We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Hamadryade Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hamadryade Lodge
Ranked #6 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Tena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

This is an eco lodge so if you are expecting a full resort this is not the place to be. Food is amazing and healthy, you can clearly tel they care about the community and their workers-you don't see that too often. Pretty amazing experience beautiful place. We did not speak much Spanish and they helped talk to the taxis to get us around. Loveee this place. Would give ten stars if I could

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maëva U, Gérant at Hamadryade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Many thanks for your kindness Anna and Wayne. It was a pleasure to meet you. We hope that your stay in Ecuador will remain unforgettable.

If you ever need more information for your future stays do not hesitate to contact me (Peru, Ecuador, ...).

I hope your recovery has gone well.


We send you lot of positives energies from the Amazon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017

Amazing place with great people and food, where you can become fully connected in nature while enjoying European comfort.
We will return and highly suggest the lodge to our traveling family and friends.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mltribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

Great place to get away from it all. Really nice lodgings in the middle of the jungle - the builders did a great job. Very tranquil and run by a nice lady with a couple of friendly dogs lying around. A 4x4 is definitely recommended for the track to the road

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny_R2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

The road to this difficult to find hotel was closed and no one contacted us before to let us know about this, so it took us 1 hour extra to arrive since we had to take an alternative route.

When we eventually arrived to check in at 2pm, there was no one at the hotel and very vicious dogs chasing us away. We tried to call and searched the whole hotel (with these dogs chasing us), but there was no one to greet us. There was no wifi or cell connectivity so we couldnt call our travel agent or the hotel. We waited for 40 minutes for someone to arrive at the hotel, and we eventually left. We felt unsafe and were unable to check in. Finally, when we went into town 20 minutes away, we were able to call the hotel. One of the French staff, a female, answered and met us at the cafe we were waiting at. She was rude and dismissive about our experience. She even told us that we should have stopped running away from the dogs to let them calm down. Basically, she blamed us for the mean dogs on the property. After this experience, we didn't feel safe returning to the hotel, and left the city since there were no other hotels with good reviews in the region. We expect a 100% refund since we were unable to check in.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Lindsey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maëva U, Gérant at Hamadryade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Above all, we wish to apologize for this misunderstanding.
It is true that we have dogs at the lodge, which avoids wild animals from approaching too much. However these dogs are not aggressive with man.
We were never notified of your reservation and never received your deposit of money to confirm the booking. Unfortunately, you have never deposited the amount of your stay, which is why nobody was present when you arrived. Sometimes we are taken out of the lodge (only when we do not have a reservation).
We are still sorry for this adventurous adventure. Next time it would be wise to phone and confirm your reservation.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017

The place is incredibly beautiful and the lodge is clearly built with great taste. That being said I only recommend this to adults or families with older kids. We brought our 2 year old with us and due to their meal schedule and decor, it was hard to relax.

You do not get to choose what you want to eat, they have a set menu, and though they kind of tried to be accommodating, Maeva, the administrator, was more than once surprised at the fact that we wanted to dine 'early' (7pm) due to the fact that our child goes to bed at 8pm.

The phone in our room didn't work, neither did the hot water for the shower (they tried to fix it but never did accomplish it), and the wifi, although present, never worked. If I had wanted a low-key jungle eco-lodge, I would have chosen one, but for the amount of money I paid, I expected more.

We left a day earlier than planned, and although we gave Maeva notice of our leaving the night before, she only had a handwritten note of our expenses, not an invoice. We received a 20% reimbursement for leaving early, and took off.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank FCTCBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tena
12.7 km away
Hotel Los Yutzos
Hotel Los Yutzos
#1 of 3 in Tena
58 reviews
19.7 km away
Anaconda Lodge Ecuador
0.8 km away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 km away
Hakuna Matata Amazon Lodge
12.9 km away
Terra Luna Lodge
Terra Luna Lodge
#21 of 34 in Tena
21 reviews
30.6 km away
Yacuma Ecolodge
Yacuma Ecolodge
#11 of 34 in Tena
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamadryade Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamadryade Lodge

Address: Via Misahualli km 11, Tena, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Napo Province > Tena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Tena
Price Range: RM 689 - RM 3,036 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamadryade Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamadryade Lodge is a luxurious hotel located in the High Amazon region, near Puerto Misahualli. This ecosystem, even if it is still the Amazonian Rainforest, is very different that the one in Lower regions. We are at 500mts altitude with hills and small mountains. Therefore, the climate remains pleasant all year round (24°C in average), and the absence of swamps allows an easier access to the more remote zones of Primary Rainforest, and of course the most positive consequence, is that we do not suffer from the presence of mosquitoes and Malaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hamadryade Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamadryade Hotel Tena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing