We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Aldo P
Hamilton, Canada

Villa Don Lino

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Mar 2024
GREAT STAFF! Basic resort, GREAT STAFF! Food was good,GREAT STAFF! Beach is nice but rocky, do not forget your water shoes,GREAT STAFF! Isolated location, perfect if you want to relax away from city,GREAT STAFF! beautiful countryside surrounding the resort,GREAT STAFF!
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Busy small pool.
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Casa M&Y
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
    RM 188
  • Vio.com
16.7 km from Islazul Villa Don Lino
Contact accommodation for availability.
35.1 km from Islazul Villa Don Lino
Free parking
Habitacion Triple
Contact accommodation for availability.
33.8 km from Islazul Villa Don Lino
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
5.6 km from Islazul Villa Don Lino
Pool
Beachfront
View more hotels in Rafael Freyre
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveller rating
119
273
163
76
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
119
273
163
76
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews playa blanca fish quiet resort chicken lobby bar nearby village holguin city two weeks second home locals cuc freyre cuba guardalavaca tip canada nurse
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 675 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2023

I give this hotel a -0
This hotel is disgusting !??!!! Should not even sold to Canadians. We arrived to hotel around five. Got bungalow in the beach. It was filthy dirty and he next morning we changed rooms , as I was trying to contact Sunwing rep. My friend came back 🔙 n a state of panic. There were ants all over his bed. Also the pool was dirty, I was advised not to go back into it. . The 1st night we were told to eat at buffet behind reception. Next morning we were told by buffer manager to eat at another place, that was specially for Canadians. Not even a buffet. . We couldn't stay there one more night

Room tip: Should not be sold to Canadians at all
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2023


If you are looking for a place to rest, to free your mind, this is the right place, it is a hotel according to its category, the food is good. The rooms are cosy. Very good attention from the workers. The bartender Yasmani very helpful.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alexei P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 June 2023

The hotel has not been up to our usual stays, we have been over 25 times in the last 7 years and considered Don Lino as our second home. The employees are still the best the resort has to offer because the lack of coffee, milk, sugar, cups, glasses, wine,: water in pool was green as I believe pool filter was not working ,etc has made me consider looking elsewhere.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Irma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2023

Very nice quiet resort. We love it. The staff go above expectations! We have been 5 times and plan on returning! Things have changed everywhere since Covid and Cuba has been hit hard but the staff and people have not.

Room tip: If you like a quiet resort to explore the surrounding area, sit back and relax and meet new people or visit with friends you’ve made on pret
Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2023 via mobile

Simple resort and don't expect too much. If you read the negative reviews and and you still went, then you have no rights to complain. It all comes down to how much you pay. Food, drinks...again don't expect too much in terms of quality or quantity. In general the rooms are nice but some have sewage back up problems. So they stink. To avoid the hassle of changing rooms just keep the bathroom door closed. That will somewhat alleviate the problem. If you are in for the weather, you are in the right place. Some of the reviews mention friendly staff but they fail to mention how much they tip. Basically there is no beach at this resort unless you wear safety boots. Due to big stones, you cannot enter the water. Neither the one near by. But about 2 kilometers there is playa blanca. Fine sand, clear water and if you are a swimmer, you will love it. When it comes to food at playa blanca, don't even think about it. We were highly recommended casa de Ariel y Tania. Vista del mar. Nice view of the ocean. We ended up highly disappointed. We wished some fish fillet and we ended with some dark meat fish, one of the worst fish in the area, not even pigs eat it. The food was cold and that's because they lack the facilities to cook. Hygienic standards are below zero. Initially we were told that Ariel was a cook at don lino for 22 years but then we found out that he was never a cook. Anyone that recomends you a place is because they get propina. Commission. Well, now we were recommended another place. Casa de claribel y Michael. Better facilities, but this time we wanted chicken. Hopping for something better. Same , cold food undercooked chicken. We asked to fry the chicken more and....now you figured out what happened. These were illegal restaurants and we don't think health inspector ever goes there.We decided that's better to eat at the hotel. We still tried some of the kiosks but again, it's a no go. Lack of facilities to cook and lack of Hygienic standards, no matter how much you pay, money won't help you. In the plane we met some other tourists that stayed at some of high end hotels, paid big money and they were still disappointed. That made us feel better for choosing don lino.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank cobratarget
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews