We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food!!”

Le Fangourin Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Le Fangourin lies in a delightful setting, tucked away in the midst of the Beau Plan Estate, with magnificent views from its veranda across lush, tropical countryside leading in the distance to Pieter Both Mountain. The cuisine is refined and incorporates island flavours in dishes such as mille-feuille of locally smoked marlin, king prawns roasted in sweet spices, Le Fangourin special 'gourmand' salad... There are also some delicious house-made desserts featuring the famous special sugars, including dark chocolate fondant with molasses, crème brûlée enlivened with fresh vanilla pod or a variety of 3 sorbets.
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

The food at Le Fangourin is fantastic! My husband had the Octopus Salad, which he said was delicious & I had the Vegetable Lasagne, which was sublime. A wonderful garden setting to visit before or after the Sugar & Rum Museum.

Thank 263samanthav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwige g, Directeur général at Le Fangourin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Many thanks on behalf of the team for your wonderful post!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

Went for lunch and a tour of L’Aventure du sucre museum and I was delighted by the food at Le Fangourin restaurant. We had the seafood pasta linguini which was our favourite! My bf is italian, and he knows his pasta, that dish was very tasty. We also had the vegetable lasagna, king prawn salad and tuna tartar.. Food was amazing, big portions! Service was good and attentive specially from Sharook and Arya. I highly recommend.

Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwige g, Directeur général at Le Fangourin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Many thanks for the wonderful review you posted and for taking the time to share your positive experience. Thank you also for your very kind comments about the team which are greatly appreciated. We wish you a happy new year 2018.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

It was my second time to have a meal there. The Mauritian food served in the restaurant reminds me of home food. The chutney/ pickle/ tamarind sauce, placed on the table before the meal is served, reminds me of my childhood moments. It was like travelling through time but at the same time eating in a modern setting. The service was great. The waiters respect your privacy but at the same time come right on time to serve the next dish or drink.
The cocktails are nice, neither too bitter, neither too sweet, neither too watery, neither too strong with the traditional rum. Its made to perfection, much more tastier and better than those served in five star hotels in Mauritius.
The dessert are like a magical display on a plate. Tasty, filling, healthy as pieces of fruits are displayed on the plates.
I will go there again and do recommend this place to tourists.

Thank 107rajneek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwige G, General Manager at Le Fangourin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

We thank you for this outstanding comment. The entire team was sincerely touched by your compliments and your satisfaction and recommendation are by far the best reward. We wish you a wonderful year 2018.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

The restaurant is ideally placed for a visit after the botanic gardens. It is it is part of the Aventure du Sucre which is just across the M3 roundabout opposite the exit for the Gardens. Located in the former sugar estate administrators office it has a lovely view of the grounds & distant mountain range. Inside and outside seating - one sealed area which air conditioned. Great selection of local dishes with something to suit everyone. We shared the Mauritian sharer plate as a starter which was very generous. The tuna tartare was a very large starter. All beautifully presented. Desserts were all excellent - hot chocolate fondant, Panna cotta & crepe brûlée. Accommodated our gluten free friend. Service was also good but they need to remove the sugar from the tables quickly after meals as the local birds were helping themselves....or just serve the sugars with lids.

Thank Globetrotterdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwige g, General Manager at Le Fangourin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thank you so much four your lovely review. We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your experience at Le Fangourin Restaurant. We took good note for the lids which in fact were in production with our local carpenter and were delivered yesterday to the restaurant. We wish you a happy festive season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

I recently visited Mauritius after 14 years of absence from my beautiful island and was impressed by the visit at L’Aventure du Sucre. The food at the restaurant was simply divine and the service even if it was slow was great. We were on holiday so we did not mine the wait. I would come back again to that beautiful restaurant.

Thank Virginie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Violaine C, Responsable réception at Le Fangourin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback on your experience both at the museum and restaurant.
Your kind recommendation is appreciated and looking forward to welcoming you back during a next trip.

Best regards from our team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Fangourin Restaurant also viewed

 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Balaclava, Pamplemousses District
Pointe Aux Piments, Pamplemousses District
 

Been to Le Fangourin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing