We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace & Quiet”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kilmore Quay, County Wexford

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

adamjuliu...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peace & Quiet”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Enjoyed our stay in Scar. The cottage is tastefully decorated, designed and equipped with all you would need for domestic living. Comfortable, warm and peaceful. Our caretaker Kay was very welcoming and is a real asset, lighting the fire and getting us settled. The local area is worth time exploring and I could have done another couple of weeks just to begin. Planning another visit has already started.

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Solid built old cottage modernised for comfort in quiet countryside location
Liked least: Fire does not draw brilliantly and needs some attention
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage .
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BennyC524
Kilcolgan, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A little gem; the perfect get-away...”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Scar Bridge Cottage for a long weekend. Sorry we did not book for a full week. If you like olde world charm this is it. Open fire, timber lofted ceilings, converted outbuildings into fun and games, a big garden with apple trees. Just wonderful. Our children loved it, our dog loved it, we loved it. 20 minutes to Wexford town which is a great Irish town to visit with narrow quaint streets, good restaurants, an excellent waterfront. Plenty of attractions from Johnstown Castle, Dunbrody, Hook Head Lighthouse and excellent beaches. Kilmore Quay is 5-10 min drive and well worth it for a few nice restaurants and a fabulous fish take away.

The owners of Scar Bridge Cafe are careful about the property and it shows. The caretaker is equally careful about making you feel welcome. When we arrived, Kay had the house spotless, a big fire on and the house was just totally welcoming.

Highly recommend Scar Bridge Cottage for family holidays in the sunny south-east of Ireland.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the ambiance of the house and child entertainment.
Liked least: Fire smokes a little and quite a few spiders around the exterior of the windows.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2014
Thank you !
yes we love the charm you find in older buildings that was what attracted us to it initially !
We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday ..and yes by all means book for longer next time ..we'd love to welcome you back !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus C
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best location for our trip to the Ploughing in New Ross”
Reviewed 4 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I, my wife, my business partner, his wife and two adult children travelled to Wexford in Late September to attend the National Ploughing Championships, held in 2012 in Heathpark, not far from New Ross.

We were looking at our options in June for the event, because we were launching our new website to do with farming at it. The options weren't inspiring, B&Bs, hotels, and hostel accommodation. A friend offered a holiday home the 'wrong' side of the bridge in New Ross and that gave us the idea - what about a holiday home - best option ever.

Kate's place was the perfect fit for us as a group, and it allowed us time to wind down every evening and relax in comfort (and some style). We were very tired each night, and joy of an open fire and functioning central heating was a real bonus for tired feet and limbs.

Beds were comfortable, kitchen well kitted out, and although we weren't the target audience, we can see that the extensive grounds would be perfect for families to really get into the country feel. The stream at the end of the garden would clearly have made for a tranquil paradise in the summer; perhaps we'll come again then next year.

In summing up: we went to use the house in a very functional way - a place to sleep and recharge every day; but, we were very pleased that it was such a pleasant place to do this in: I would recommend Scar Bridge Cottage to everyone.

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it exists
Liked least: That we were too wrecked to really take advantage of it.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2012
Thank you , Im delighted your stay at Scar Bridge Cottage was a success for you and you colleagues - we hope to welcome you back when you have time to relax more !! Best of luck with your new website!
Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyke2Trav...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Secluded and cosy”
Reviewed 16 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a long weekend during the easter hols. Lovely place right by babbling stream, tons of space outdoors for kids to play. Inside the house is very comfortable and cosy. Kate the very helpful owner emailed great list of activities and places to eat in the area. Highly recommend using the Aga to cook everything but especially pizzas! Don't miss the soda bread from the deli on the road into Kilmore and great seafood from the fishing co-op..

Date of stay: April 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen with Aga and old fashioned radio.
Liked least: Slightly small bedrooms.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2012
many thanks for your feedback - we're delighted you enjoyed your stay so much.We love the privacy and the space for our kids to enjoy too.
I agree too , its marvelous being surrounded by excellent local organic suppliers - next time you come try the breaded "caught today" monkfish from the fish takeaway in Kilmore Quay !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“school holidays.”
Reviewed 28 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

what a fabulous place to stay, cosy and warm, comfortable beds with lovely fresh bedding, large garden to play in and the stream at the bottom, open fire which we used on a couple of occasions. we had a fantastic and relaxing time. Kate seems to have thought of everything and on the days when we had rain there were games to play and films to watch. The Aga was fun and easy to use and we cooked with the herbs available in the garden. Scar Bridge is ideally placed for trips out and we visited some lovely places i.e. Dollar Bay, Sandeel Bay, Bannow Drive with the most gorgeous beech at the end, Kilmore Quay.

Date of stay: October 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: care and attention given to property to make it so homely.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2012
many thanks - it really is great to hear you all enjoyed your stay in our cottage !We like to visit ourselves when we can throughout the year so am glad it worked for you as it does for us in any weather !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Malaysia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.