We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreamsUS$139
PricelineUS$139
Agoda.comUS$139
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
37
7
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
37
7
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews winter wonderland lodge dogs guide instructions snowmobile
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2019

Okay, if the sky is clear and polar lights do happen, then the (very expensive) sky cabin is super. Large windows for you to see the lights without going outside in the cold. If the sky is overcast or there are no northern lights, you overpay.
The cabin is smaller than the ordinary room, it is overheated and you cannot let fresh air come in unless you leave the door open. Plus, not really important but: No TV. And the lights are terrible. No reading light near the (small) sofa, no light in the kitchen.

The lodge is very nicely situated, in the forest at a lake. Lots to do, walking, skiing, snowshoeing and mushing. Unfortunately, we felt quite sorry for the 150 dogs. Kept in small kennels (winter and summer) they hardly get out except to pull sledges. It might look like they love to do this but I think, they would prefer just running instead of being held back by sledges and mushers standing on the break.
Besides, none of the dogs is older than maybe 13 years. WHAT DO THEY DO WITH THE OLD DOGS? Dont even think about it!

The food is, well, okay. Rather boring (soup for lunch and no choice for dinner).

Ok, last but not least, if you are German, you will LOVE the place. Of about 50 tourists, we were the only non-germans. So you're in Finland and in the morning people greet you with Moinmoin... Halloooo?
Even the staff speaks better german than english!

Room tip: Book an normal room.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saija_L0dge, Guest Relations Manager at Saija Oy, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2019

Hello Peter,
thank you for your feedback! We are sorry that you have experienced it that way. Unfortunately we are not able to book the overnights in Sky Cabins according to the weather conditions since they will usually be booked long before the arrival date. The Sky Cabins are offering more luxury than our rooms and therefore the price is also more expensive. The heating system can be adjusted. We can always help the guests how to do it. There is no TV for reason, with a thought that the sky will be offering enough show elements. Thanks also for the comment of lights. We will improve that. We appreciate you caring about our dogs. We do that too. The health of our dogs is very important to us and the kennel will be regularly checked by an external authority. When dogs are not working any more, they will naturally stay in our kennel with the other dogs. Our oldest dog is at the moment 15 years old. We warmly welcome you to visit us and our dogs soon again! We are pleased to serve both in English and in German.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

I spent a week at Saija with a friend and overall we both really enjoyed it but that was more to do with the scenery and the activities on offer than the inn itself.

We both loved the various dog sledding adventures and skidoo safari and the scenery was stunning. The accommodation is clean but pretty basic given how expensive it is to stay there and the food, while plentiful, was repetitive. Breakfast in particular was pretty much the same every day and given the temperature outside, a hot dish or two would have been nice.

Also all inclusive does not include snack and soft drinks like coke and lemonade, which are so rip-off expensive it makes your eyes water.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank SJG444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saija_L0dge, Guest Relations Manager at Saija Oy, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hello,
thank You for your message. It is nice to hear you enjoyed your stay here. We'll take notice of your feedback. Many warm Greetings to your friend too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

Brilliant in every way. 4 day husky trail with temperatures dropping to -25/30 so we skipped the iglo. Great staff, great food, great dogs, perfect gear supplied so tou only need to bring thermo underwear and normal clothes.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Leon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saija_L0dge, Guest Relations Manager at Saija Oy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thank you! Welcome again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

We had a fantastic 1week (winter) holiday at Saija. Excellent accomodation, delicious food, warm and friendly atmosphere, great outdoor activities with fabulous staff (husky dog sledge tours, snowshow trip, cross-country skiing, ski-doo ride, smoke sauna). Everybody who needs a get-away should visit Saija!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JanTaiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saija_L0dge, Guest Relations Manager at Saija Oy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Also we are glad that you enjoyed. Hope to see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

We camped in Saija the other day. The area is beautiful. Staff was friendly and dinner and breakfast was really good. Especially the dinner was heavenly.
I was really surprised that there were no showers available; you could only wash in a smoke sauna(outdoors). WHAT?!?!? I was told that there were showers in the apartments but it really doesn't help when you staying in a tent.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank niinan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews