We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Markiz Konaklari Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Sirince B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I'd love to give this charming hotel a top rating. It's beautifully perched at the too of a hill above a tiny village that was one of those depopulated by the population "exchange" in 1923. The room was comfortable, the food was excellent, and the garden in which meals were served was delightful. However, despite our reservations, the hotelier wasn't expecting us so there was nothing to eat on the night we arrived. There was smoke billowing from the room of our companions and a heavy smoke smell lingered. After the second night's dinner, they could not accept our credit card to pay for dinner (the machine was not working, they said.) Coming up with the cash for dinner for four was a close thing so late at night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

We only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed longer. Sirince is the most beautiful
little village, we couldn't resist stopping and staying a night after visiting Ephesus and before continuing on our road-tip down the southwest coast.

The Markiz has the best view in town, though we did wander the village below. A photographers dream just as we had heard. The hotel is perfectly set up to enjoy the outdoors and take in the views, with many seating areas for dining as well as lounging. We drank wine outdoors on the patio late into the evening :)

Our room, Uzum, was lovely. Clean and cute with a modern bathroom! Not a suite and not much of a view as it overlooked the patio (but that is where we spent our time anyhow). The staff was friendly, helpful and working hard. Plus, the grounds/garden are gorgeous! Certainly not the cheapest place we stayed during our travels in Turkey . . but very peaceful and the village of Sirince was amazing at sunset, so worth the money in all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed two nights in the Yasemin Suite. Beautiful room with views over the village. Spacious. Lovely bathroom. The hotel is in a beautiful setting with lots of sitting areas to take in the peace and quiet and views over the village. Only a few minutes walk from the main village area and local restaurants. Had one dinner at the hotel, food was average but not good value compared to the restaurants in the village. Breakfast was fine with eggs cooked to order. The staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Yasemin suite is spacious and has views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thommo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed here for one night after a day touring Ephesus and surrounding sites. We came into Sirince after all the tourist were leaving, and found ourselves in an unexpectedly serene, quaint, and lovely village (although I think during the daytime it is a bit chaotic). By far, Markiz Konaklar is the place to stay. Perched above the town in a more secluded and peaceful area, we (my parents-in-law and husband) were delighted by the recently renovated guest houses, the friendly and warm staff, and gorgeous views. They really spoil you here - hamams in the basement of the guest houses, fluffy towels, uniquely decorate rooms, nice sitting areas...I could go on. There was a rather vocal goat outside our house, but that just added to the experience. The man working while we were there, Mehmet (?), was very attentive, but not in an overbearing way. We had a nice dinner there that night, with drinks on the veranda before, and everything was just really nice. The ONLY complaint I have (minor) is that the hamam was quite popular and it was confusing when multiple people wanted to use it at once. Some of our fellow guests seemed to think it would be appropriate for men and women (strangers) to be in there together so I think they could do a better job of explaining the rules or allowing the person using it to discreetly let other guests know (like a sign on the door). All around, fantastic experience and I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Hotel at the top of the village, so you can walk in a circle to the main square, very pictureous. Rooms are small but have good bathrooms. Food was good ( eggs fresh from the hens), staff very friendly. Location was unique instead of in a bigger town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marlene j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sirince hotels
0.1 km away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
258 reviews
0.3 km away
Nisanyan Evleri Hotel
Nisanyan Evleri Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sirince
375 reviews
0.3 km away
Gullu Konaklari
Gullu Konaklari
#2 of 15 in Sirince
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sirince Klaseas Butik Otel&Restorant
0.2 km away
Sihirbazin Evi
Sihirbazin Evi
#3 of 15 in Sirince
72 reviews
0.2 km away
StoneHouse ByIpek FarmHouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Markiz Konaklari Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Markiz Konaklari Boutique Hotel

Address: 6. Sokak, No 20 / 1, Sirince 35920, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Sirince
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sirince
Price Range: RM453 - RM511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Markiz Konaklari Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Markiz Konaklari...Markiz Konaklari is a complex of 3 different Greek houses and it has the best view of the village at Sirince, which is built in a garden with full of fruit trees and endemic flowers. In our mansions, there are 8 rooms in total which are 2 suite Rooms, 6 deluxe rooms. All rooms have central heating system, air-condition and fireplace. Our aim is to make your holiday experience in Sirince one to remember in your memories with Markiz Konaklari difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Markiz Konaklari Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing