We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“X really does mark the spot”
other travellers have booked this property
minimal design, maximum views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
minimal design, maximum views
Lounging at the X-spot Breakfast with a view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
minimal design, maximum views
Lounging at the X-spot
Breakfast with a view
land- and seascape, an Xspot!
modern eco comfort
views forever
Lounge....
Cliff top
Your hosts, Roger and Hilde
The unheated pool is shared with your hosts
Looking north from the open plan lounge
The view is always different
Located on top of the cliff
Sunset reflections
X-Spot, view at dusk from the deck
Pah Beach, Tryphena, Great Barrier Island
Harataonga Beach
Kaitoke Hot Pools, Great Barrier Island
Harataonga Beach, close up
Palmers Beach, Great Barrier Island
X-Spot, eco cliff house.
Mermaid pool, Kaitoke Beach, Great Barrier Island
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tryphena, Great Barrier Island, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
whiskers1...
whiskers13
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“X really does mark the spot”
Reviewed 14 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Just returned after four blissful days at X-Spot.
On arrival we were met by the friendly owner Hilde and her cat Puké who gave us a quick overview of the island and favourite spots.
The bach itself is amazing, the views are priceless. We saw dolphins and whales every night, Kakas, Kingfishers and Tui’s in the garden.
Great Barrier Island is defo worth a visit, would suit any type of travellers.
If you have specific dietary needs then do bring your own food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orcharlee
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“X marks the spot, the treasure that is XSPOT! Spot on!”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

XSPOT is where you should stay if:

1) You want comfort, space, and a home away from home, but with a far better view.
2) A well equipped kitchen, which is important if you’re self-catering
3) Friendly and helpful hosts that respect privacy.

Our time there, and on the island, will always be remembered fondly.

Thank you Hilde, Roger, Puki and Miguel (the 2 friendly cats)!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
Thanks for your wonderful review, Lee! It was a pleasure to have you and Helen stay, and make the most of what our island has to offer. I absolutely loved your photos! Hilde (Roger and the cats)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy B
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 27 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is one of those places one hates to review because you want to keep it a secret. But the hostess asked us to review, so here you go.

My wife and I stayed for four days and three nights. We had to tear ourselves away. The scenery is unbelievable, 270 degree view up and down the coast; vast expanse of the Hauraki Gulf, you can see Auckland when it's clear; whales and orcas (we only saw an orca); a fun and gracious hostess; and a cute kitty. The kitchen is complete, the bed luxurious, the accommodation spacious and elegant, essentially mind-blowing.

After a week teaching, I needed peace, quit, and beauty. X-Spot gets a 10 for each of these. I am an internet geek for a living, but did not ask for the wifi password.

Hints: You definitely need a 4WD to get there and out. Shop in Tryphena so you have food, because you will not want to go anywhere. Bring a few good books.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic accommodation and location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2016
Thanks for a wonderful review, Randy, and thanks to you both for the chats and the catnapping. I really enjoyed having you as our guests and thinking of you still brings a smile to my face, and to Pookie's, no doubt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghostviki...
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Paradise found”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The X-spot is off the beaten track in many ways. It is a long drive to get there, you should have a 4WD, but we had no trouble finding the place or driving the inclines with a Toyota RAV. But the isolation and breathtaking views are just what make this place one of a kind. We travelled New Zealand for seven weeks total, and spent time in so many beautiful places. But The X spot always comes to mind when thinking of the most special place we visited. Hilde and Roger are lovely hosts, never intrusive, and very friendly. The rest of the family are also great, and we enjoyed our conversations with them a lot. We had stunning weather for a week, which made the whole thing all the more special. It might be a bit boring if it is pouring down outside. We also missed blinds in the bedroom windows to keep the light out early morning. All in all this is highly recommended, not to be missed, it you want a one-of-a-kind stay on Great Barrier island, one of the best places in New Zealand all together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the people, the isolation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Thanks very much for your kind words. You were our first guests from Scandinavia, and Roger and I both really enjoyed having you stay. I do appreciate you comment about the curtains, but many of our guests love being able to see a star-filled night from the comfort of their bed. I promise we'll think about that one for your next visit, tho ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita H
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Amazing, beautiful, stunning - a real escape”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

X Spot was truly one of the most amazing places we have stayed. We spent our honeymoon there and had an amazing 10 days. The location is so beautiful, you feel like you've totally escaped, we left feeling absolutely relaxed and recharged. The property has everything you could possibly need to be comfortable. Couldn't recommend staying here more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
Thanks so much for your great review, Anita. It's so special to have honeymooners, and be part of an amazing memory! ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing