We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Clean”
Review of Sun Viking Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Viking Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Friendly staff, clean rooms. Great resort activities. The Wi-Fi needs to be improved. We couldn't connect while in the bedroom. We either had to sit in the kitchen/living area or out on balcony. I will return though!

Room Tip: room 506 is large and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rachel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review on your recent stay with us.

We are happy to read the you found the Sun Viking Lodge had, in your words, a “friendly staff and clean rooms” – thank you! We are blessed with wonderful employees and we get many compliments on them all the time – we sincerely appreciate your kind words.

We are glad to see that you and your family felt that we offer “great resort activities” – all our guests love our 60-foot waterslide, game rooms, basketball goal, kiddie pool, playground, fitness room & sauna, and of course our free Activity Program which offers games and competitions for all ages.

We are sorry that you did not have a strong Wi-Fi signal in your bedroom – we are currently working on improving this issue; however, we are happy to read your signal was much better in the living room and on your balcony.

Thank you again for sending in your review – we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2017

My wife and kids have stayed at this Hotel since 1992, they have always been awesome, especially for young families, would recommend highly!! They have a great staff, planned activities for the kids, water slide, and all the usual goodies!

Room Tip: Pool garden view rooms are awesome, huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patbettin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to send in your very kind review. It is always such a nice compliment to receive a kind review from a loyal returning guest who has vacationed here year after year – it certainly warms our hearts, thank you!

We are happy to read your words when you say that the Sun Viking Lodge is a “family jewel” and that we have a “great staff” – this is very kind of you to say and we sincerely appreciate it.

It is nice to read that you and your family find our hotel “family friendly & fun” - we have always specialized in families and couples offering “kids of all ages” FREE fun things to do.

We place a very high value on families connecting. In this hectic world of hand held devices, non-stop video games and fast-paced schedules, what is most important to us is that families “slow down” and “connect” with each other. What children will remember most is spending time with their families – memories that will last their lifetime! All our free amenities provide daily fun for the WHOLE family and spending fun time together is what we feel counts the most! We are also glad you enjoyed all our free "family-friendly activities" which are designed for kids of all ages – meaning kids, adults & seniors! Our Activity program is offered 7-days per week Memorial Day through Labor Day and 5-days per week the balance of the year.

Thank you again for your loyalty and kind words – we all hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

This was our second year staying here as a family and loved it again! The slide and the pool were again a huge hit with our kids and the easy access to the beach was my favorite! The staff were all very friendly and the room was clean and well equipped for our needs. Our A/C went out a couple of days before we left and they had someone come up immediately and look at it. We ended up getting it replaced shortly thereafter. From the time we reported it until they were done replacing it was no more than a half an hour! Great service!

Thank you again Sun Viking Lodge for halping make our family vacation a great time!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank BeachSunSand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to send in your kind review and for you and your family being a Sun Viking Lodge returning family. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your recent stay and that feel that you had, in your words, “another great vacation!” – thank you!

It is nice to see that you found your room was “clean” and that you feel that our oceanfront location provides you with “easy access to the beach” – our beautiful coastline is always enjoyable and it’s always amazing to see the tropical blue waters, white sandy beach and soaring seabirds – all our guests love it too!

We are glad to see that you feel we have “great service” – we have great employees who love our guests just as much as we do! Thank you for the nice compliment on their service.

Again, we sincerely appreciate your kind words and we all look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next visit to our beautiful beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Great place for a family. Playground, kiddie pool, indoor pool and outdoor pool with slide. They also have a game room, basketball, corn hole volleyball & hot tube. They also have grills and refreshment stand with breakfast and lunch items. Great location, rooms with kitchens, everything you need for a family vacation. Can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to send in your recent review and for rating the Sun Viking Lodge so high in the categories of Value, Sleep Quality and Service.

We are happy to read that you feel that our beachfront hotel offers, in your words, a “great family location” and is a “great place for a family” – we sincerely appreciate you kind words.

We are glad that you and your family enjoyed all our free amenities including our daily activity program designed for “kids of all ages” (kids and adults), playground, kiddie pool, indoor pool and outdoor heated pools, 60-ft. waterslide, game rooms with Wii & Xbox games, basketball goal, corn hole, volleyball, fitness room, sauna & hot tub.

Many of our guests would agree with you, they too enjoy outdoor cooking on our outdoor grills which are free to use. The also enjoy a casual poolside breakfast or lunch at our Viking Kafe which offers walk-up service and is open from mid-February through Labor Day each year.

It is nice to read that you enjoyed having one of our rooms with a fully equipped kitchen; all who have kids would agree . . . sure makes life a lot easier!

Thank you again for your review . . . we consider you our friends and friends are always welcome at the Sun Viking Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

We loved our family vacation. The hotel was very clean, stuff was helpful and friendly. Our room had a full kitchen with dishes and pots/pans. Everything needed to save money on eating. Having two pools was great. Ocean right outside. Private balcony was very nice.

Room Tip: Two queen beds with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shawn Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017


Thank you for taking the time to send in your kind review; we are happy to read your words when you say that “we loved our family vacation” and that you found the Sun Viking Lodge was “very clean, staff was helpful and friendly” – thank you!

We are glad that you liked your private oceanfront balcony and that you enjoyed the beautiful views of our beach and coastline.

It was nice to read that you felt having a kitchen in your room was “handy”. Our guests would agree with you, they too love our fully equipped kitchens which include a full-size refrigerator with ice maker, 4-burner stove and oven, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, dishes, utensils, pots and pans. Many of our guests say they love the convenience of having a kitchen in their rooms to “whip-up” a quick meal, allowing them more time at the beach instead of getting dressed and driving around town to look for a restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Thank you again for your review . . . we all look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach Shores hotels
0.6 km away
Best Western Aku Tiki Inn
Best Western Aku Tiki Inn
#3 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,025 reviews
4.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express and Suites O...
#9 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
834 reviews
1.6 km away
Bahama House
Bahama House
#4 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#7 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,473 reviews
3.5 km away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Ocea...
#2 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,483 reviews
0.4 km away
Hawaiian Inn
Hawaiian Inn
#23 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Viking Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Viking Lodge

Address: 2411 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach Shores, FL 32118-5400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach Shores
#5 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach Shores
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach Shores
Price Range: RM372 - RM862 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Viking Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun Viking Lodge, located oceanfront in Daytona Beach, 2017 thru 2011 Award of Excellence Award Winner and Florida's only Winner of the 2012 Trip Advisor "Family Travel Award" for Small Hotels - offers spacious guest rooms, kitchenettes, suites and private cottages. Expect casual accommodations in a relaxed atmosphere with a beachy flip-flop ambiance! Kids love this "Unique Family Resort" featuring a 60-foot waterslide, kiddie pool, beach volleyball, basketball goal, game rooms, playground, poolside bingo and free recreation program providing beachside fun for all ages! Work out in a complimentary fitness room or jog on 23 miles of scenic beach, then relax in a sauna or an oceanfront hut tub. Enjoy indoor and outdoor heated pools, spacious oceanfront sundecks. The Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sun Viking Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Viking Hotel Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing