We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing view!”
other travellers have booked this property
Cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin
Mt Blackburn from Deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Cabin
Mt Blackburn from Deck
Kennioctt from Deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
rbcrsh
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing view!”
Reviewed 17 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This cabin has a million dollar view! You can see the entire valley, glaciers,and the Kennicott Mine without standing up from the chairs on the deck. The cabin itself was great for a couple or small family. Has everything you need considering you are in a remote location (no wifi and limited cell coverage which is good if you are trying to disconnect).

The owner Dan and the property manager Pat were both super responsive. Pat was a great guide as well showing us all the local hangouts and happenings.

The only small downside was the living room was a bit bright at night, mostly from the front door window at peak summer daylight in the middle of June as I was sleeping on the cot (which was very comfortable). The bedroom itself was plenty dark. Small potatoes in the big picture, as we loved the place. Would certainly come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2017
Thanks for the review, Appreciate knowing you got to see the view.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benvr
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I travel to Anchorage frequently for work and have frequently heard numerous pilot friends talk about enjoying flying their families and friends into McCarthy for day and overnight visits to the Kennicott mine and the surrounding Wrangle-St. Elias park and wilderness area. After reading up on the town's history I was too intrigued to not visit last trip. Fortunately I found this cabin on TripAdvisor!

The cabin is neat and well appointed. Remarkably comfortable for it's size. Propane appliances make it easy and intuitive to enjoy. It was great to be able to scramble eggs, make cocoa and hot tea as well as enjoy a brief hot shower. The breakfast part of the B&B is essentially a nice small assortment of oatmeal, granola bars, coffee/tea and whatever might be in the fridge. During our stay there was milk and eggs as well as fruit in the fridge. Pretty nice spread but don't expect a hot breakfast unless you are providing some ingredients and the culinary expertise.

The views around the cabin are gorgeous. Amazing proper and a brilliant little cabin in the woods. The only downside is the distance from town. It would be quite a walk - doable but it would take time. It would be a PERFECT stay with the addition of 2-3 bicycles available for guests to use to get to and from "downtown" McCarthy. That would make it a very good value as well. Something I hope the owner will consider. I hope to stay again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronen R
1 review
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I do not have enough words to describe that cabin. Firstly, McCarthy itself is just beautiful. It is tiny but amazing! The trips starting from there to the glaciers and the views all around are just the best in Alaska. And yes, no doubt that this small cabin is the best place to stay in McCarthy. I just couldn't believe my eyes... It's a bit far away from the center of town but it's sure worth it. The cabin is spotless, modern, cozy, it has a nice hot shower, a kitchen full of all the small details you can imagine and the view from the porch is just outstanding. It's so comfortable, romantic and has a 5 star feeling all over. Moreover, Dan, the owner, just went out of his way to make us feel at home. He offered to take us anywhere we wanted, at any time, waited for us when we wanted to go back to the cabin and even guided us all around the area. I am not sure that I ever met anyone nicer than him! He was just there for us whenever we needed anything. He really treated us just like his own family but still gave us all the privacy we needed. It is really the perfect place to stay in McCarthy and you will thank me for ever if you go there.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrique H...
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Thank you very much. We are very happy to have met you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
896thomas
Saxony-Anhalt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
Thomas,

Thanks for your review and comments. Guests who come to the Wrangell Mountains find that it is indeed a wilderness place. Every business runs on its own power. There is no power company. We use generator power and am transitioning to solar power for next year. All appliances are propane whch means our cabin can run without a lot of electricity. Summer days/mights are almost all light so the only electricity needs are some lights, heater, coffee pot, and cell phone chargers.

When it comes to internet service it is very limited unless you have a Verizon, Sprint, or old ACS phone. If you have them you can use the phone and get data for free off a new tower installed. There is a wifi hot spot in McCarthy, but it has limited band width. You pay for that and you get bumped a lot as it only handles a few users per password. We have our own password that guests can use so they don't get bumped. None of the hotels/cabins have internet access as the data plans are very expensive. A lot of foreign guests want to skype which just uses too much data and is cost prohibitive. Also their phones are CDMA phones and they won't work off the tower so your only choice is the local wifi hot spot. Compared to as little as five years ago, the area is living in data/phone luxury due to new towers installed by the phone company.

Thanks again, Thomas .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing