We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
167
7
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
7
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lotus restaurant seared tuna water taxi west end four bedrooms fire pit outstanding staff dawn and dusk roatan divers grocery store fishing trip kayaks and paddle boards ate most meals zip line other guests beautiful island of roatan full kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

In researching places for our honeymoon I stumbled upon Xbalanque and my wife and I couldn’t have been happier with our experience. The attentiveness of the team at Xbalanque was exceptional from stepping off of the airplane. They had a driver at the airport waiting for us upon landing and when we arrived at the resort Genesis and the Xbalanque staff ensured our needs were taken care of throughout our stay. We stayed in one of the 3rd floor condos for 7 days and enjoyed amazing ocean views with some of the most beautiful sunsets we have ever seen.

When researching online in the past for places to stay I have found sometimes the pictures you see hide the the true picture that you see in person. What we found though with Xbalanque was that in person it was even more spectacular. Patsy the owner was very helpful through the booking process and we were happy to get to briefly meet her and her husband during our stay. You can see her passion in design throughout the resort.

One of the concerns we had after booking our trip was that we booked our stay unknowingly during Semana Santa(Holy Week) one of the busiest weeks for visitors on Roatan. However Xbalanque is located so perfectly between West End and West Bay on a quite stretch of beach that we never really noticed it was busy. We were close enough to walk or take a water taxi to West End or West Bay and retreat back to the serenity of our home base.

Lotus the restaurant at the resort had the best food we ate on the island and the restaurant staff was very friendly and personable. We were also fortunate to join another couple on a fishing trip and a sailing/ snorkeling trip that the resort concierge arranged for us that left right from the resorts dock to catch fresh tuna and experience some of the best snorkeling in the Caribbean.

We were very happy to have stumbled upon Xbalanque in our research and would highly recommend!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank robbm15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsy B, Owner at Xbalanque Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

HI robb,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was our pleasure to have you at Xbalanque and an honor that you chose us for your honeymoon. I am glad I got to meet you.
I am happy you caught tuna and were able to eat it several hours after. You can't beat fresh ahi tuna. Josue fixes the best.
I hope you will keep us in mind for future trips and hope to see you on your anniversary!

Patsy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

We visited during the middle of March and the kids and found it to be spectacular. Specifically the kids like the following:

1. Amazing staff - they were very attentive.
2. Incredible beach and access to the reef.
3. Food was always great and we didn't want to eat anywhere else.
4. Views are book worthy.

Thank you to Patsy and the team for making it feel as though we were in our own home. We will come back! You have now set the bar high for future special trips. I also want to thank Patsy who was helpful suggesting excursions and great with her recommendations on reading from their library.

Room tip: They are all great rooms with views better a bit higher up.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Spent a lovely week at Xbalanque resort. We were in Unit number 4 with two very generous bedrooms and bathroom plus full living room/kitchen with a big island.

The hotel is very nice and much more upmarket than one usually sees in Roatan.

Staff of the hotel is very friendly, everything feels like family. Pool and hot tub are nice and the sunsets from there or the room were just spectacular.

The only downside I would say is the beach which is not really very swimmable for kids, sea grass grows there which makes the bottom more muddy rather than sandy.

Diving was spectacular in Roatan and all dive sites only a few minutes away from the beach.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VLauterbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsy B, Owner at Xbalanque Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

It was a pleasure to have you at Xbalanque. I am glad I was there to meet you and your family.
While the turtle grass is a little annoying on your feet, it is crucial to the ecosystem. It is illegal to remove it
and it serves such a tremendous role in the ocean system. It is a wonderful area to snorkel because it is here that will see conch shells,
turtles, starfish and we have a spotted eagle ray living in the grass in front of the resort. It also serves as a breeding ground for fish
and many bonefish swim through here. There are some sandy areas good for swimming.
The reef is spectacular and I am glad you got to see the underwater beauty of Roatan.
Thank you for sharing your experience and I hope you will come back to spend some time at Xbalanque.

Patsy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Visited Xbalanque in Feb 2018. AMAZING! The hotel and grounds are immaculate. The staff is simply amazing. Genesis, Randy, William, and Mike catered to our every need. The food is incredible. Two words: EAT HERE! the Lotus restaurant and chefs are so talented and the best we experienced on the island steps away from our room. The location is perfect - west bay or west end within walking distance or easy water taxi away. We used the paddle boards and kayaks to snorkel the amazing reef. Patsy arranged perfect transfers from and to the airport. We felt that we were an absolute priority! 5 stars all the way.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

A group of four couples just returned from 3 nights at Xbalanque and had a fabulous time! We rented the house Heleconia, which is well appointed with four bedrooms (three with queen beds, and one with two double beds), a great common area (living and dining), fully equipped kitchen, BBQ grill, and outdoor patios with an outdoor dining table. It was perfect for the eight of us. We had our own privacy, but could gather in the common areas any time we wanted to. We also cooked one evening and enjoyed dining on one of the outdoor patios. There are several outdoor patios on both levels with chairs for lounging. The house is an easy two minute walk from the main building where the restaurant and pool are. (And, by the way, for birders, the path was filled with birds at dawn and dusk . . . and agoutis could be seen by the stream!)

The staff was wonderful. Genesis, our hostess ensured all needs were met. She arranged snorkeling boats for us a couple of times. Mike, one of the bar/restaurant servers was also extremely helpful, and set us up with kayaks whenever we wanted to go out.

The resort is very well located. Guests can easily hail a water taxi to the West End for $3 a person. Walking to West Bay along the beach is an easy 15 minute or so walk. We walked to West Bay a couple of times, including once for lunch. Probably best done in the daytime.

A real bonus for us was having the kayaks around to take to the reef just in back of Xbalanque for GREAT snorkeling. It was surprisingly good! Almost as good as spots in the Blue Channel which is further out. The water is relatively shallow and calm, and made for very enjoyable snorkeling. It was wonderful to do any time one wanted, without having to make arrangements for boats to take you out. We found it pretty easy to tie the kayaks to the buoys, then slide out of the kayaks to snorkel! This is a real benefit of being at Xbalanque!

The restaurant, Lotus, was also surprisingly good! It is set outdoors, covered, but open on a couple sides, and wonderful for al fresco dining. We liked it so much that we ate most meals there! The Baleadas and the oatmeal were my favorites for breakfast, along with the ever-so-sweet fresh fruit. Fish tacos were outstanding at lunch, and the sea bass was my favorite at dinner! (Desserts were less appealing - the key lime pie was more like a key lime cheesecake.) Service is leisurely, fitting for island life, so relax and take your time - all the food is made to order.

I highly recommend Xbalanque. It was easy to work with Patsy making arrangements for our stay. We had a number of questions along the way as we were preparing for the trip - her responses were prompt and very helpful!

Thanks to Patsy and the entire Xbalanque staff for making our stay so wonderful!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LarchFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsy B, Owner at Xbalanque Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you for being our guests at Xbalanque and for sharing your experience.
We strive hard to help our guests have a relaxing but yet an adventurous vacation.
There are many exciting things to do in Roatan.
I appreciate your thoughts on the restaurant and we will be working to improve our dessert menu.
All of our food is prepared fresh and it does take a little more time but well worth it.
It is nice to get out of our fast food world in the US, and take time to enjoy a meal.
I hope you will visit us again and hope that I will be there to meet you.

All the Best
Patsy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews