We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torthorwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

This is a good family run hotel. Staff are welcoming, attentive, the rooms are clean and have necessary features including good wifi. I had the family room, 3 singles and a double, which is large. Shower was good, bed comfy and no noise from outside - good sleep! Menu is good and the food does not disappoint. Breakfast was good for me - poached eggs on toast etc. The hotel would benefit from a spruce up but it is good value for money & I will go back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank 752euanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for The Manor Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017

Well placed on the Lockerbie/Dumfries road and close to Dumfries itself.
This hotel gives a great welcome from the owners and staff. During our stay the hosts went the extra mile to make our visit enjoyable which made a great difference from most impersonal run of the mill hotel chains.
Food in the restaurant was excellent with a good choice of menu options and the steaks in particular can be highly recommended for the quality of the meat.
Altogether an excellent choice and one we look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PhilGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

A great place to stay food was lovely family friendly owners and staff were brilliant plenty of parking family room was massive loved the 3 single beds as did my girls hotel ideal for starting off day trips around this beautiful area

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank tintagel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

We have eaten here once before around xmas on a cold friday night and we were greeted by a big roaring open fire and two of the best steaks we had ever eaten which were delicious. We opted to take my mum here and my youngest son for his 21st once again it didnt disappoint two suculent med sirloins with garlic prawns and one of the best peppers sauces i have tasted plus a nice fish and chips and a chicken dish couldnt complain great service great surroundings and excellant dining.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Nothing but praise for the welcome, the helpful staff, and the delicious food from a really comprehensive menu. The hotel was quiet and really deserves to be recognised as a great eating place very convenient for Dumfries. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank marybromilow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torthorwald
12.7 km away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
6.5 km away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,068 reviews
6.1 km away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
10.8 km away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
315 reviews
10.8 km away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Country House Hotel

Address: Linns Road, Torthorwald DG1 3PT, Scotland (Formerly The Manor Hotel & Restaurant)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Torthorwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torthorwald
Price Range: RM346 - RM556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor Hotel & Restaurant is situated in the village of Torthorwald, near Dumfries, and is easily accessible on the A709 some 8 miles from the Lockerbie junction on the main North/South M74 Motorway and also 2 miles from the A75 Gretna to Stranraer/Irish ferries trunk road just off the Dumfries by-pass. The hotel consists of seven rooms and are all en-suite. The Criffel Family Room is especially popular as this can sleep two adults and 3/4 children. Free wi-fi is available and the hotel has its own large car park. There is also a beer garden for the warmer weather. Bar & Restaurant food is available every evening and weekend lunchtimes with a wide choice of food also enhanced with daily specials and a kids menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing