We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Village
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

I think I may have already written a review around the end of July last year (2016) when we got back from our first family holiday to this hotel. We absolutely loved everything about this hotel and knew we would one day return! However this year we decided to go else where as we wanted to try another island so we went to Rhodes to a hotel also with TUI. Won't name the hotel but we was so disappointed! We found ourselves comparing every little detail to Blue Lagoon Village and not far into the holiday we wish we had just returned to Kos and to this hotel! Apart from the island being way to big in Rhodes it just wasn't very Greek. If you are thinking of booking with this hotel... DO IT. It was a big resort but golf buggies are everywhere for you to hop on and take you wherever you need to go in the resort. The lobby area is beautiful, the drinks are great, alacarte restaurants are fantastic, and as long as you book up you can eat in them as many evenings as you wish ( unless it's changed since) but never the less worth it if you have to pay a little extra. We had a room with a balcony and jacuzzi (which is set to self clean every morning!) and it was fanatic! Although we would definitely pay the extra for a swim up next time! Bathroom was beautiful and house keeping worked sooo hard all day everyday to keep the whole place spotless! Spa was wonderful, I had 3 relaxing treatments there and being a beauty therapist myself it made a change for me to have the treat! we spent most of our time round the pool with the swim up bar as this is the one that suited us and our boy the most! Thank you BLV for making our holiday so brilliant and memorable that no other hotel lives up to you , we will see you next summer

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank BelleBoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 1,485 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017

The hotel is absolutely huge and we weren't fussed about it being isolated as there is so much to do and with a one and six year old we didn't want to go on too many trips in the heat of August anyway.

The main highlights for the hotel for us were:

1. Kids clubs were fantastic. Our daughter loved the 6 11 club and went most days for either the morning or afternoon session. It was very busy and we did have to queue 15 or so minutes in advance to secure a place but it was the middle of the school holidays so to be expected really. Our son went to the baby club and we couldn't fault it. It was just like his nursery in England with a lovely cool room fully equipped with toys, paints, highchairs etc and fully qualified friendly staff. There was a toddler session you could go to with them to check it out and get them used to the surroundings before deciding whether to use it which was a great chance for him to 'settle in'. Amazing to get a couple of hours peace knowing they were both in safe hands.

2. The adventure land was brilliant for our children. They loved going there on a golf buggy and the slides and rubber rings were fab. It was a nice change of scenery and was never too busy as you would go for a couple of hours and then come back to go to one of the restaurants. There is a bar there for drinks and small snacks.

3. The Les Mills classes. These were fantastic!! I took my trainers thinking I might go to the gym a couple of times and I ended up doing the exercise class every day, sometimes twice a day! They have body balance on the beach at 9 - such a peaceful start to the day and then early evening I would do a more upbeat class in the shaded outdoor exercise area with views over the sea, hotel and mountains. Tyorven in particular was a great instructor - full of energy and made it really enjoyable.

4. Kids entertainment in the evening was brilliant. My daughter loved the 'download' and joined in with the dances and games. I can't really comment on the later entertainment as we took them off to bed.

5. Fab selection of food and drink at all the different restaurants. Lots of choice and things like the chocolate fountain and pancakes were particular hits with the kids.

6. Lovely clean accommodation with a good size bathroom with a bath and nice air conditioning.

7. The shop was well stocked. I'm not sure why a previous reviewer said they couldn't get paracetamol as we got this and also some after bite cream, sun lotion etc. There was also a large range of toys, inflatables, fishing nets etc although they were on the more expensive side.

8. Loved the swim up bar in the 'quiet pool' and the shaded toddler pool was great.

9. Ice creams and pancakes at the gelateria were delicious and a nice thing to do in the afternoon.

10. Beach is close and we really enjoyed making sandcastles and making use of the free sun loungers there. The water is rocky but there is a path made of sandbags to get over the rocks and then there are loads of fish so snorkelling is brilliant. The children can also fish off the pier with nets from the shop and bread rolls from the buffet as bait!

Overall this hotel is amazing. The only negatives I can think of are:

1. Some cocktails like Mojitos as well as fresh orange juice aren't included in the all inclusive and you have to pay extra which is quite annoying (even though you could help yourself to as many oranges as you want at breakfast!)

2. Lots has been said about the trouser rule for men. It really is silly as the women can wear whatever they like and the men were turning up in very casual trousers and flip flops which was considered fine! Although I'd warned my husband about this rule he didn't realise it applied to the main buffet restaurant and only took a couple of pairs of trousers. So make sure you pack a few more pairs.

These are really minor quibbles though and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

I've just come back from spending a week at the blue lagoon village. My first impressions were amazing. We arrived near midnight, me and my partner walked around and couldn't believe the size of the hotel and understood now why it was called a village. The hotel is spotless, and staff were always friendly. There are a la carte restaurants in the hotel, I recommend booking these in at the start of your holiday. We went to the Greek restaurant (we weren't too keen on) and the Chinese (which was delicious). The evening buffet I enjoyed, the puddings were great. The hotel strongly enforces men wearing long trousers for dinner, men in shorts had to sit outside and not allowed to enter at all, sending in there partners to fetch there food. The entertainment it's slightly disappointing. If you have children it's probably great but everything dies down after 10. The hotel was not overcrowded and we never had a problem getting a sun lounger. I loved the main pool... away from all the children and noise of the activity pool and right by the beach and beach bar. The hotel is situated in the middle of no where. There is a bus that comes into the hotel though and prices and a timetable is given to you. My partner and I hired a car the one day which the reception helped us with. All in all this was a great holiday. I think it could be improved with better evening entertainment.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jojo378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

I wanted to give the hotel 3 stars but that would be harsh. Much of what I will comment on has been remarked elsewhere and of course everyone has a different requirement of their holiday.

We travelled as a couple in our 50s and as my wife has just retired from teaching this is the first time we have avoided peak season. As such we assumed that although the hotel is family orientated, it would be more geared up for couples outside of July and August. Sadly this isn't really the case. I say this not necessarily as a criticism of the hotel, but more as advice to others with similar requirements to us.

The positives:
1. My wife loved the Les Mills activity programme - especially the Body Balance class in the morning.
2. The food was generally pretty good and varied. We particularly liked the Chinese. There was also the best breakfast choice I have seen anywhere.
3. The staff are extremely friendly and polite.
4. The grounds are lovely and there was plenty of space. The staff were always working to keep it spotless. We spent most of our time at the "relax pool" which was near our room.
5. The evening entertainment shows at the amphitheatre were generally good (although a few exceptions) with the resident TUI singers very good.
6. We had a very comfortable room (a 2 room suite).

The negatives:
1. The daytime sports activities for adults were pretty poor. Personally I like volleyball and initially it was only timetabled once a week. To be fair to the staff, after I complained they did put it on more regularly and said they had struggled to get volleyball "to work" all season. It could be that with 60% Brits in the hotel it just isn't really our sport. The other factor may be that the pitch is awful with stones and concrete causing a real injury risk. My advice would be to timetable volleyball at about 4pm In the afternoon so it doesn't clash with football, and build a proper and safe pitch perhaps in the hotel grounds rather than tucked away on a corner of the beach where it isn't seen. I was going to try water polo, but there were only about 3 adults and a few kids on the day I tried.
2. The evening entertainment after the show was rather mixed. Obviously everyone has their own tastes. We did enjoy the couple who played in the main bar most nights. Unfortunately this was then ruined by the absolutely dreadful singer who sang everything as if it were a power ballad so that every song sounded exactly the same, and what was with the kazoo! I think she played around the main pool most afternoons too. Maybe some people liked her and I don't like to be unkind, but we went back to our room whenever she was on, which was unfortunately still within earshot!
3. As many have commented, the hotel is very isolated and taxis are very expensive on the island. We did do a couple of trips out, but the problem was highlighted when my wife developed tooth ache and ran out of painkillers - the nearest pharmacy was miles away. Surely the hotel shop could stock a few basics like paracetamol.
4. I found the beach a bit disappointing - quite stony and with rocks along the waterline, which I would imagine is a big problem for anyone with kids. I realise this isn't the hotel's fault, but just my comment.

Other comments of which perhaps the hotel will take note:
1. Many have commented on the long trousers rule for men in the evening restaurants. Is this really necessary in the buffets? Surely a simple "smart dress code" would suffice. I saw many women wearing micro shorts or other outfits much more likely to lower the tone than a man in tailored shorts.
2. Don't expect to be able to watch any English sport while you are here. In most resorts you can nip out of the hotel to find a bar showing Sky Sports. There is nothing nearby and the hotel does not have a "sports bar" which some do.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dholli2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Our holiday this year was our second at the Village and was yet again brilliant. The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. The food and drink were very good and having a choice of 7 restaurants to book meant you always had a choice for dinner. We would happily go again next year.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kefalos
21.0 km away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
25.6 km away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
12.3 km away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.6 km away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
28.7 km away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
6.7 km away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Village

Address: Xirokampos S.A., Blue Lagoon Village, Kefalos 853 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kefalos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kefalos
Price Range: RM780 - RM3,261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Lagoon Village 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Lagoon Village is a newly built luxurious village style complex with 366 guestrooms. This all inclusive hotel is in direct contact with the sandy beach offering magnificent views. It is located only 10 km from the centre of Kefalos, near Paradise Beach one of the most beautiful beaches of Kos, only 5 km from the airport and 30 km from Kos town, the capital of the island. The Blue Lagoon Village offers a vast variety of facilities like the Aegean Main restaurant with indoor and outdoor sections, the First Date restaurant with its romantic atmosphere (only for adults), the Thalassa Fish tavern, the Susshimi sushi restaurant and the Golden Sun Chinese restaurant offering you different tastes from all over the world. The Grill House is offering traditional Greek dishes, the Piazza Italian Restaurant is for traditional Italian meals, the Adventure Barbecue, where for grilling your own combination of different meats and finally the Gelateria where you can enjoy pancakes, waffles, sweets and ice-cream.You will have a hard job choosing where to have your drink: at the Shake & Mix Cocktail bar any time of the day, the Wet Pool bar, an impressive swim-up bar, at the Pool bar, at the Piazza Cocktail bar in the afternoon or at the Beach and Snack bar during the day. Our guests from all over the world will have the choice of a 3000 sq meters swimming pool with Jacuzzi and water jets, a 1000 sq meters activity pool with a section for children, a children’s splash pool, a 1000 sq meters leisure Pool and an “Adults-Only” pool area. There is also the choice of the long, sandy beach with a variety of water sports. For children and adults, that still feel like children, we recommend the Adventure Land with ropes course, waterslides and water games.The fully equipped Vida Fit health club with its’ heated pools, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath is available to all our guests over 16 years of age. For those who wish to pamper themselves, the PURArelax Spa offers a wide range of treatments. For a unique shopping experience visit our various shops, ranging from a minimarket and a liquor shop to boutiques and gift shops.In order to provide the best possible accommodation to all of our valuable guests, we have created standard rooms with sea view and swim up pool (also in the “Adults-Only” area), family rooms as well as Junior suites and Executive suites with private pools. All rooms are provided with satellite TV, mini-fridge, and coffee/tea making facilities, internet access, telephone, safety deposit box free of charge, individual air conditioning units, hairdryer and amenities. The Blue Lagoon Village in total harmony with the picturesque landscape, open from May to October, provides comfort and warm hospitality that attracts tourists from all over the world. The abundance of natural beauties and the crystal clear waters make the hotel a paradise of tranquility, ideal for families and couples. For those who wish to enjoy all these and more Blue Lagoon Village is the answer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Lagoon Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Village Hotel Kefalos
Blue Lagoon Village Kefalos, Kos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing