We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Woodside of Glasslaw Guest House(Stonehaven)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BayView Bed & Breakfast(Stonehaven)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shorehead Guesthouse(Stonehaven)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (552)
Filter reviews
552 results
Traveller rating
244
206
77
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
206
77
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubharbour viewgreat foodmixed grillmusselswould stay againnice roomdunnottar castlelovely locationsit outsidecullen skinkold harbourcooked to perfectionone night stayexcellent breakfastfull scottish breakfastsea
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 552 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed August 22nd for the night while visiting Dunnottar Castle on my itinerary. Staff were very nice, room was very clean, king size bed was very comfortable and I slept great. My night was very quiet and breakfast was served with my nights stay and was great! I have no complaints from my stay and would definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank 132Karen132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Owner at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear 132Karen132 Thank you so much for the great feedback! It's nice to know how much you appreciated the breakfast - we think this is a really important part of any hotel visit, and we put a lot of effort into it. No hot buffets or self service - it's all cooked fresh to order. Thanks again for recommending us to others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

The ship's inn was a great place to stay during our trip to stonehaven. We walked there from the train station (20 minutes) and were so happy to see that the ship's inn was right in the harbour. Our room was located above the bar but noise was not an issue. Our window looked out on the harbour and the water was a stone's throw away! Highly recommended

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank emmabY95WY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Owner at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear emmabY95WY That view really is something special isn't it? Most of our rooms have a harbour view and it really is wonderful to pull back the curtains in the morning and look out over the water. Thank you so much for recommending us to others. We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, and hope it will not be your last stay at The Ship.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Stayed one night. Lovely romantic hotel on the harbour. Pub was busy and inviting. Food good. Staff friendly. Perfect spot from which to explore Dunnotar castle. Make sure you do the walk! Not much to do in town, but there is a local free entry "museum" which housed a pile of curiousities, including a short video introducing us to the unique local custom of fireball spinning.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Troy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Owner at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Troy H Thank you so much for your five-star review for The Ship - we were delighted to host you during your visit to Stonehaven. You are right - the walk up to Dunnottar Castle is fantastic and just the right length to build up an appetite for a meal by the time you arrive back at the harbour. Thank you sincerely for taking the time to leave feedback, and we hope we may welcome you back again in the future. You should come back for Hogmanay and see the fireballs in person!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

This place never disappoints great food. Mussels were plentiful and tasted great. my daughter loves going here and am told macaroni is amazing. The drink selection is great with them stocking my favourite gin porters what more could you ask for. Its a great place to sit and have a few drinks or a meal. When the sun is shining be sure to head down to sit outside with great views over the harbour.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank KimMacD86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Owner at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear KimMacD86 We aim to deliver great food - as much of it sourced as locally as possible - cooked to perfection every time, and we're delighted to hear you think we deliver on that! It's been great to see such an explosion in Scottish gin over the past couple of years ago, and we're always looking to expand our collection - so please come back soon and see what else we have added. Although we really do agree - Porters is a stunning wee gin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Great night, as always. Friendly atmosphere.
All round good pub - especially when the weather is nice and you can take your drinks outside and enjoy the sunshine.
Fantastic original menu with plenty to choose from.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cherelle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear cherelle g We totally agree! There is no better place to be on a warm, sunny day than sat outside The Ship with a cold drink in hand and that stunning view across the harbour. Thanks so much for visiting and for leaving such a great review - and for the lovely feedback about the staff which we will be sure to pass on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews