We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's eating you?”
Review of Sun Viking Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Viking Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2017

We have stayed at the Sun Viking for several years and up until this visit we have always enjoyed our stay. This year was different. The first thing we noticed was that our room had no ocean view. This was perhaps my fault for getting the room overlooking the indoor pool. It would have been nice if the person making our reservation had mentioned this. The room was nice but something would bite us at night. At first it was only my wife and daughter, but latter on I too was bitten. It got so bad that we bought some OFF Insect repellent to spray down with at night. I have never encountered this before in any of our previous stays. I also noticed some cockroaches when we would flip on the lights in the morning. This too I have never encountered. I was also not happy with the way the staff allowed children to dive from the sides of the pool. It made it almost impossible to float or swim in either pool. I guess I am getting too old to enjoy the children but there are signs everywhere telling them no diving. I think we may try a new motel for our next stay as things have apparently become a little lax.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view do not choose the rooms with an indoor pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank robertlK1808SE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you for sending in your concerns on your most recent stay. We sincerely appreciate that you have been a repeat guest for several years – we truly value your loyalty and we are so sorry that we disappointed you and your family.

I am sorry that you were not happy with the room your reserved. All guests that book directly with us receive a confirmation with an exact description of the room they have selected. We try our very best to inform a guest PRIOR to arrival of the type room they have reserved. The description that was on your confirmation reads:
Plan #04E: Garden Pool-View Kitchen - 2 Queen Beds - Room and Balcony Overlooks Enclosed Indoor Garden Pool

I apologize that you saw roaches in your room, so I can certainly understand why you would be upset. Although this is not an excuse, when you live in Florida, bugs can occasionally get in. If a hotel in Florida says they have never had a bug in their rooms, they are not telling you the truth. Most of our rooms have full kitchens and many guests, are not aware that if food it left out on the counters or crumbs are dropped on the floors and carpets, it will attract ants or roaches. In addition, many of our guests prop their entry doors open to enjoy the sun on chairs in front of their rooms which allows unexpected visitors (bugs) to enter the room. We have owned the Sun Viking Lodge for over 46 years and occasionally, bugs can get in. To help address this issue, we have a national pest control service treat all rooms monthly, and when a guest informs us that they have seen a bug, we contact them immediately to inspect and treat the room if needed.

I apologize that you did not enjoy floating in the pool. Many times, children are just having fun. We will review our policy with the pool staff about children jumping or diving from the side of the pool to help resolve this issue.

Again, we are so sorry that you had this experience – it certainly disappoints us, that we disappointed you. Thank you again for sharing your comments – we sincerely hope you will consider giving us another try however, if you decide to go elsewhere, there are many great hotels & motels in Daytona Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017

Friendly staff, clean rooms. Great resort activities. The Wi-Fi needs to be improved. We couldn't connect while in the bedroom. We either had to sit in the kitchen/living area or out on balcony. I will return though!

Room Tip: room 506 is large and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rachel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review on your recent stay with us.

We are happy to read the you found the Sun Viking Lodge had, in your words, a “friendly staff and clean rooms” – thank you! We are blessed with wonderful employees and we get many compliments on them all the time – we sincerely appreciate your kind words.

We are glad to see that you and your family felt that we offer “great resort activities” – all our guests love our 60-foot waterslide, game rooms, basketball goal, kiddie pool, playground, fitness room & sauna, and of course our free Activity Program which offers games and competitions for all ages.

We are sorry that you did not have a strong Wi-Fi signal in your bedroom – we are currently working on improving this issue; however, we are happy to read your signal was much better in the living room and on your balcony.

Thank you again for sending in your review – we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

My wife and kids have stayed at this Hotel since 1992, they have always been awesome, especially for young families, would recommend highly!! They have a great staff, planned activities for the kids, water slide, and all the usual goodies!

Room Tip: Pool garden view rooms are awesome, huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patbettin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to send in your very kind review. It is always such a nice compliment to receive a kind review from a loyal returning guest who has vacationed here year after year – it certainly warms our hearts, thank you!

We are happy to read your words when you say that the Sun Viking Lodge is a “family jewel” and that we have a “great staff” – this is very kind of you to say and we sincerely appreciate it.

It is nice to read that you and your family find our hotel “family friendly & fun” - we have always specialized in families and couples offering “kids of all ages” FREE fun things to do.

We place a very high value on families connecting. In this hectic world of hand held devices, non-stop video games and fast-paced schedules, what is most important to us is that families “slow down” and “connect” with each other. What children will remember most is spending time with their families – memories that will last their lifetime! All our free amenities provide daily fun for the WHOLE family and spending fun time together is what we feel counts the most! We are also glad you enjoyed all our free "family-friendly activities" which are designed for kids of all ages – meaning kids, adults & seniors! Our Activity program is offered 7-days per week Memorial Day through Labor Day and 5-days per week the balance of the year.

Thank you again for your loyalty and kind words – we all hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

This was our second year staying here as a family and loved it again! The slide and the pool were again a huge hit with our kids and the easy access to the beach was my favorite! The staff were all very friendly and the room was clean and well equipped for our needs. Our A/C went out a couple of days before we left and they had someone come up immediately and look at it. We ended up getting it replaced shortly thereafter. From the time we reported it until they were done replacing it was no more than a half an hour! Great service!

Thank you again Sun Viking Lodge for halping make our family vacation a great time!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank BeachSunSand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to send in your kind review and for you and your family being a Sun Viking Lodge returning family. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your recent stay and that feel that you had, in your words, “another great vacation!” – thank you!

It is nice to see that you found your room was “clean” and that you feel that our oceanfront location provides you with “easy access to the beach” – our beautiful coastline is always enjoyable and it’s always amazing to see the tropical blue waters, white sandy beach and soaring seabirds – all our guests love it too!

We are glad to see that you feel we have “great service” – we have great employees who love our guests just as much as we do! Thank you for the nice compliment on their service.

Again, we sincerely appreciate your kind words and we all look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next visit to our beautiful beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Great place for a family. Playground, kiddie pool, indoor pool and outdoor pool with slide. They also have a game room, basketball, corn hole volleyball & hot tube. They also have grills and refreshment stand with breakfast and lunch items. Great location, rooms with kitchens, everything you need for a family vacation. Can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to send in your recent review and for rating the Sun Viking Lodge so high in the categories of Value, Sleep Quality and Service.

We are happy to read that you feel that our beachfront hotel offers, in your words, a “great family location” and is a “great place for a family” – we sincerely appreciate you kind words.

We are glad that you and your family enjoyed all our free amenities including our daily activity program designed for “kids of all ages” (kids and adults), playground, kiddie pool, indoor pool and outdoor heated pools, 60-ft. waterslide, game rooms with Wii & Xbox games, basketball goal, corn hole, volleyball, fitness room, sauna & hot tub.

Many of our guests would agree with you, they too enjoy outdoor cooking on our outdoor grills which are free to use. The also enjoy a casual poolside breakfast or lunch at our Viking Kafe which offers walk-up service and is open from mid-February through Labor Day each year.

It is nice to read that you enjoyed having one of our rooms with a fully equipped kitchen; all who have kids would agree . . . sure makes life a lot easier!

Thank you again for your review . . . we consider you our friends and friends are always welcome at the Sun Viking Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach Shores hotels
0.6 km away
Best Western Aku Tiki Inn
Best Western Aku Tiki Inn
#3 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,025 reviews
4.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express and Suites O...
#9 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
834 reviews
1.6 km away
Bahama House
Bahama House
#4 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#7 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,473 reviews
3.5 km away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Ocea...
#2 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,483 reviews
0.4 km away
Hawaiian Inn
Hawaiian Inn
#23 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Viking Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Viking Lodge

Address: 2411 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach Shores, FL 32118-5400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach Shores
#5 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach Shores
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach Shores
Price Range: RM372 - RM862 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Viking Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun Viking Lodge, located oceanfront in Daytona Beach, 2017 thru 2011 Award of Excellence Award Winner and Florida's only Winner of the 2012 Trip Advisor "Family Travel Award" for Small Hotels - offers spacious guest rooms, kitchenettes, suites and private cottages. Expect casual accommodations in a relaxed atmosphere with a beachy flip-flop ambiance! Kids love this "Unique Family Resort" featuring a 60-foot waterslide, kiddie pool, beach volleyball, basketball goal, game rooms, playground, poolside bingo and free recreation program providing beachside fun for all ages! Work out in a complimentary fitness room or jog on 23 miles of scenic beach, then relax in a sauna or an oceanfront hut tub. Enjoy indoor and outdoor heated pools, spacious oceanfront sundecks. The Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sun Viking Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Viking Hotel Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing