We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bradford Inn(East Gwillimbury)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
43
10
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
10
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbare oaksmy wifehot tubthe ownerlooking forwardall agesmini golfno problemnew friendsnext yearintro videooutdoor poolmany timesperfect placewonderful experiencefirst timerswhole family
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2017

This was our first trip to a naturist resort with our children. We chose Bare Oaks because it was only a 7 hour drive for us and we wanted to visit specifically for family weekend so there would be more children for our kids to play with. We couldn't have made a better choice. The resort was clean, everything was accessible, and the people were so nice. We met many other families and had an awesome weekend. There were so many activities for the children to participate in. The owner and staff were top notch, very helpful and accommodating. The restaurant is run very well with wonderful staff and the food was great. The only thing that was a slight problem were the mosquitos, due to the extra wet weather Canada got this summer. But even then, the park took action to help combat this problem all around the resort. If you've ever thought about visiting a naturist resort with your family, this is the place you want to go. You will be glad you did. We can't wait for next year's schedule to come out. We will be one of the first families to book our stay for family weekend next year.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gymnosophist, Owner at Bare Oaks Family Naturist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thank you so much Matt for all the kind words. I'll be sure to pass it along to the team who works so hard to make Bare Oaks a delightful place. It truly warms our hearts to see all those children growing up in an environment that will give them a much better sense of self and a healthier view of the human body than what is found in our general society.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Being new to naturism, my boyfriend and I decided to visit Bare Oaks last year over the Labour Day weekend. We did visit another naturist resort, and we embraced the lifestyle. However, when we arrived at Bare Oaks, we were so impressed with the park. We loved the environment, the amenities and the people there. After the winter thaw, we decided we would become members, and come as much as we can throughout the warmer weather. To date, we have visited 8 times, all day trips, and we enjoyed ourselves. We are currently looking for a trailer and make Bare Oaks our second home.

Room Tip: Many options to choose from: camp, rent a room or a cabin.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TigerSarah24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gymnosophist, Owner at Bare Oaks Family Naturist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you so much Sarah for taking the time to share your experience. We really appreciate the great rating and the many compliments! The team works hard to create an excellent naturist experience so they very much appreciate the positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

Ever since our first visit seven years ago, this has been our first choice for our family's weekend getaways and vacations!

Even when we were new to naturism, we all felt very comfortable here. The changes in our outlook towards others and ourselves has surprised me. I have never felt more respectful of myself and everyone else I meet. Seeing all this confidence and acceptance in my children has been a beautiful experience.

I would suggest anyone with a curiosity about naturism visit this well run park.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gymnosophist, Owner at Bare Oaks Family Naturist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you Leslie for the great review and rating! It is very gratifying to see families enjoying themselves because we know that naturism provides benefits to children raised as naturists.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Beautiful park if it is dry weather. Nice swimming pool area. Restaurant has good food. Roads are awful. Slick and mud filled. poorly maintained. Hot tub seems to be down a lot. Grounds are nice and spacious

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank oddfellow123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gymnosophist, General Manager at Bare Oaks Family Naturist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. However, winter is a very difficult time to maintain dirt roads. In the last two months, the temperatures have fluctuated between +16C and -10C. If the roads were muddy in the last two months, it was because we were experiencing an unusual thaw. With the ground below being frozen, the water stays on the surface and makes a mess. There is unfortunately nothing that can be done in that situation.

Our hot tub is only closed once per month for maintenance. The emptying, cleaning, refilling and reheating generally takes about 36 hours. This is necessary for hygienic reasons and is required by law. We would not recommend using any commercial hot tub which does not do this monthly maintenance. We did have trouble with the heater last year but that problem has been fixed. Since then, the hot tub has always been open other than for regular maintenance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

When we first visited, my wife was apprehensive at first as this is not a clothing optional resort and was her first visit; once we met the staff and watched the intro video we felt right at home. We loved it so much, we visited again and this time spent the night in one of their rooms which is very comfy and the food is well priced and fresh made.
We now have a trailer there and bring our young family there as well. Our NEW second family is awesome! Great place to feel at ease with no stereotypes or pressure. Secure for the whole family - absolutely no inappropriate behavior is tolerated; a plus in our books. A true Naturist paradise.

Room Tip: Rooms are part of the main building with pool and hot tub access. Cozy Cabins are in the back mixed in with seasonal residents
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travel1ngJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gymnosophist, General Manager at Bare Oaks Family Naturist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Thank you so much for the great review! We work hard to make Bare Oaks a place where people can escape the hyper-sexualization and body-objectification of mainstream society. It is very gratifying that you found it so enjoyable that you have made it a regular part of your life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews