We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Loved It!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Gwillimbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bare Oaks Family Naturist Park
Reviewed 28 July 2017

I stayed in one of the rooms in the clubhouse with a queen bed. It was a wonderful experience, all of the staff were knowledgeable and friendly. Almost every time I crossed paths with one of them they would smile and say hello. The facility was extremely well kept and any concerns were promptly addressed. The Bare Bistro's menu selection is decent and the food they prepare is fresh and fair priced, I was pleasantly surprised by how much food I could get for less than $10. The only issue due to their rural location is the poor internet connection, it made keeping up with emails from work and school a tad difficult but it also forced me to get out and interact with other people and make use of the several amenities that the park has. I highly recommend that any visitors use the many opportunities available to learn about naturism that that park offers. Also I'd like to suggest that the park offer a method of communicating activities with d/Deaf or Hard of Hearing visitors other than using the parks PA system. I have to keep asking people around me what was just announced. I may have just missed the signage indicating the times but it was difficult to find that information anywhere in the park without having to ask the front desk.

Room Tip: downstairs clubhouse rooms are closer to the guest kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 1478953ARiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gymnosophist, Owner at Bare Oaks Family Naturist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

We appreciate the great review. Thank you for taking the time to write it. We definitely agree that we need a better way to communicate with hard of hearing visitors. We will be reviewing the options over the winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017

This was our first trip to a naturist resort with our children. We chose Bare Oaks because it was only a 7 hour drive for us and we wanted to visit specifically for family weekend so there would be more children for our kids to play with. We couldn't have made a better choice. The resort was clean, everything was accessible, and the people were so nice. We met many other families and had an awesome weekend. There were so many activities for the children to participate in. The owner and staff were top notch, very helpful and accommodating. The restaurant is run very well with wonderful staff and the food was great. The only thing that was a slight problem were the mosquitos, due to the extra wet weather Canada got this summer. But even then, the park took action to help combat this problem all around the resort. If you've ever thought about visiting a naturist resort with your family, this is the place you want to go. You will be glad you did. We can't wait for next year's schedule to come out. We will be one of the first families to book our stay for family weekend next year.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gymnosophist, Owner at Bare Oaks Family Naturist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thank you so much Matt for all the kind words. I'll be sure to pass it along to the team who works so hard to make Bare Oaks a delightful place. It truly warms our hearts to see all those children growing up in an environment that will give them a much better sense of self and a healthier view of the human body than what is found in our general society.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Being new to naturism, my boyfriend and I decided to visit Bare Oaks last year over the Labour Day weekend. We did visit another naturist resort, and we embraced the lifestyle. However, when we arrived at Bare Oaks, we were so impressed with the park. We loved the environment, the amenities and the people there. After the winter thaw, we decided we would become members, and come as much as we can throughout the warmer weather. To date, we have visited 8 times, all day trips, and we enjoyed ourselves. We are currently looking for a trailer and make Bare Oaks our second home.

Room Tip: Many options to choose from: camp, rent a room or a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TigerSarah24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gymnosophist, Owner at Bare Oaks Family Naturist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you so much Sarah for taking the time to share your experience. We really appreciate the great rating and the many compliments! The team works hard to create an excellent naturist experience so they very much appreciate the positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

Ever since our first visit seven years ago, this has been our first choice for our family's weekend getaways and vacations!

Even when we were new to naturism, we all felt very comfortable here. The changes in our outlook towards others and ourselves has surprised me. I have never felt more respectful of myself and everyone else I meet. Seeing all this confidence and acceptance in my children has been a beautiful experience.

I would suggest anyone with a curiosity about naturism visit this well run park.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gymnosophist, Owner at Bare Oaks Family Naturist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you Leslie for the great review and rating! It is very gratifying to see families enjoying themselves because we know that naturism provides benefits to children raised as naturists.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Beautiful park if it is dry weather. Nice swimming pool area. Restaurant has good food. Roads are awful. Slick and mud filled. poorly maintained. Hot tub seems to be down a lot. Grounds are nice and spacious

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank oddfellow123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gymnosophist, General Manager at Bare Oaks Family Naturist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. However, winter is a very difficult time to maintain dirt roads. In the last two months, the temperatures have fluctuated between +16C and -10C. If the roads were muddy in the last two months, it was because we were experiencing an unusual thaw. With the ground below being frozen, the water stays on the surface and makes a mess. There is unfortunately nothing that can be done in that situation.

Our hot tub is only closed once per month for maintenance. The emptying, cleaning, refilling and reheating generally takes about 36 hours. This is necessary for hygienic reasons and is required by law. We would not recommend using any commercial hot tub which does not do this monthly maintenance. We did have trouble with the heater last year but that problem has been fixed. Since then, the hot tub has always been open other than for regular maintenance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bare Oaks Family Naturist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bare Oaks Family Naturist Park

Address: 20237 Kennedy Road | Sharon, East Gwillimbury, Ontario L0G 1V0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > East Gwillimbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in East Gwillimbury
Price Range: RM 296 - RM 358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bare Oaks Family Naturist Park is a year-round naturist park near Toronto in Canada where the entire family can experience traditional naturist values in a modern setting. We are nestled among the natural wilderness of the Ontario Greenbelt and Oak Ridges Moraine. Our varied landscape includes open spaces, forests, ponds, streams and a small lake. We also have many recreational facilities. Our clubhouse provides year-round amenities including saunas and a whirlpool. Bare Oaks offers day-use memberships and seasonal campsites but also welcomes visitors and travellers.Some might use the terms nudist and nudism to describe us and what we do. But we prefer naturist and naturism because our creed is so much more than just taking your clothes off. It is a life philosophy with physical, psychological, environmental, social and moral benefits. We go beyond a mere recreational pursuit and promote ethical naturism. We endeavour to live a naturist life and nudity is key to body acceptance and an integral part of our naturist philosophy. As such, we are not clothing-optional. Clothing is worn only for protection. We give visitors a chance to adjust but everyone is expected make a decision as to whether they want to be naturists or not.Located between Toronto and the gateway to Ontario's cottage country, it is the perfect location to stay while visiting Toronto. A short drive south on Highway #404 gets you into Toronto in about 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bare Oaks Family Naturist Park Hotel East Gwillimbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing