We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
7
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
7
5
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2015

This hotel is very nice, in a beautiful region !
But the real secret of this hotel is its team !! They want to help you and make you feel confortable. You have a problem, it's not a problem !!!!
We were four, two adults two kids.
We wanted to go shopping, "no problem we drive you !"
We had to leave at 3 am the last day. Only for us they prepared our breakfast with direct delivery in our room !!!
Go Go Go !!
And kiitos to the team ("Than you")

Room tip: Ask for a suite.
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bemodu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

I've visited Hotel Herkko several times. It's a nice small hotel located at Taivalkoski minicipality in the Finnish Lapland. It suits well for those driving a snowmobile in Kuusamo, Posio, Pudasjärvi, and of course Taivalkoski area. After the active day, no matter were you skiing, downhill skiing, driving a snowmobile or nordic walking, sauna and mini-spa at Herkko have always felt luxurious treatments for sore muscles.

Hotel Herkko is only about ten minutes walk from the village but the village is very small. There are few groceries, a chemist's, and that's all. To my knowledge the only restaurant is at Herkko. It's alright serving simple Scandinavian food with Lappish touch.

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palooja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Herkko again for my summer vacation. Im pleased to say that the standard is still as excellent in the quieter summer months as it was in the winter. I hiked for two days covering 37km from Taivalvaara to Kylmaluoma. There are shelters that you can use on route which are stocked with firewood for you to use on the designated fireplaces so you can cook your own food. It gives you a greater feeling of being part of the wilderness. You can also camp in these areas. The route is well marked with orange markers on the trees and signs are at certain points giving clear indication of which direction and distances. I didnt meet another hiker so no worries about it being too busy. The trail is a mixture of woodland path through silver birch, forest tracks through red pine, alongside lake edges and on duckboards through vast areas of swamp. The wildlife is abundant, small and large - from frogs to reindeer and all kinds of birds. Quite a challenging trail in as far as distance and remoteness with a heavy backpack but could be extended to more days. Im wishing I had taken a fishing rod with me too. I could have spent hours fishing at the many lakes enroute and cooked them over the open fire for tea. Daylight 24/7 too allowing for an easier day and not getting caught out by the dark. The Hotel Herkko kindly offered to pick me up at Kylmaluoma and take me back to the hotel. A satisfying hike giving you a greater feeling for the remoteness and hidden wilderness areas of Taivalkoski. I took Iso-Syote-Taivalvaara-Kylmaluoma map 1:50 000 with me which I managed to get on-line although the hotel had the same map but a more up to date version if needed.

Date of stay: July 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudeH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2020 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews