We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meals, superior service☺”

RIZcafe - Fish restaurant
Ranked #4 of 381 Restaurants in Lido di Ostia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$62
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Nestled amongst the marina, this excellent upscale restaurant hosted our Overseas Adventure Travel on our last night in Italy, escorted by Gaia the Super Guide (depicted in accompanying photo). I was pleased that our group was positioned in a corner with glass walls providing incredible views of the marina & Mediterranean. Our group was welcomed with a glass of sparkling wine, and a pre-selected array of starters arrived shortly after we were seated—steamed mussels, I recall. Multiple courses followed, each succulent. Since the tour company included this farewell dinner, I can’t speak of price as I didn’t peruse a menu. Everything I had, however, was excellent. Superior service by friendly staff enhances the dining experience.

Although this is promoted as a seafood restaurant, there are other items not of the fishy kind. Two group members had seafood allergies and they were assured that their meals were prepared with utensils not used for water creatures. Overall, this was an excellent choice to end perhaps the most enjoyable and educational tour I’ve experienced. If only there was a RIZ Café in Orlando☺

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DeanMurphy2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIZcafe, Proprietario at RIZcafe - Fish restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dean,

thanks so much for your nice feedback, we really appreciated it and we enjoyed hosting you and the rest of he team.

Well..... RIZcafè in Orlando may be sooner or later, you never know.... :-)

Have a save trip back home and thanks again!

Giorgio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

Local restaurant with genuine cuisine and friendly personnel.
Just in the peer facing the sea.
Food and wine was ok.
Price are correct.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Osvaldo363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIZcafe, Proprietario at RIZcafe - Fish restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Osvaldo,

thanks a lot for visiting us, I am glad you appreciated our restaurant and enjoyed the dinner.

Looking forward to host you soon again, kind regards, Giorgio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Genuine personal atmosphere and food and drink of top quality. We spent three evenings here and will gladly come back!

Thank Lena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIZcafe, Proprietario at RIZcafe - Fish restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Lena,

thanks so much for you kind feedback and for visiting us so frequently :-).

Really hope to host you again soon. Kind regards from RIZcafè!

Giorgio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
23
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

No one really speaks English. They got our order wrong twice, and we finally ate whatever they put in front of us. Will not return. Poor experience.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIZcafe, Proprietario at RIZcafe - Fish restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear unknown client (yes, I see Anonymous tripadvisor user, so cannot refer you with a name), thank for your feedback. "Unfair or very poor" is the most appropriate name for your comments:
1) I do speak English and most of the waiters at the RIZcafè speak English, it may not be perfect but in many years we never had issues related to foreign languages, considering also that the Menu is written in English and it is very difficult to make mistakes.
2) What did you order and WHY you ate what you received? You speak about poor experience, I speak about very poor description, no way to provide any answer to explain our position.
3) I was there: did not receive any comment or escalation, it would have been very easy to manage.

I am very sorry to find myself in such a bad mood but unfair comments simply get unfair answers: feel free not to return, unfortunately we do believe we should have skipped this experience with you too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Great location, literally inches away from the sea. A skilfully selected menu for real gourmets. Octopus salad to write home about. Good service, prices at par with what you get

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BlitzSaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIZcafe, Proprietario at RIZcafe - Fish restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thanks so much for your kind feedback, really really appreciated.

Looking forward to host you soon again.

All the best, Giorgio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RIZcafe - Fish restaurant also viewed

Lido di Ostia, Province of Rome
Lido di Ostia, Province of Rome
 
Lido di Ostia, Province of Rome
Lido di Ostia, Province of Rome
 
Lido di Ostia, Province of Rome
Lido di Ostia, Province of Rome
 

Been to RIZcafe - Fish restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing