We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
39
41
9
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
41
9
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisle madamecape bretonthe ownerstay there againnova scotianext morningget awaythe pubeggsgreat foodnew ownersstrawberry fieldsself servejuicecraft beerbeautiful spotgreat view
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 98 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 26 June 2017

The room was very clean and had all the amenities. Staff were accommodating and friendly. Pub was very good with great menu and food delicious. The craft beer was a delight. Would recommend to someone who is looking for that "down home" feeling.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Great location, nice people, good food.
The Beatles' concept is cool. There ara four rooms : Yellow Submarine (for Ringo Starr), Paperback Writer (for Paul McCartney), Strawberry fields forever (for John Lennon) and Penny Lane (another one for Paul). How come Georges Harrison doesn't have his room? Don't know but hey, who cares? The idea is fun, the decoration is nice.
Good music downstairs at the pub-restaurant.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank seguinbenoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

Great b&b on Isle of Madame with spacious and clean room with ensuite
The self catering breakfast includes choirce of cereals ,breads ,eggs ,juice ,coffee and tea.
The staff was always available and accomidated all requests.
You don't need to look any further than the pub for a 5 star meal of locally sourced food and prepared fresh every day.
This is a great location to explore all the island has to offer.
I will definitely return again.


Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank susan_n_holm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here recently on a long weekend and we were far from satisfied. First of all, one of the reasons we booked this place was that the menu for the pub looked really good, and had veggie/gluten-free options for my friend. No where on the website did it say that on Sundays there would be a pork belly roast dinner and that this would be the ONLY option to order at the pub that night. We found this out upon going into the pub that night, and the waitress was unable to offer us any other menu options so we had to leave and find food at the only place that was open that night in nearby Arichat.

When we first arrived we didn't know where to check in, a waitress from the pub showed us our room...and that was the last time we saw any staff there. The literature in the room said to ask if we needed anything but there was no one to ask. We even tried knocking on the kitchen door at one point and got no response. The entire place smelled terribly of mildew/mould and our room was not properly cleaned - bedspreads were covered in dirt and what seemed like pet hair, and glasses in bathroom were dirty. There were also signs letting us know that we needed to conserve water, as they are on a well, which would be fine except the reason we chose our room (and paid extra) was because it included a jet bathtub...which then we felt we shouldn't be filling up? And in addition the water there is not drinkable. The breakfast was self serve, either toast or cereal...nothing special or worthy of the cost, and no GF options.

There was a band playing at the pub the night we stayed (a Sunday) and they continued on until midnight playing directly underneath our room.

It really seems that this place has poor management and a low standard for hospitality. It is also misrepresented as a B&B, and because of the self-serve nature of the whole place it should really be called a hostel. We have stayed at numerous inns and B&Bs across Canada and several in Cape Breton which involved great hosts and wonderful hospitality, the Groundswell does not measure up, especially for the amount it costs.

Stayed: May 2017
3  Thank Kaleigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

We were there early in the tourist season while there was still some snow. We did not book ahead just called a half hour or so in advance so they hadn't much time to prepare. The room was very cool although he had put a heater on. The beds were double beds and not the best. So book ahead and probably best for the younger crowd during tourist season looking to enjoy the water and local activities.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marlinh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews