We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view just outside the window”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Valois' Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mattawa
Reviewed 9 November 2017

It's an ordinary pull over and eat kind of place as far as ambiance and food is concerned but, if you can get a table beside the windows, the scenery is worth considering for photography opportunities.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank shortcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2017

The rooms were not a five star but they definitely were clean and roomy. The bed we had was very comfortable and I slept like a baby. It had everything that you would need including a fridge and wifi. The bathroom had a large shower with lots of hot water. The menu was not large but the food was great and came in large portions.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are definitely quieter and you get a balcony looking out over the river a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

To begin service was slow, waitress left menus and 20 min later I asked if we could place our order. The waitress never came back even though waterglasses were empty. We ordered fish and chips which were all over cooked and hard, no one was happy and the waitress just seemed more concerned with getting off work. No, we won't be back.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

I order two poutines in advance got there 20 minutes after and they gave the wrong meal to the wrong person. The person then came back and returned the food and Amanda the worst server ive ever had told me to take the meal, THAT HAD ALREADY BEEN TAKEN OUT OF THE RESTAURAUNT when i asked for a discount she said that she couldnt do that... i mean how simple is it to press a discount code on the till. I wasnt even able to eat them what a waste of money that was.

Stayed: June 2017
3  Thank Robynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

Our first visit last year wasn't good but we chalked it up to bad luck. It was late, the weather was poor so we took a chance and stayed here. The room was chabby not chic but clean. The cable was out too. At least we had wifi. Restaurant was handy.
This trip we were pushing towards home with every hour counting. This was as far as we could go before exhaustion hit. We figured lightening wouldn't strike twice.
But it did and it was worse!
Slow front desk. The hostess was serving at same time and although pleasant was inexperienced. She didn't offer wifi password...... didn't matter there was no signal or directions to our room.
We found our room and it was clean but again old and shabby. An electrical box in the closet was covered with some kind of insulation rather than a metal box (see pics). Not sure if this was inspected, is legal or even safe. We could hear the sounds of people walking and talking above us very clearly. Not good for light sleepers but we were burnt so that was okay. The beds were comfortable though we might not be the best judges since we were so tired we could have slept on gravel. The bathtub was very deep and a challenge to get into. I'm 5'9" with long legs and it was tricky as nothing to hold onto. As well there were no safety grids in the tub just a cheap bath mat that you had to put in the tub and step on, to secure it. Not sure why there would be a deep tub... who sits in hotel tubs...yuck! On a plus the shower was great, lots of hot water and great pressure. But again getting out was tricky.
We went to grab a meal and things got worse. A couple sat behind us and played music on their phone so loudly that we couldn't hear each other. We picked up our stuff and moved since staff did nothing.  They apologized for the annoying people.  Only 2 staff trying to manage a full restaurant and book people in to rooms. Where is the owner or manager??? Food was okay and priced about right.
The room was 100 dollars (reasonable for a hotel) CDN and this place isn't worth that. To quote my hubby who has never complained about hotels (we travel and stay in high end and cheap places and never judge by appearance).... 50 dollars is about what this place is worth.... any more and its a rip off!
We mentioned our concerns to staff and they didn't even blink! Obviously we aren't the first people to have been hit at this place.
Recommendation: Stay in North Bay or Deep River.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mattawa hotels
1.2 km away
Welcome Inn on the Lake
Welcome Inn on the Lake
#2 of 2 in Mattawa
5 reviews
1.1 km away
Le Voyageur Inn
Le Voyageur Inn
#1 of 2 in Mattawa
87 reviews
13.1 km away
The Canadian Ecology Centre Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valois' Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valois' Motel & Restaurant

Address: 701 Valois Dr, Mattawa, Ontario, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Mattawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mattawa
Hotel Class:3 star — Valois' Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing