We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food”
Review of The Talbot

The Talbot
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 29/07
20:00
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Biddulph
Price range: US$8 - US$22
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Vintage Inn, country pub dining in the staffordshire countryside. Roaring log fires in winter, full table service outside dining in summer. Children welcome. Bookings online or via telephone.
Reviewed 1 June 2021

Food took over 2 hours to come, and drinks way longer than should have taken. Wasn’t even busy when we were seated.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank 259matteat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2021

259matteat, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at The Talbot. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

Always outstanding service and food. Couldn’t ask for anything more. Would highly recommend the lasagne

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank claudiashea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2021

The lasagne is a staff favourite too! We're not surprised you love it! Great to hear the service and food were outstanding. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

First time this year we returned to the Talbot
For a lovely meal. We have missed it so much. Didn’t get to go Christmas Day due to lockdown. The service was really good. We booked for this Friday.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Shell1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2021

Lovely to hear your feedback! We're pleased to see everyone so glad to be back and will see you again on Friday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2021

We have been regulars here for a while, obviously not for a while though , visited today with family and we’re so happy to be back, Claudia looked after us so well and we had a fabulous time , service and food were lovely , so glad to be back, see you again soon

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Thanks for the review we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and were glad to be back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2021

Very disappointing. The location and external facade were lovely but then it went downhill from thereon. We ate in the bar area as we had our dog with us. As far as we could observe we were the only ones eating in this area which may have been the reason why we were ignored for most of the evening. It took me to remind the waitress that we were still waiting after a hour and 15 minutes had elapsed. There was no one to ask us if we would like our drinks replenishing. When eventually we spoke with the supervisor to ask where our meals were within 10 seconds they appeared. It was obvious they had been waiting in the kitchen. We were offered a free drink as compensation but quite frankly when you have waited a year to go out for a nice meal you feel quite frustrated that these pubs cannot get their act together. Extremely disappointing.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank clarew174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Hi there, we will investigate this as a priority and apologise for your disappointment. We will discuss this with the team on shift and hope you will revisit to allow us to restore your faith in us. Have a good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Talbot also viewed

Biddulph, Stoke-on-Trent
Congleton, Cheshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.