We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay”
other traveller has booked this property
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2 Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
56 reviews
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage Great Views of Mountains
Mont Rouge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dpjoppie
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 1 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We were a group of 4 families and rented all 4 cottages. The accommodation and facilities were much more than one would expect from farm cottages with everything you need, comfortably and beautifully built and decorated. All the cottages were built next to a stream with great views.The working farm and surrounding area was very scenic with a relaxed atmosphere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style and design/decoration of the cottages
Liked least: The outside braai area of cottage 1 was next to the main bedroom
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for the lovely review. I am so happy to hear that you and all your friends had a great time. I do hope we will see you all here again. With even more things to do on the farm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phyllytji...
1 review
“Peaceful and beautiful”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

A lovely quiet house amongst the fruit trees nestled in a valley between the mountains. Tastefully decorated and very clean. This with a little stream of water flowing pass the house. An ideal place to recharge.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2015
Hello thank you so much for writing us a review. It always makes us happy to hear that people had some time to recharge and take in the beauty . That stream sounds even better in the winter. Hope we will see you here , please bring the family next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bennie S
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This is it! Book it!”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Lovely cottages, beautifully decorated and well equipped for self catering. A comfortable king size bed ensures sweet sleep and large glass sliding doors offers a STUNNING mountain view framed by beautiful orchards. Private, but not secluded, it offers the perfect accommodation for those who just want a break, to relax and bath in nature's beauty. It is ± 10 min drive from Tulbagh and surrounded by wine farms. The host, Marisha, is a lovely young woman and makes you feel right at home. A complimentary fruit bowl and muffins just adds that personal touch. Tulbagh area offers plenty of accommodation options, but if self catering is an option, choose Mont Rouge cottages! The cottages even offer free wifi. We stayed in cottage 3 and enjoyed every moment of our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole experience
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2015
Hello

Sjoe thank you so so much for the lovely review. We are so pleased we could have made your stay here so nice and worth your wild. Great to get the feedback and it is such a nice one. Thank you .

we hope to see you here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WES240578
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Dash of awesomeness!”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a very pleasant experience, Marisha and her husband went out of there way to accommodate our some extreme request as a cycle team. Helpful ,kind, clean rooms, great food .. only good things to say.
And the view of the Boland Mountains!! Thanks Marisha for your efforts!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Alles was lekker
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2015
Hello

Thank you so much for the nice review. it was a huge pleasure to have had you here and that i could have been part of your Tour de Boland. So glad the food was great. must say now i have a new favorite pasta dishes i can make...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannes...
Durbanville, South Africa
1 review
“Luxury Rustic Getaway”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The accommodation - I loved the thought that went into the decoration and the simple engineering that made this stay unforgettable.

The Solitude - We had such a nice time away from everything and everyone.

The People - The hosts are true South Africans that made us feel welcome like only South Africans can - we came as strangers and left as friends.

The Facilities - enough hot water and super comfortable beds. We chose to switch off the technology but the prospect of Wi-Fi was strangely comforting

All-in-all a well thought out concept (green building) and a place I would surely recommend.

Well done guys!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The buildings and the way it was executed
Liked least: Mozzi's - but they also need to eat :) - some repelling candles did the trick. I only write this because there is a block for it. No moans to note.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2015
So wonderful to read this great review. Thank you for all the compliments and we here on the farm just want our cottage friends to have the best time and enjoy our surroundings. We are blessed to be situated were we are and that you can still enjoy the benefits of modern technology if you really want. But best is to put off all the cell phones and listen to the river and the birds..

Hope we see you soon , even if it is in winter. when you can light up that fireplace.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing