We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”
Review of Davvi Arctic Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Karesuvanto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Davvi Arctic Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karesuvanto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2009

I very nearly didn't take this trip having seen a number of very negative reviews. I was prepared to loose the money than shatter my daughter's dreams. But, after consulting a number of friends we went and I'm glad we did.
The hotel was warm and friendly with lots of christmas atmosphere. The staff knew the hazards and how to keep us all safe, particularly with the low temperatures there. The food was good and on time.
The location was simply awesome and the activities ran perfectly into one another leaving very little time other than to eat and sleep!

My advice to anyone thinking of this is to consider the following:
1) Are you prepared to live an hour from the nearest food retailer, where fresh produce is an extreme premium?
2) Do you realise you will be within the artic circle in a town of under 200 residents?
3) Do you understand the risks you will take if you do not take care to dress yourself and your children for a temperature that is 10 degrees colder than your deep freeze?
4) If you travel to another country with your own electrical equipment, will you need an adapter for the power connection?

If you understand that these are sensible things to consider then you'll enjoy yourself, but if you are expecting either a Hilton in the ice, or an all inclusive bucket holiday to Spain then you may not. And if you want your kids to say thank you rather than go sledging, or meet a husky, or take a snow-mobile ride, or meet Mrs Claus to make things....

I will never forget the look in my daughter's eyes when she met Santa, a jolly Lappish gentleman with a lovely beard. That joy and magic are, quite simply, priceless.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EssexLampyIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

683 - 687 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2009

We came home last night from a two night stay at Davvi Lodge. Our two grandchildren, aged 6 and 9 were with us. We were late leaving Stansted on Monday because of the weather, but our welcome at the Lodge later that evening was great- the location is fantastic, the staff are absolutely amazing, and the children loved every single second of it. And so did we.
You would not choose to stay here if you were looking for a luxurious snowbound retreat with gourmet food and fine wine, but if you want your children to have the time of their lives and build memories which will last forever, then you can't go wrong here. For us, their permanent smiles and shining eyes said it all.
It was cold, -31 on a husky safari on our second night, but we chose to do this as an optional extra as our grandson had so loved the afternoon's trip. The visit to Father Christmas was so magical that even I believed! Just think : one family, on your own, not sharing with anyone else, going through a snowy forest on a reindeer pulled sledge and coming upon a brightly lit little cabin : inside is a pretty elf and THE Father Christmas, who knows all about you, even the names of your cats! You can talk to him, and look round his cabin, and you know it's real because it IS.
There was plenty for the children to do at the hotel outside the planned activities - tobogganing, Mrs. Claus and her craft activities, dvds in the lounge or you could request a dvd in your room. There was a tv in our cabin but the children didn't even look at it.
Kate and the whole team are the hardest working people I have ever seen, and they deserve bouquets. The sheer logistics of getting supplies to this very remote area must be a nightmare and if things run out, it's understandable. While we were there, nothing like that happened.
The snowsuits and boots were perfect and the staff fitting us knew just by looking at us what sizes we needed. There were enough of them for us not to have to queue.
Our two youngest grandchildren are now 3 and 1 - in 5 years time we might just be back at Davvi Lodge with them. Thank you all for a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PennyPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2009

we came to lapland with our 2 sons aged 14 and 7 and didnt know what to
expect but it met with all our expectations. The davi arctic lodge was in a fantastic
area which was breathtaking. We stayed in a log cabin which was clean warm
but very basic but didnt bother us one bit as we only slept their. (this was stated in the brochure) Snow suits and boots were really warm yes we did have to que for them but hey thats life. We met a wonderful family their who made our trip more enjoyable. We found our excursions fantastic the santa safari staff bent over backwards to help you. Snowmobiles, husky rides, ice fishing you name it we did it, something we as a family could never repeat but will always remember. I was realy annoyed to read the write up in the news of the world from a family who had just visited lapland and called it (crapland) all i can say is this family dont know how to enjoy theirselves and should of stayed at home. its families like these who give places bad names. I hope transun takes no notice of these families as the good will out weigh the bad. The highlight of our stay was meeting santa clause my little boys face was magical itself even my oldest son thought it was fantastic.On the night in the hotel their was a story teller who kept all the children entertained and gave parents time to relax out of the snow. The alcohol was expensive but you were not forced to drink it. their were a few complaints going on but if they all got out in the snow with their kids they wouldnt of had time to complain. We got home and were shattered we were getting up at 7am and staying out till12am we had a fantastic time and an experience to last a life time.If you are thinking of going to lapland dont read the miserable experiences i think they must of been dreaming!
THE WOOD FAMILY.
COUNTY DURHAM.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank monty072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

My family a group of 8 stayed at the Davvi Hotel 13th to 16th December to describe it as Fawlty Towers wouldn't be far wrong! We were supposed to be in two log cabins, but were put in the hotel. The rooms next to us flooded and then our room flooded. No apology no offer to move us as they had no further rooms. They drilled the concrete floor above our room constantly for two days.
The snow suits supplied were unclean, the boots leaked. The staff tried their best, however you would usually be fobbed off.
We were supposed to have several activities on the trip we did one! We were all glad to get home luckily we were in a group big enough to create our own fun and entertainment, however many kids and adults were very upset.
Totally disorganised please don't waste your money

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SM1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2009

Well, the only thing that spoiled our holiday was the 6 or 7 families who done nothing but moan, complain and shout at the hotel staff for the whole 4 days!!!
We had a fantastic holiday and everything was just as the brochure stated!! My children are 7 and 9 and have just had the most magical holiday they could ever have due to the fantastic staff. We travelled in a group of 8 varying in age including 2 18 yr old girls who also had a fantastic time! The 2 boys of the party, who were 9 and 14 spent all day from the minute they finished breakfast to the minute they went to bed out playing in the snow after all that is what we went for!!!
The rooms were spotless, the beds were comfy, i couldn't tell you if the telly worked we didn't have time to try it, the bathroom had dated brown decor but they might like that in Finland!!
The trips were all as described in the brochure, the staff were fantastic on all the excursions, they were all just the right length of time so the children didn't get upset about being in the cold!
The snow suits they gave us were fantastic, in fact with all our layers most days we were to hot!! We took our own snow boots as i wanted to make sure the children's were comfy as they were in them for a lot of hours!!
The souvenir shop at the bottom of the hotel drive was more than adequate to purchase gifts to take home, we didn't go to go shopping, if we were we would have stayed somewhere further south in a city or stayed home!!!!
It was funny how every time you walked in the hotel you seen the same 6 or 7 families sat around moaning and yet that was only 10% of the guests everyone else was out enjoying the snow and their holiday!!
A holiday is what you want to make it, we went for the snow, the excursions, to have fun and to see Santa and we were very pleased and satisfied with all four!!!
I didn't go to sit in my room all day, sit in the dining room moaning or expect the hotel staff to entertain my children whilst i sat moaning, so i guess that was why i was happy with my holiday and they weren't!!
If you have booked to go then go positive, look at all the great things, they out weigh the very few not so good ones, and go to spend quality time together and just have fun and you will have a great holiday, so have fun,
From The Tutthill party

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artutthills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Davvi Arctic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davvi Arctic Lodge

Address: Kaesivarrentie 3771, Karesuvanto 99470, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Karesuvanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karesuvanto
Hotel Class:3 star — Davvi Arctic Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Davvi Arctic Hotel Karesuvanto
Davvi Hotel Karesuvanto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing