We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night stay september.”
Review of Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ship Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
Reviewed 18 September 2017

we were met in a very friendly and professional manner and shown to our lovely room with our own key and separate entrance,the location is excellent and so is the free parking right outside.would highly recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: if you are planning a longer stay try for a harbour view room.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank peterE6842HD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Owner at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear peterE6842HD, thank you do much for taking the time to write a review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and that you would recommend us to others. We hope to welcome you back to The Ship Inn in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed August 22nd for the night while visiting Dunnottar Castle on my itinerary. Staff were very nice, room was very clean, king size bed was very comfortable and I slept great. My night was very quiet and breakfast was served with my nights stay and was great! I have no complaints from my stay and would definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank 132Karen132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Owner at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear 132Karen132 Thank you so much for the great feedback! It's nice to know how much you appreciated the breakfast - we think this is a really important part of any hotel visit, and we put a lot of effort into it. No hot buffets or self service - it's all cooked fresh to order. Thanks again for recommending us to others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

The ship's inn was a great place to stay during our trip to stonehaven. We walked there from the train station (20 minutes) and were so happy to see that the ship's inn was right in the harbour. Our room was located above the bar but noise was not an issue. Our window looked out on the harbour and the water was a stone's throw away! Highly recommended

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank emmabY95WY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Owner at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear emmabY95WY That view really is something special isn't it? Most of our rooms have a harbour view and it really is wonderful to pull back the curtains in the morning and look out over the water. Thank you so much for recommending us to others. We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, and hope it will not be your last stay at The Ship.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Stayed one night. Lovely romantic hotel on the harbour. Pub was busy and inviting. Food good. Staff friendly. Perfect spot from which to explore Dunnotar castle. Make sure you do the walk! Not much to do in town, but there is a local free entry "museum" which housed a pile of curiousities, including a short video introducing us to the unique local custom of fireball spinning.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Troy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Owner at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Troy H Thank you so much for your five-star review for The Ship - we were delighted to host you during your visit to Stonehaven. You are right - the walk up to Dunnottar Castle is fantastic and just the right length to build up an appetite for a meal by the time you arrive back at the harbour. Thank you sincerely for taking the time to leave feedback, and we hope we may welcome you back again in the future. You should come back for Hogmanay and see the fireballs in person!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

This place never disappoints great food. Mussels were plentiful and tasted great. my daughter loves going here and am told macaroni is amazing. The drink selection is great with them stocking my favourite gin porters what more could you ask for. Its a great place to sit and have a few drinks or a meal. When the sun is shining be sure to head down to sit outside with great views over the harbour.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank KimMacD86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Owner at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear KimMacD86 We aim to deliver great food - as much of it sourced as locally as possible - cooked to perfection every time, and we're delighted to hear you think we deliver on that! It's been great to see such an explosion in Scottish gin over the past couple of years ago, and we're always looking to expand our collection - so please come back soon and see what else we have added. Although we really do agree - Porters is a stunning wee gin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonehaven
16.3 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
12.2 km away
Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel
18.4 km away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
BayView Bed & Breakfast
BayView Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 27 in Stonehaven
197 reviews
0.1 km away
Shorehead Guesthouse
Shorehead Guesthouse
#1 of 27 in Stonehaven
159 reviews
0.7 km away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#15 of 27 in Stonehaven
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Inn

Address: 5 Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
Price Range: RM566 - RM687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic (1771) inn with 11 luxurious en-suite bedrooms (7 with harbour views) - all with flat screen TV and free wi-fi. Comfortable 38 cover restaurant with spectacular views of picturesque harbour. Varied menu with seafood a specialty. All food home cooked using the finest locally sourced produce. Cosy bar with good choice of draft beers (including Real Ales), bottled beers, cider and soft drinks. Over 100 Single Malt whiskies. Wine by the glass and extensive wine list. Freshly ground coffee. Outside terrace with tables overlooking harbour. 20 minutes from Aberdeen - Oil Capital of Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Stonehaven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing