We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic romantic getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of End Cottage

End Cottage Ashford in the Water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
End Cottage Ashford in the Water
Living Room with woodburning stove, beams and exposed stonework Living Room with woodburning stove, beams and exposed stonework
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
End Cottage Ashford in the Water
Living Room with woodburning stove, beams and exposed stonework
Living Room with woodburning stove, beams and exposed stonework
Living Room with woodburning stove, beams and exposed stonework
Well equipped kitchen
Well equipped kitchen
Generous sized bedroom with Kingsize bed
Shower room
Shower room
Bakewell
Haddon Hall
Monsal Dale
Buxton
Lathkill Dale
Chatsworth
Buxton
End Cottage in Ashford in the Water in winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashford-in-the-Water, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AliceMary...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic romantic getaway”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We had a fantastic time at End Cottage, it was well equipped and very comfortable! The area is lovely and we had some fantastic walks in the country. Would highly recommend!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living room - loved the wood burner!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
23aussiet...
Adelaide, Australia
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, cosy cottage in wonderful location.”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Our 7 day stay at End Cottage was wonderful, Lucy and Mike have thought of all that is needed to make this cottage comfortable. On arrival Mike was there to greet us with the lovely wood fire burning, tea/coffee and biscuits as well as a lovely bottle of wine to celebrate the new year.
Mike was happy to answer all our questions. The location of End Cottage in the village is ideal, walking to the two pubs and local store was easy. Bakewell, just up the road is a lovely and popular tourist destination, we were able to access banks, supermarkets, post office etc. The village of Ashton In The Water is well placed for exploring surrounding towns and villages.
We had a wonderful stay at End Cottage and look forward to visiting in the summer months when hopefully the weather will be a little kinder.
Thank you Mike and Lucy.
M & A Flynn, Adelaide, South Australia

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cossiness and location of the cottage.
Liked least: no dislikes.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason L
Faversham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage, great location”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stayed for three nights in January with our three-month old baby. The cottage is lovely, in excellent condition and in a great location, only a few minutes drive from Bakewell but in the very peaceful and relaxing village of Ashford.

It has everything you could need to self-cater and we loved sitting in front of the fire in the evenings. Also had a very positive experience with the owner (Lucy) who replied to our queries via email in a quick and friendly way.

Already planning another visit in a few months, strongly recommend to all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sc0tch_eg...
Nottingham/Derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect week away”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As a young couple who just wanted a week away to relax after a busy Christmas, we couldn't be more thrilled. It was our first holiday away together and everything was perfect. The living room was spacious and welcoming. There was nothing like curling up at night on the sofa with a bottle of wine, a film and a log fire burning. This is the perfect cottage for anyone who wants to escape society for a few days and really relax.
The first night we went and dined at the Ashfield Arms and I would personally love to eat there again. They do have an early bird menu that is 2 courses for £9.95 but we still opted for the mains and I must say the portion sizes were very generous. I had the steak and my girlfriend had the gammon and we were thrilled, not a thing wrong.

Back at the cottage as I earlier said we were lighting fires every night a curling up on the sofa which is very comfortable. The wooden stairs get very nicely heated as there is a radiator underneath them and I can honestly say I dont think I have ever slept in a more comfortable bed. The owners of this cottage have really gone out of their way to make sure you are well equipped for a week of relaxation. I would personally like to thank them both for the week we had and we cannot wait to book again.

Word of advise for the taller people looking to stay, be sure to duck as you enter the front door. Always duck. Even on the last day I still had not drilled that into my head but I certainly drilled the door frame in! Haha.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The intamacy of the cottage and the 5 minute drive to Bakewell
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl N
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Honeymoon”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We were looking for a peaceful honeymoon in a quiet and cosy setting. End Cottage delivered exactly that. It is well placed for beautiful walks and not far from Chatsworth House or Haddon Hall if you want a day out. The cottage is homely and well looked after and is also well equipped. The tea and biscuits on arrival were a lovely welcome!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$99
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing