We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$91
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Carara(Tarcoles)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cerro Lodge(Tarcoles)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Arenas(Punta Leona)
US$177
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Punta Leona(Punta Leona)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$108
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Caletas(Jaco District)
US$164
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$500
US$354
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pumilio(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
171
122
36
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
122
36
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor bathroomthe ownertarcoles riverwhite owlscarlet macawscarara national parkfruitcosta ricatwo nightsbird watchingdining areasmall poolthe main roadair conditioninga great place to staybuffet styleevery morning
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Everything you need for a visit to Carara National Park - clean rooms, good aircon, a cute outdoor shower, dinner in the restaurant and a good breakfast starting early in the morning so you can get out before the heat (the french toast was particularly tasty!).

Wifi didn't stretch to our room at the far end though, it was only usable in the restaurant.

Plenty of bird life in the garden too!

Friendly service and a beautiful sunset over the pool. Recommended.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LandyLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

We arrived to a friendly welcome and a complimentary drink. Our room was ready early for us which we really appreciated. It was in a little bungalow which had a double and single bed, storage shelves, hooks, decent lighting, air con (which was a little difficult to control but at least it was available), and a quirky outdoor bathroom. The decor of the bungalow was a bit outdated and it might have been helpful to have a bit of information available in the rooms. The Lodge has an open-sided restaurant where a buffet breakfast and a set dinner was available. Our booking included breakfast and we thought it was very decent with fresh fruit, cereal, and hot choices such as eggs and sausages, pancakes and bread for toasting. Tea, coffee, juice and water are available all day. It was a quiet time when we were there so dinner was a set 3 course menu with a couple of choices for mains. It was basic but wholesome and freshly prepared for around 17 dollars. Wine and beer was available at reasonable prices. There is a small pool. The staff in all areas of the property worked hard and were always friendly and helpful. WiFi did not work in the rooms but we spent much of our time in the restaurant/reception area watching out for the numerous wildlife in the vicinity of the lodge. We saw so many birds including the scarlet macaw, species of tanager, honey creeper, oriele, hummingbirds plus howler monkeys, lizards, butterflies. We also visited Carara National Park which is a short drive away and well worth a visit. Overall we really enjoyed our time at the Cerro Lodge.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SCSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

We enjoyed a lovely stay here, fantastic lodge, birds everywhere and so so near. One of the girls in the office (very helpful cheerful pair) has a dad called Antonio Vindas who epitomises the easy going guide with a vast depth of animal knowledge who with his keen eyes and telescope on a tripod was able to find all the birds to satisfy us, plus a nice tayra. I’m still trying to be as cool and happy as him!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank morejamplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a planned 3 week tour of Costa Rica. The grounds at the hotel are fabulous with extensive and well planted gardens.

We had a lovely cabin with an outside "loo with a view" which was very exciting. Just be careful not to turn the light on at night to go outside as the screen provided doesn't work at night if you have a light on which we discovered provides great sport for any hotel staff wandering by after dark

The meals are very good buffet style at breakfast and evening. We went out to a restaurant one of the nights as we fancied a change and the hotel was full. There are a number of other restaurants within a 30 minute drive to provide variety on a longer stay.

The location is convenient for Carara national park for Good birding opportunities.

The hotel put out a good range of fruits on the feeders to provide good bird watching from the veranda.
There is a small pool which was cleaned during our stay and looked very inviting although we didn't use it. We enjoyed our stay here and would recomend it as part of a birding itinerary especially as the grounds had a visiting black and white Owl and a nesting Feruginous Pygmy Owl . We also saw 2 Trogons in the grounds : Gartered Trogon; and Black Throated Trogon.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

We had a 1 night stop here.It was fine- functional.
Great easy spotting of the scarlett macaws and lots of other birds- ALL fed!!!!
Not being a birder i wouldn't stop here again.

Our room was ok, good ac and clean bathroom - i found a black scorpion wandering at dusk from bathroom into bedroom!I imagine it got in under the poor fitting door.
The pool was cloudy, and uninviting, hard stone beds to lie on???
The food was fine buffet style, with tea and coffee and juice available all day.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank julieei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews