We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views, relaxing, service is good but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Uluwatu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Location/Rooms/Resort:
- Uluwatu doesn't have a whole lot going on which is great if you want to relax and 'get away from it all.' Would not recommend going here if you're looking for the Bali party scene
- There's no beach here so if you're looking for a dip in the ocean, this is NOT the place for you. The villas have a nice view and there is a beautiful infinity edge pool but just no beach (fine for me, but hubby prefers more beach access).
- All the rooms are the same size and include a private plunge pool. The rooms are very spacious and very well appointed with a lounger, indoor/outdoor showers, super comfy bed.
- Higher rooms offer a slightly better view, but all the rooms are good

Service:
- Overall good but I am spoiled and used to 5 star service and there were a few hiccups, for example having to wait several minutes for a buggy, room service forgetting something small, etc. (nothing huge, but just not perfect service)

Food:
- Breakfast is included with most rates. It's a-la-carte and the portions are TINY, but you can order as many things as you want so it's kind of fun
- Lunch- 2 choices- one traditional Indonesian place (Warung) and the other is more Western style. We were disappointed with Warung- the flavors just didn't agree with us. The Western restaurant is ok, but not spectacular.
- Dinner- again 2, choices (are you sensing a theme here?) The food is just ok. We actually chartered a driver to go off site for dinner on multiple nights because the food selection here just wasn't up to par.

Spa:
- The spa here is top notch- the therapists are excellent and the booking agents are really knowledgeable about the services and made excellent recommendations. We spent 3 hours getting pampered and it was heavenly.
- The spa also offers private yoga lessons (including aerial) in a private villa overlooking the ocean- definitely recommend if you are into yoga.

Overall:
- A nice place to stay with no overt problems but lacked the extra *omph* of service and food choices not very good. Definitely geared toward travelers that want to relax and do nothing.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 August 2017

Dear Tifanny M,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write about your stay at Alila Villas Uluwatu. We are happy to learn you enjoyed the villas as well as the Spa but at the same time also noted the little hick ups you experienced, which made a good rather than a great experience. We will look into matters with the team and use your feedback to improve our services.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in order to show you the improvements and please be encouraged to contact me in case I can help out making arrangements for your return visit to Alila Villas Uluwatu.

Best regards,
Marco Groten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 46 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2017

I suppose this review should be prefaced in the context of very high expectations, given that this was the most we have ever spent on a nightly rate (A$1000+, which included a 20% pre-purchase discount). I really wanted to love this property, but.....
I had visions of independent villas perched upon the cliff top at Uluwatu, with a backdrop of ocean and crashing waves - maybe with a view of a surfer - but it's actually a very modern hotel with row upon row of villas adjacent to each other. From our villa, we could mainly see the roofs of other villas, with a tiny rim of blue in the distance if you really looked hard.
Check-in was good, very welcoming. A glass of water as a welcome drink. We were asked whether we preferred nuts, fruit or cookies as a snack - our preference was nuts - but these failed to materialise over the 3 days.
The actual villa is spacious and comfortable.
The majority of staff are faultless in face to face dealings and go out of their way to fix issues. There was a wedding in the grounds on our first night, with live music blaring across the resort (not our idea of peace and tranquility), and after complaining were offered a 90min massage for 2 which was very much appreciated - and spectacular.
We usually asked for housekeeping while we were at breakfast or dinner. We were underwhelmed with housekeeping. A dead fly remained on the bathroom vanity for at least 24 hrs. A bath had been used with soaps, used shampoos etc over the edge - and this wasn't touched during turndown service. Most high level hotels tidy makeup on vanity and place neatly on a towel - here the vanity remained a mess for 3 days.

We loved dinner at the Warung. The staff were knowledgable and pleasant, the food delicious and good value.
The breakfasts on the other hand were not in the same league. Most "hot" choices appeared as though they had been prepared hours earlier and had been sitting in a warmer. My poached egg was almost cold and inedible. This trip also included Kokomo Villas on Gili Trawangan, The Lombok Lodge, The Kunja Villas in Seminyak, and The Legian Hotel in Seminyak - and the quality of the breakfast was the worst by far.
So would we go back? Definitely not at that price for what was delivered.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TraceyB1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 August 2017

Dear TraceyB1959,

Thank you for your honest rest review of your stay with us at Alila Villas Uluwatu and I am sorry to learn that we were not able to exceed your expectations. We will look into matters like the amenities in the villa, the tidying up of toiletries, cleanliness in the villa as well as the breakfast and hope to have the opportunity to show you improvements on a next visit.

With best regards from the team at Alila Villas Uluwatu,
Marco Groten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel is as good as it gets. We have just spent four wonderful nights at this beautiful hotel. The villas are magnificent, the spa facilities excellent, service faultless and food delicious. Thank you Janine for leading such a great team and enabling us to have such a perfect relaxing time.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GailR56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 August 2017

Dear GailR56,

Thank you for writing about your Alila Villas Uluwatu experience and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately we didn't get to meet as I was away from the resorts and I have passed on your comments to Janine and the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Alila Villas Uluwatu and I hope to have the opportunity to meet you in person on your next visit,

Best regards,
Marco Groten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Alila Villas Uluwatu is probably one of the most spectacular hotel I have ever visited.

The view was breathtaking, where you can see the Indian Ocean.It has a very unique design and architecture. The sunset cabana is phenomenal.

Sadly, we could not find those view from the villa. The villa is only "partial" ocean view.
The food at The Warung was excellent. They serve a very nice Indonesian cuisine.

Overall, I think this is the best hotel in Uluwatu / Jimbaran.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank daincredible D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 August 2017

Dear daincredible D,

Thank you for sharing your Alila Villas Uluwatu experience here on trip advisor and the team and I are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay as well as Sunset Cabana, the food at the Warung and many other things.

Please do let us know if you wish to come back to stay with us and I will be happy to help out making arrangements,

Best regards from the team at Alila Villas Uluwatu,
Marco Groten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

I had an amazing weekend. It was very relaxing and your property was very well maintained. The staff were incredibly helpful and polite. The wedding was beautiful. I will definitely return with my family soon.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mommajei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devina H, General Manager at Alila Villas Uluwatu, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Mommajei,

We are happy to hear that you rated our team as incredibly helpful and polite and I am glad to learn you had an amazing weekend and a great wedding at Alila Villas Uluwatu.

Please do let us know if you wish to return to Alila Villas Uluwatu and we will be happy to make arrangements for you.

Best regards from South Bali,
Marco Groten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uluwatu
10.6 km away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
2.4 km away
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
8.7 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Suarga Padang Padang
Suarga Padang Padang
#3 of 9 in Uluwatu
305 reviews
18.5 km away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 148 in Seminyak
1,029 reviews
1.8 km away
Bulgari Resort Bali
Bulgari Resort Bali
#2 of 9 in Uluwatu
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alila Villas Uluwatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Villas Uluwatu

Address: Jl Belimbing Sari | Banjar Tambiyak, Desa Pecatu, Uluwatu 80364, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Uluwatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Uluwatu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Uluwatu
#1 Spa Hotel in Uluwatu
Price Range: RM2,746 - RM6,349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alila Villas Uluwatu 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Villas Uluwatu is the first all-pool villa luxury resort in the Alila Signature collection. Designed by award-winning architectural firm WOHA, each of 84 villas showcases contemporary Balinese-inspired design. Poised on an elevated plateau that meets with limestone cliffs sweeping down to the cerulean Indian Ocean, the view from Alila Villas Uluwatu showcases nothing less than nature's perfection. Each villa offers private pool and cabana with 24 hour host (butler) service. Alila Villas Uluwatu designed in harmony with fully respecting the natural environment, continuing the Alila tradition of a total destination experience that is serene, sensual, and surprisingly different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alila Villas Uluwatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Villas Uluwatu Hotel Uluwatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing