We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Jussantupa(Enontekio)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hetan Majatalo(Enontekio)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lapland Hotels Hetta(Enontekio)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lannavaara Lodge(Lannavaara)
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Lapland Hotel Pallas(Muonio)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ounasloma Luxury Cabins(Enontekio)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Reviews (809)
Filter reviews
809 results
Traveller rating
386
256
91
41
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
256
91
41
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravel kettlesanta safarigreat funreindeer campnorthern lightsthermal suits and bootsthe main hotelfrozen riveracross the bridgepetrol stationhusky ridetransun repsarctic circleice hotelfantastic holidayicing on the cakeonce in a lifetime
Filter
Updating list...
768 - 773 of 809 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2009

We came home last night from a two night stay at Davvi Lodge. Our two grandchildren, aged 6 and 9 were with us. We were late leaving Stansted on Monday because of the weather, but our welcome at the Lodge later that evening was great- the location is fantastic, the staff are absolutely amazing, and the children loved every single second of it. And so did we.
You would not choose to stay here if you were looking for a luxurious snowbound retreat with gourmet food and fine wine, but if you want your children to have the time of their lives and build memories which will last forever, then you can't go wrong here. For us, their permanent smiles and shining eyes said it all.
It was cold, -31 on a husky safari on our second night, but we chose to do this as an optional extra as our grandson had so loved the afternoon's trip. The visit to Father Christmas was so magical that even I believed! Just think : one family, on your own, not sharing with anyone else, going through a snowy forest on a reindeer pulled sledge and coming upon a brightly lit little cabin : inside is a pretty elf and THE Father Christmas, who knows all about you, even the names of your cats! You can talk to him, and look round his cabin, and you know it's real because it IS.
There was plenty for the children to do at the hotel outside the planned activities - tobogganing, Mrs. Claus and her craft activities, dvds in the lounge or you could request a dvd in your room. There was a tv in our cabin but the children didn't even look at it.
Kate and the whole team are the hardest working people I have ever seen, and they deserve bouquets. The sheer logistics of getting supplies to this very remote area must be a nightmare and if things run out, it's understandable. While we were there, nothing like that happened.
The snowsuits and boots were perfect and the staff fitting us knew just by looking at us what sizes we needed. There were enough of them for us not to have to queue.
Our two youngest grandchildren are now 3 and 1 - in 5 years time we might just be back at Davvi Lodge with them. Thank you all for a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PennyPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2009

we came to lapland with our 2 sons aged 14 and 7 and didnt know what to
expect but it met with all our expectations. The davi arctic lodge was in a fantastic
area which was breathtaking. We stayed in a log cabin which was clean warm
but very basic but didnt bother us one bit as we only slept their. (this was stated in the brochure) Snow suits and boots were really warm yes we did have to que for them but hey thats life. We met a wonderful family their who made our trip more enjoyable. We found our excursions fantastic the santa safari staff bent over backwards to help you. Snowmobiles, husky rides, ice fishing you name it we did it, something we as a family could never repeat but will always remember. I was realy annoyed to read the write up in the news of the world from a family who had just visited lapland and called it (crapland) all i can say is this family dont know how to enjoy theirselves and should of stayed at home. its families like these who give places bad names. I hope transun takes no notice of these families as the good will out weigh the bad. The highlight of our stay was meeting santa clause my little boys face was magical itself even my oldest son thought it was fantastic.On the night in the hotel their was a story teller who kept all the children entertained and gave parents time to relax out of the snow. The alcohol was expensive but you were not forced to drink it. their were a few complaints going on but if they all got out in the snow with their kids they wouldnt of had time to complain. We got home and were shattered we were getting up at 7am and staying out till12am we had a fantastic time and an experience to last a life time.If you are thinking of going to lapland dont read the miserable experiences i think they must of been dreaming!
THE WOOD FAMILY.
COUNTY DURHAM.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank monty072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

My family a group of 8 stayed at the Davvi Hotel 13th to 16th December to describe it as Fawlty Towers wouldn't be far wrong! We were supposed to be in two log cabins, but were put in the hotel. The rooms next to us flooded and then our room flooded. No apology no offer to move us as they had no further rooms. They drilled the concrete floor above our room constantly for two days.
The snow suits supplied were unclean, the boots leaked. The staff tried their best, however you would usually be fobbed off.
We were supposed to have several activities on the trip we did one! We were all glad to get home luckily we were in a group big enough to create our own fun and entertainment, however many kids and adults were very upset.
Totally disorganised please don't waste your money

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SM1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2009

Well, the only thing that spoiled our holiday was the 6 or 7 families who done nothing but moan, complain and shout at the hotel staff for the whole 4 days!!!
We had a fantastic holiday and everything was just as the brochure stated!! My children are 7 and 9 and have just had the most magical holiday they could ever have due to the fantastic staff. We travelled in a group of 8 varying in age including 2 18 yr old girls who also had a fantastic time! The 2 boys of the party, who were 9 and 14 spent all day from the minute they finished breakfast to the minute they went to bed out playing in the snow after all that is what we went for!!!
The rooms were spotless, the beds were comfy, i couldn't tell you if the telly worked we didn't have time to try it, the bathroom had dated brown decor but they might like that in Finland!!
The trips were all as described in the brochure, the staff were fantastic on all the excursions, they were all just the right length of time so the children didn't get upset about being in the cold!
The snow suits they gave us were fantastic, in fact with all our layers most days we were to hot!! We took our own snow boots as i wanted to make sure the children's were comfy as they were in them for a lot of hours!!
The souvenir shop at the bottom of the hotel drive was more than adequate to purchase gifts to take home, we didn't go to go shopping, if we were we would have stayed somewhere further south in a city or stayed home!!!!
It was funny how every time you walked in the hotel you seen the same 6 or 7 families sat around moaning and yet that was only 10% of the guests everyone else was out enjoying the snow and their holiday!!
A holiday is what you want to make it, we went for the snow, the excursions, to have fun and to see Santa and we were very pleased and satisfied with all four!!!
I didn't go to sit in my room all day, sit in the dining room moaning or expect the hotel staff to entertain my children whilst i sat moaning, so i guess that was why i was happy with my holiday and they weren't!!
If you have booked to go then go positive, look at all the great things, they out weigh the very few not so good ones, and go to spend quality time together and just have fun and you will have a great holiday, so have fun,
From The Tutthill party

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artutthills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

My partner, myself and our 7yr old daughter arrived at the Davvi Hotel on the 6th Dec for a 4 night stay. The location was fantastic, a quiet village with only a garage, post office, cafe and souvenior shop to hand, we didn't need anything else. We were happy with our room, ok may have been a little small for the larger family but for us it was fine after all the room was just for sleeping in wasn't it! We couldn't fault the staff who were obviously getting a hard time from some of the guests, but we found them to be very hard working, helpful, when ever we needed anything, they tried there hardest to please. (Did feel very sorry for them as we believe they earnt a pittance and they work long hours) Food was fantastic couldn't believe we were getting three cooked meals a day and a nice selection. They once again bent over backwards to cater for everyones dietry needs and yes there were people there who made a big song and dance about the meals. Childrens meals were also thought about but it amazed me how fussy some kids are, I blame the parents for this. The chief I believe had only arrived three days earlier and they were still waiting for a delivery, so the poor chief was making meals for over 150 people out of the store cupboards. We were very aware before we arrived that the drinks would be expensive due to transportation costs (this was also the case in the garage so not just the hotel)

Our excurtions were out of this world, we loved the snow activities, there were plenty of tobogans available and the Transun rep worked hard to get all the kids involved, even making a laying down snowman with them. The husky trip was fantastic, our trip to find Father Christmas was oh so magical. Mrs Christmas met the children, whilst we waited in a very warm teepee where they could do craft activities or other snow activities . When we did find the big man the whole experience was fantastic, the elves and the main guy were friendly and made us as a family feel special, this was what the whole holiday was about and we weren't disappointed.

We were very aware that there were people moaning but I think people's expectations were far to high, also that some of the children were far to young, we were lucky that the temperatures were very low -3, if they couldn't cope with those temps how would they have coped with temps of -20 which we could have had? Holiday recommended for 6 year olds and upwards.

This was a holiday that would stay with us for ever for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarleyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews