We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality of dinner served”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2017

The hotel itself was okay and the staff very helpful, except for the bar. It took ten minutes to find a bar person/server. He was hiding in the breakfast/buffet area. The meals offered in the bar were apparently the same as what was offered in the restaurant. We ordered three tapas; Chicken wings, Calamari and Patatas bravas. When the barman brought them to us the chicken wings were totally dried and appear to have been double cooked. The patatas bravas were stodgy and mushy and were not fresh at all. And to cap it all the Calamari was not fresh, but frozen battered stuff that tasted as though it had been cooked in warm (not hote) oil. We sent the lot back and the barman didn't even apologize or offer us an alternative. We reported this to the checkout clerk next morning.

Room Tip: None really, it's located in a shabby part of town near to the airport, so you can't expect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mervfinchart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salles H, Director General at Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a comment of your stay in our hotel. It's very important as it help's us to improve.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us in the hotel.
The menu served in the bar is not the same as in the restaurant.

I am sorry to hear that you didn't like the food we serve in the bar.
However, I can assure you that we do work with fresh products and we don't double fry anything.

Our patatas bravas for example we do from fresh potatoes that we peel and chop ourself. They might taste a bit different from other Patatas Bravas as they are made of fresh potatoes and not from frozen precooked ones.

I hope to see you back and that you give our kitchen a second chance,

Yours sincerely,

Magnus Haggren
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 60 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2017

When we arrived at Barcelona airport, we went to the "Hotel Busses" stop at T1. We waited for a few minutes and then decided to phone the number provided by the hotel to enquire as to the time of the next bus. We were put on hold by the automatic anwsering service for over 23 minutes. Eventually we had a reply and the bus arrived minutes later. Check in at the hotel was fine and our room was just average. We decided to have a drink in the downstairs bar where the staff seem to spend more time in the kitchen or out of sight of the customers (there was only one other table occupied) We eventually got a drink by ordering at the bar as the waiting staff do not seem to be keen on waiting. When we were ready to leave, we called the waiter and asked for the bill. He said, if we want to sign for the bill, he would bring it to the table but if we wanted to pay cash we must go to the counter! We thought this very odd. Paid and left. To conclude, this hotel is just O.K. There is a great selection of hotels to choose from in Barcelona and I doubt if I would stay in this one again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BuddiesGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salles H, Director General at Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
I am glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us even though you have pointed out some areas where we can improve.

Our bus pass by Parking G in terminal 1 every 30 - 45 minutes and there is really no need to call. Saying that, it's of course not normal that the call was put on hold for 23 minutes. During lunch time when our restaurant is open our staff is concentrated to the other side of the lobby where the restaurant is located and it might take 2 or 3 minutes for the staff to come and take the order depending on how busy it is.

I hope you will give us another chance and come back and stay wih us again,

Yours sincerely,
Magnus Haggren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

The Hotel itself was really nice! Really helpful staff and rooms were perfect! The pool was nice and they have a lush rooftop bar which was so pretty and well done! When we were up there, a lady called Jennifer was working, she was on her own but did an amazing job! At the end of her shift, a manager or someone came up and was almost shouting at her...we thought this was really bad as, 1) it was in front of us, 2) the way he was talking to her wasn't how a manager/boss should talk to staff, and 3) she did an amazing job with 5 or 6 tables on her own doing food and drink! So I hope her boss sees this and knows she did a great job and we loved her! The man who was shouting at her made us feel unwelcome and awkward. (This was 17.06.17) Other than that, staff were great and the rooms were clean, tidy and spacious.

We thought it was very cheeky and out of order that you have to leave a deposit for the key for the safe. This should come with the room.

Location wise, because we went in June, it was really hot, meaning we wanted to come back to the hotel to freshen up before we went out for dinner, (eg I couldn't wear makeup in the day due to heat but would want to dress up for dinner/the evening). However, this was problematic because the hotel was too far to 'pop' back. You had to kind of, go out for the whole day and just carry everything with you. The metro stops at 12am so you have to get a taxi which is fine, but some taxis even refused to take us because it was 'too far' (only 20mins!) Obviously this isn't anything to do with the hotel itself and we should have checked this before we went!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 594gracied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salles H, Director General at Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Dear Gracie,

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and I can assure you that we are very fortunate to have Jennifer working with us. I will make sure she will read your nice comments.
Our restaurant manager was not on duty this night but I will talk to him to sort out what has happened between the two waiters.

Regarding the deposit of the safe, it's not that we are renting the safe. It's free of charge. The reason why we ask for a deposit is because our guest otherwise forget to return the safe key.

Hope to see you back with us again in the near future.

Magnus Haggren
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

We corresponded with the hotel in advance for our group booking - they were exceptionally helpful and this excellent service continued during our stay - staff were very accommodating and patient. The food was delicious and the roof top terrace was a real treat! The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The airport shuttle was ideal. All in all, a fabulous stay, thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salles H, Director General at Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments of your recent stay with us.

It's wonderful to hear that you had such a great experience with us and your kind words about our staff. I will make sure they will read your comments!

Looking forward to see you back in the near future.

Magnus Haggren
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Nice, clean, modern and open lobby. After a long trip across the ocean, it was nice to land at this hotel and in our very comfortable room. The hotel staff was very welcoming. The bathroom amenities are nice. Appreciate the free wifi and free airport shuttle. The indoor pool is nice but small. The bar area is small, but they offer a variety drinks and have great tap beers. The train station is about a 10 minute walk through dark and strange streets. We exchanged money at the hotel and it was rather expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salles H, Director General at Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Angela,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on tripadvisor.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our staff and our other services.

Looking forward to see you back with us again soon,

Magnus Haggren
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Prat de Llobregat
1.4 km away
BAH Barcelona Airport Hotel
BAH Barcelona Airport Hotel
#3 of 4 in El Prat de Llobregat
2,270 reviews
1.6 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel Alfa Aeropuerto
2.1 km away
Tryp Barcelona Aeropuerto Hotel
Tryp Barcelona Aeropuerto Hotel
#2 of 4 in El Prat de Llobregat
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Ibis Barcelona Cornella
Ibis Barcelona Cornella
#2 of 4 in Cornella de Llobregat
989 reviews
3.2 km away
FrontAir Congress
FrontAir Congress
#3 of 3 in Sant Boi de Llobregat
1,202 reviews
4.4 km away
Air Rooms Barcelona Airport by Premium Traveller
Air Rooms Barcelona Airport by P...
#4 of 4 in El Prat de Llobregat
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat

Address: Av. Remolar, 46, 08820 El Prat de Llobregat, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > El Prat de Llobregat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Prat de Llobregat
Price Range: RM347 - RM554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This design hotel offers a free shuttle to Barcelona's El Prat Airport, located 4 km away. It offers a sauna, gym, indoor pool and rooms with free Wi-Fi, kettle and satellite TV. The stylish, air-conditioned rooms at Hotel Ciutat del Prat feature modern decor and a flat-screen TV.The hotel's classic-style Sinfonia Restaurant offers fresh Mediterranean food. There is also a cafe-bar where you can get a snack or a drink. Barcelona's Fira Congress Centre is only 4 Subway Stops away from the hotel. El Prat de Llobregat Train Station and Subway is just 800 metres walk from the hotel, connecting you also with central Barcelona in under 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salles Ciutat Del Prat Barcelona
Salles Hotel Ciutat Del Prat Province Of Barcelona/El Prat De Llobregat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing