We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
PIcrew
Phillip Island, Australia

Good but needs some love

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Dec 2013
We enjoyed our stay here but the best way to give some honest feedback is to split it into 2 sections...
Good: ambiance , travellers chatting, staff are great, food is great. Also beds are comfortable, bedding is clean. In fact it is the most comfortable bed we've had in Laos. The staff were very helpful, friendly.
Things that need improving...Good size rooms, but need a really good clean and a bit of maintenance. Our bathroom was pretty grubby and the first room we had had no toilet seat. The hot shower is barely hot. (Better hot water units?) Not the end of the world but simple things to make this place really good.
Date of stay: December 2013
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Agoda.com
RM 56
No fees just great deals
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    RM 179
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
      RM 179
    • Vio.com
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    Agoda.com
    RM 60
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    No fees just great deals
      Free Wifi
      Room service
      Booking.com
      RM 124
      RM 89
      No prepayment needed
      • Priceline
      • Agoda.com
        RM 89
      • Vio.com
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Cabin inside
      Booking.com
      RM 41
      Fully refundable
      No prepayment needed
      • Priceline
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      The Sitting Area infront Hotel
      Booking.com
      RM 40
      No prepayment needed
      • Priceline
      • Agoda.com
        RM 40
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Vio.com
        Free Wifi
        View more hotels in Khammouane
        Reviews (16)
        Filter reviews
        16 results
        Traveller rating
        0
        5
        7
        2
        2
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        Traveller rating
        0
        5
        7
        2
        2
        See what travellers are saying:
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        5 - 10 of 16 reviews
        Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

        Basic rooms at reasonable rates. Lots of other travellers to socialize with. Great information on how to arrange a motorbike ride in the beautiful sorrounding areas (as described in the lonely planet guide).
        While the rest of Tha Khaek can seem a bit sleepy and empty (though beautiful and charming in a roughed up fashion), this place is always alive.

        Date of stay: November 2013
        Trip type: Travelled solo
        Thank Peter V
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 10 July 2013

        We stayed at the Travel Lodge as it was highly recommended in the Lonely Planet but we were sorely disappointed. The guesthouse itself is beautiful, but once we were shown our overpriced rooms we weren't impressed. Mouldy walls, dirty floor, shared bathrooms where only a few showers work. 60,000 kip for a double fan room seemed a bit steep after some of the other places we've stayed in Laos for the same price, but it turned out to be a great base for The Loop.

        The dining area is full of helpful travelers either planning to go or having just come back from riding to Kong Lor Cave. There's also log books full of helpful advice. Great place to find companions for the trip as well. They will also store your backpacks for you- 5,000 kip for 3-4 days if you stay the night, or 5,000 per day if you stay elsewhere and just store your luggage.

        Date of stay: July 2013
        • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        1  Thank Jazz_dz
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 18 March 2013

        As lonely planets top choice and the looks if this place if sounded great so I emailed them to book in advance as I knew our bus didnt arrive until midnight, but no response. obviously they knew we were desperate at that time of night so they lied to us several time about what they had (or didnt have) available until we reached an agreed room and price, for him then to increase the price. Fellow co worker actually gave us the right price and he was soon shoved away. Looked like a really great place and atmosphere but ended up walking away after half hour wasted time being lied to and ripped off so completely ruined it for us! Better luck to the rest.

        Date of stay: March 2013
        Trip type: Travelled with friends
        Thank BethanyH437
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 15 March 2013

        This lodge is a great place to start and get ready for The Loop. You'll meet people who just finished it and people who will be your travel buddies. You can leave your bag there and book a room for when you return. The food quite nice for a reasonable price.
        The logbook is a must as there are many useful tips for you to take with you when you do the Loop. The rooms are basic but clean, however the bathrooms and toilets could use s lick of paint and a proper clean.
        Friendly staff who speak English very well.

        Date of stay: March 2013
        • Trip type: Travelled solo
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank Belle_Dutchie
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 22 August 2011

        We stayed here for three nights as we made our way to kong lo caves and back.

        First the room we had was massive and clean with a huge bathroom, fan and hot water. We ended up having to take the mosquito net down as it blocked the fan so much we almost drowned in our own sweat. The staff are non emotional, very rare to get a smile out of them. The food is fine, just like anywhere in Laos, fine. Wifi also decent closer to the restaurant but not so much in the bedrooms.

        The real benefit of here though is the travel books for 'the loop' and Mr Koo's bike rental. We went with him and he was very helpful, letting us get used to the bike the night before and giving us the keys with no charge.

        Location is good for the bus station (4km) but not for the centre, takes at least 30 mins to walk and jumbo drivers will overcharge you.

        We were very annoyed when we cam to pay as they advertise being able to take credit cards all over the place and then use a ridiculous exchange rate to dollars as well as the standard 3% on top for CC. We were quite annoyed as we were about to set off to the caves but they didn't budge or care, never really worked that out in Laos.

        Anyway, if you plan to do the loop drop in to read the travel books but it really isn't a good location to do anything after dark.

        Date of stay: July 2011
          • Value
          • Location
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        1  Thank LeprechaunLarry
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        View more reviews