking Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

We loved our family vacation. The hotel was very clean, stuff was helpful and friendly. Our room had a full kitchen with dishes and pots/pans. Everything needed to save money on eating. Having two pools was great. Ocean right outside. Private balcony was very nice.

Room Tip: Two queen beds with ocean view
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shawn Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017


Thank you for taking the time to send in your kind review; we are happy to read your words when you say that “we loved our family vacation” and that you found the Sun Viking Lodge was “very clean, staff was helpful and friendly” – thank you!

We are glad that you liked your private oceanfront balcony and that you enjoyed the beautiful views of our beach and coastline.

It was nice to read that you felt having a kitchen in your room was “handy”. Our guests would agree with you, they too love our fully equipped kitchens which include a full-size refrigerator with ice maker, 4-burner stove and oven, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, dishes, utensils, pots and pans. Many of our guests say they love the convenience of having a kitchen in their rooms to “whip-up” a quick meal, allowing them more time at the beach instead of getting dressed and driving around town to look for a restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Thank you again for your review . . . we all look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

What a pleasant surprise a 1970's motor court with at door parking. The owner of the motor offered more amenities then the big boys, such as a water slide that was a hit with my four year old autistic son, along with family activities and free internet service. The room was super clean and was well kept up.The owners were willing and took care of any issues that popped up such as needed extra towel and shampoo. One nice thing about this motel is that it catered to families and not the 20 something crowd, so you did not have the rift raft that you see at other hotels, Even at the vending machine one could get ice cream at any time of the night which was a treat, while we did not eat at the restaurant the menu was reasonably priced and had a variety of different foods. As I told my wife we will be back, thank you for wonderful memories.

Room Tip: get a first floor room
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to send in such a kind review and for rating the Sun Viking Lodge so high in the categories of Value, Sleep Quality and Service and for saying that you felt we have an “excellent family motel” – we sincerely appreciate it.

It was nice to see that your 4-year old enjoyed our waterslide – it certainly is our main attraction for children of all ages . . . meaning adults and seniors too!

We are happy to read your words when you say that you found your “room was super clean and was well kept” and that our staff “took care of any issues that popped up such as needed extra towel and shampoo” – thank you!

As owners of the Sun Viking Lodge for over 46 years and we have always catered to families and couples, so young singles generally have a better time at other resorts with more vacationers of their own age group.

We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for saying that the Sun Viking Lodge has provided you with, in your words, some “wonderful memories!”

Thank you again for your kind review; we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

This place is all about families. It has an outside pool with a 60' water slide, indoor pool, hot tub, cafe for breakfast/lunch (good food with reasonable pricing) and extra activities for the kiddos. From games to face painting, outdoor movie in the evening (on certain evenings), balloon animals, snack machines, and more!!

Room Tip: Ocean front with private baloncy. Beautiful views and large room for separation.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Callianne64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thank you for your recent review and for rating the Sun Viking Lodge so high in the categories of Value, Service and Location – we sincerely appreciate it!

We are happy to see that you and your family had a great “family getaway” and you enjoyed the many free amenities that we offer. Certainly, in this hectic world of hand held devices, we realize that spending time at the beach and enjoying time with your loved ones is what counts the most!

It was nice to read that you enjoyed your large oceanfront room with a private balcony – all our guests would also agree with you that the view of our tropical blue ocean waters and beautiful coastline are outstanding!

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews