We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castello di Valenzano
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
Corte dell'Oca(Subbiano)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cristallo(Caprese Michelangelo)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Agriturismo Priello(Caprese Michelangelo)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Parc Hotel(Poppi)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Euro Hotel(Pieve Santo Stefano)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
111
24
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
24
4
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at this castle for four nights while touring around Tuscany...loved every minute!! Alessandro was wonderful and accommodating, the rooms were spacious and very clean, the restaurant right there for breakfast and dinner was convenient and tasty, the views were AMAZING, the grounds were gorgeous!! The only compaint we had was not being able to tour the castle much aside from the restaurant and the rooms. Regardless, we would stay there again hands down. It was a dream! And a side note is that we LOVED the town of Arezzo!! Less tourists than other cities, beautiful, busy yet quaint. The piazza grande was our favorite piazza! I want to move there. Definitely visit if you stay at the castle.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kalli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife, daughter and I stayed at the Castello for a single night and we can only wish we had stayed for more!

We arrived in the evening after dark - a bad idea, since the drive up to the castle goes on a very narrow road in some very dark woods. Having arrived, however, the castle was suitably dramatic in its evening highlights and the reception equally warm.

The room we were accommodated with was lavishly decorated with pictures, in-character furniture and a large bathroom - no bath though. Also note that there are no elevators - we had to climb quite a few steps to get to our room.

The castle itself is well preserved (or redecorated?) and has many side entrances, hallways and passages worthy of a child's exploration. The walls have barbicans and a few turrets to play siege and the outside gardens have many small statues and are beautiful to walk in.

The most beautiful feature of the castle, however, is the view. Come morning we were greeted by an amazing mist-flooded valley but could still see far into the horizon.

Breakfast was an expansive buffet with cheeses, sausages, bread and pie all standard Italian fair except that they were excellent and well made.

Room Tip: The room we got was half-price due to off-season booking. I heartily recommend this castle be filled up with guests during this time, it's a steal for the price.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yonni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Location is excellent, upon a little hill in the wood; from the top there is a spectacular view of the valley. Moreover, is very close to the beautiful town of Arezzo.
The castle is impressive and very well kept, having an old times unique atmosphere without being kitsch.
Rooms are large and bathroom spacious, all is very clean with great attention to details. We really appreciated the lack of the television.
The restaurant is absolutely wonderful, great food and service.
The castle is not suitable for disabled people because of the presence of many stairs.
Also the park surrounding the castle is wonderful and very charming.
We stayed during bad weather days, but the castle was astonishing and wonderful also under the rain.
The staff is very helpful and professional.
Great value for price.
We are looking forward to coming back again!

Room Tip: Room number 3 is very spacious (big enough for 3 people) with a large bathroom with shower; the view on the valley is superb!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eternoviaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed in this amazing castle (real one, not just one tower!) on our honeymoon and we had the most romantic room that was just like from some movie of Shakespeare. Restaurant of the castle was the best of all the restaurants for two weeks trip through Tuscany, Milano and Venice. The atmosphere is elegant, but still warm. The hotelstaff are very nice, and we miss Caterine (the dog:)) Everyone nearby, should visit this place! Specially honeymooners or people on a romantic holiday!

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view and "curtain-bed":)
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This incredible castle really stretches your imagination--and your legs. Because it is so old, the castle has no elevator so walking to our third floor bedroom involved lots of steps. It was worth it. The hotel employee was very helpful in carrying our bags, and our rooms were spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed exploring the public rooms of the castle and looking out at the beautiful Tuscan countryside all around. We had a delicious dinner in the courtyard, and a tasty breakfast in the restaurant. Although our schedule allowed only one night here, it was a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhyllisSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews