We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Antica Valle(Palaia)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Fattoria di Colleoli(Palaia)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Agrit. Podere le Tombe(Palaia)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany(Palaia)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Partino di Palaia(Partino)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Lena(Palaia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
32
15
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
15
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

We were charmed by this spacious b&b located in a very old and quite grand building. The furniture and rooms are beautiful. They give you the choice of many lovely rooms to, eg, sit and read with a cup of tea. We put our bottles and prosciutto in their fridge and made ourselves at home. The bed is very comfortable and the shower top-notch. Windows all have amazing views of the Tuscan landscape seen from the height of a medieval hill town.
Palaia is an old-world place with very quaint shops, tbh not for tourists. But it's a lot of fun to be off the beaten track.
There's a choice of good-value, authentic restaurants.
Day trip to Volterra highly recommended - as is this place to stay. We plan to return.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Becca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Greeted by the very friendly Violetta on arrival who showed us to our room upstairs. 3 storeys up, but lift available which we used to take our bags up. Very pleased with our room which was roomy also another little room adjacent for our use, with a single bed. All furnishings are antiques and wall decor. in the rooms we saw were painted fresco style. You could spend days just looking at the various objects lying around in the shared communal areas. If you can read Italian there is plenty of old books to read. We felt the garden could do with a little bit more care, but as it was getting colder in the day we did not use it.
Breakfast consisted of bread, meats, cheese, cake and fruits. Juice available and coffee at the push of a button at leisure once you have been shown how to use the machine. At least five excellent Restaurants to chose from in the town.
There is a clock tower and this rings every hour and does this twice. Yes! at midnight 12 then 5 minutes later 12 more. Apparently it was a system to ensure workers got up at the right time in the morning. We got used to it though.
The private parking is an absolute boom. Easy to access and secure.
Palaia is a beautiful place to stay with major places to visit close by. Pisa 40km and Volterra 20km. Also Ideal for those early flights from Pisa International. We will certainly be back and use it for our last few days of the main holiday.

Room Tip: Try to get the room at the top with views on two sides.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2014

what a lovely treat to stay here. Every room was unique and the place was a maze. Got lost constantly in the building but was so fun. The hot tub was out of order which was a shame. The breakfast was amazzzzzzzing. The town takes about 5 minutes to walk through. And the clock tower bells ring all night. So if you are a light sleeper you will go crazy. The bar across the street serves great food and drinks a good prices.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank wendylifejunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at Leones for a second year in a row. We can't say enough about the accommodations, and especially the very friendly and excellent service from Violeta and her two daughters. Manuela and Violeta were very accommodating with our schedule during the three weeks that we stayed there. The town folk in Palaia remembered us and were very friendly - including buying us drinks at the local pub.

Palaia is in central Tuscany and is a great location for day trips to Florence, Siena, Volterra, Pontedera, Lucca, and Pisa.

We will definitely be returning to Leones during our next trip to Italy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Silver154990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

An absolutely stunning house in a lovely village in the Tuscan hills. The rooms were beautiful and host very warm and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious and decadent and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeckieL1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews