We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lalibela Game Reserve
Nearby Hotels
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$668
US$648
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$83
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
US$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
US$58
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dolphin Dance Lodge(Port Elizabeth)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$455
US$440
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveller rating
466
78
16
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
78
16
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame reservemark's campmarks camplentaba lodgewonderful experiencesafari experienceother guestssouth africawild animalsthree nightsgreat foodhis knowledgecape townspent nightselectric blanketsgarden routegreat fun
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 572 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018

We saw nearly all animals we had wished for. The guide was very good and knowledgeable. The service was perfect and the four of us will give greatest mark to this Gamepark. One day was rainy but we were updressed by the crew and we felt comfy and happy.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank Ylva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon W, Director of Sales at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thanks for your vote of confidence Ylva. Happy guests is the best marketing we can wish for and it's so much more so when the guests are second-time visitors - we look forward to seeing you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed two nights in Mark’s Lodge and were very impressed by all the staff we met. The organisation was excellent, as was the food, and the four game drives exceeded our expectations. Thanks to our knowledgeable guide, Walker, who braved the heavy rains on our last two drives! Also some very nice personal touches which mad all the difference.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon W, Director of Sales at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your positive message Michael. We pass all feedback to our staff at the lodges so will be sure to let the good folk at Marks Camp know about your experience.

Rain is something that we know can make things tricky but it seems like you guys refused to let this get you down. Interestingly when we get rain, as much as we know that guests don't always like it, we secretly are happy. Rainfall in the Eastern Cape is erratic so when we get it, we are generally happy. The vast areas of savannah grassland that you would have seen on game drives obviously need rain in order to be able to sustain the vast herds of antelope. Many thanks for your understanding

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Thank you Tim and Dwanye and all the Team at Mills Manor, for taking such good cre of us. Luckily our original reserve was fully booked and we were booked at Lalibela! Lucky us! The whole manor for our group was an incredible experience. The BEST breakfast ever and of course all the food was exceptional! Beautiful rooms and garden area, with antelopes walking right by.
Also big Thank you to Craig and Kylie for showing us the beautiful area and all the animals, even though we had so much rain.
If we ever come back to south africa, we sure would come back! very sad to be leaving today.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AngelsTravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon W, Director of Sales at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear "AngelsTravel"

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Mills Manor. This is our newest lodge on Lalibela and we are hugely proud of it - we would be grateful if you could tell 10,000 of your closest friends about Mills Manor :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

We spent two nights (4 game safaris) in this lovely place to end our fabulous trip to South Africa.
It all had a typical lodge feel and design both in the rooms and in the main lodge, which are even better than the photos - we stayed in Lentaba Lodge which was very comfortable, newly decorated and refurbished to a high standard.
We had a lovely viewing platform which directly looked onto a water hole (unfortunately we didn't see any of the animals using it)!

Food was more than sufficient and included a light/quick breakfast before the morning safari, full breakfast about an hour after return, lunch and dinner - all included in the price. Drinks were complimentary too and included a bottle of sherry in our lodge.

You do share a table for your meals with others in your jeep. We met some lovely people and enjoyed some good chats with those from other countries.

They have what they call 'sundowners' too, which is a stop on the evening safari for drinks (pre-ordered before you leave) while watching the sunset. A lovely touch.

Jean-Marie was our main host on arrival and during our stay - she was lovely, always smiling, helpful and very well organised.

The ranger we had (Teacha)? spelling ... was brilliant. He was very friendly, knowledgable and accommodating. He did his utmost to try to find us their only remaining cheetah on our last day, without success - certainly not for the want of trying.

We say everything else we wanted and so close up too. It was our first safari and a great experience.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon W, Director of Sales at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Liz,

Many thanks for your feedback and we are really happy that you enjoyed Lentaba Lodge so much. We find having a central dining table works very well as guests generally tend to enjoy keeping the conversations going that they had just had on game drive. For your second visit to Lalibela (hint hint :-)....you are most welcome to ask for private dining should you wish - we sometimes get guests who want more privacy and we are them more than happy to set up a table for them at a secluded spot or on the balcony of their suite, for example

Just for the record, our cheetah numbers are increasing so you should be luckier next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

After a long tour 2 days relaxing in superb area wit as bonus some game drives.
Visited Shamwari and Amakhala and can defenitely recommens Lalibela as favorite.
Rooms tastefully decorated with superb views.
Dinning and bar areas really pleasant and very nice decorations.
Staff also efficient and helpful.
Game drives well organised but need waterproof ponchos if raining.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank edmah2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon W, Director of Sales at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Edmah,

Thank you for your message - it is great to know that you feel we rank so highly. Could you please let us know what lodge you stayed in and also what dates you were with us? I would like to follow up on the ponchos because we have got very good, water proof ponchos which should have been issued to you when you were with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews