We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The New Inn
Nearby Hotels
Lastingham Grange(Lastingham)
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Manse Hotel(Pickering)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Head Hotel(Kirkbymoorside)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveller rating
195
151
60
23
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
195
151
60
23
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrewery tourmicro breweryred letterthe pubgift packbrewed on sitesteak and ale piebeer tastinggreat beerbrewing processreal alemain barfree pintyorkshire pudcropton brewerybeer gardenwell worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 444 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Despite thick snow local roads all cleared so surrounding countryside looked beautiful. Our cottage was warm and cosy on arrival with some new furnishings. Our border collie slept for the whole journey but sat up as soon as we turned into Cropton. The usual excellent breakfasts and evening meals with plenty of different beers to choose from and bring home for relatives. Good walks every day and friendly staff. Thank you Helen and Phil. Came home totally relaxed.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Jean M

Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us

We always try to ensure all our guests sample a proper Yorkshire experience. We love Cropton so we always love to hear when a guest enjoys it as much as we do.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We had a red letter package and opted for the New Inn so we could explore this part of the UK. We were not disappointed. This is an ideal venue if you want to explore the market towns of Pickering and Helmsley. We also took the opportunity to visit Whitby, Robin Hood Bay and Scarborough. We had a lovely weekend staying at the New Inn. Staff were all friendly and service was excellent. Both meals we had were excellent. Fish and chips were superb! The curry wasn't bad either! Breakfast was great too and certainly set us up for the day!
We would definitely stay at the New Inn again. Thank you!
We enjoyed the ambience of the bar and opted to eat our evening meals there but there is a pleasant dining room also.
Our room was very pleasant and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rory N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Rory N

Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you have seen we love our food and beer so we take great delight in knowing you do to.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We walked about 5 miles to here from where we were staying and that was the first mistake...we forgot we had to walk back after sampling the beers!

We missed the first brewery tour so just ordered some food. It was a little on the expensive side but was tasty and overall worth the money spent. Once fed we did the brewery tour and had a great time. It is very interactive and the lady leading it clearly knew her stuff and was very passionate about her work. It is great value at £7.50 for the tour and that includes a pint as well.

I will probably do this again but next time do the tour and lunch option which is exceptional value at being the tour above plus 2 course meal for £18.

Lovely beers and look forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kentishman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Kentishman71

Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your visit to us.

We take great pride in showing off our new brewery and how we make our beers, of course the best proof is in the tasting!

As you have seen we also love our food and beer so we take great delight in knowing you do to.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Our daughters arranged for a day out to Cropton Brewery with. Lunch at the New Inn for a Xmas present. We arrived at lunchtime and had lunch before our tour of the brewery. We ordered our meals at the bar and they arrived within a short while . The soup was excellent but the main meals were quite nice ,but not special. The staff were very helpful and very , very pleasant. The New Inn is quaint, but in need of some TLC. To be fair there seemed to be some work being done on it or that might have been at the brewery.
Our tour of the brewery was very interesting and the lady guide was very knowledgeable and amusing. We learnt some things about beer we certainly did not know. My wife was not really interested in the beer ,but she still enjoy the day.After the tour we went back to the pub and were given a pack of beer samples. The barman was very friendly and he helped us pick the samples we would enjoy most. Several people on the tours had booked rooms at the pub so that they would not have to drive and could enjoy the day more by trying more samples of the beer !This seemed Avery good idea if you like beer. It was a very enjoyable day out .

Stayed: March 2018
Thank phil l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil L, General Manager at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi Phil L

Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your visit to us.

We take great pride in showing off our new brewery and how we make our beers, of course the best proof is in the tasting!

As you have seen we also love our food and beer so we take great delight in knowing you do to.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

We were booked on a brewery tour and decided to stay overnight. The tour was amazing, but the experience was soured by the fact that our room, No 5, was above the pool room and the users of this room were listening to music until turned 11.10pm and then continued to talk for a period after this. All this noise was heard very clearly in our room and prevented us from getting an early nights sleep. In the morning we mentioned this to the receptionist as we checked out, we were told, 'that shouldn't be a problem on on Thursday night, we finish at 11.00' Well clearly we felt it was a problem to us, as we were in bed, trying to sleep. Then end result was I will look into that, not sure what that meant or what it will achieve. Left us feeling 'used'

Room Tip: Stay in the rooms outside the pub
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaryTeresa353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil L, General Manager at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi MaryTeresa353

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We take all feedback seriously wether it be positive or negative.

Sorry we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit to us. As an old inn there are some areas which sound can protrude on some occasions. We will will try to accommodate for a quieter room if it is at all possible, do to our number of rooms and popularity this isn’t always a viable option.

We are pleased you enjoyed the brewery tour etc. If you would like to stay again, please do mention you would like a quieter room at the point of booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews